Ratings based on 220 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ottawa

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Excellent location, very good staff. I will go again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel on the edge of the old city

Posted Dec 20, 2016
Pros: Walking distance to shopping and restaurants. Contemporary design. Amazing shower and bed.
Overall it was a great weekend stay at Hotel 71. The check-in was quick and friendly and the rooms are big and very comfortable. The complimentary breakfast is a very typical European breakfast.. ham, cheese, croissants, etc... it was great. Would definitely stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Highly recommended for winter stay in Quebec City

Posted Dec 20, 2016
Pros: -Staff -Location -Design (simple, elegant, stylish) -Breakfast -Room layout and amenities
Cons: Housekeeping was late to get to our room; we left at 9:45am and returned at 3:30pm and the room hadn't been cleaned while we were gone.
Location: Perfect location to visit charming Quebec City. Right in the middle of the gorgeous lower town, and a short walk from the upper town.
Really impressed with the hotel overall. Staff were excellent- always helpful, always pleasant, always there. The front desk staff were superb, particularly the lady who was on duty on Friday afternoon, Dec 16, between noon- 7pm. An issue with noise in the room next to ours (never stay next to the Penthouse, just in case...) led to our request to change rooms, which was met with sympathy and action- we were in a new room (upgraded, but don't expect that- I think we were lucky that it wasn't a full house this weekend) within 10 minutes. Thanks to that same staff member from the front desk, we were treated like valued guests and taken great care of. The Continental breakfast was very good on our first morning (few guests, well-stocked buffet including lovely croissants, cheese, ham, fruit salad, yogurt, delicious bagels, freshly made espresso coffees). The next morning offered the same but, with only one staff member on duty, it looked picked over, and never recovered for the 30 minutes we were there. Hotel location was perfect for accessing the lower town, a charming area decked out in snow and more Christmas trees than I've ever seen in one place outside the fir farm. Would highly recommend a visit to the City at this time of year. And Hotel 71 is an excellent place to stay when you do.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 12, 2016
Excellent Hotel. Great staff. Near everything you need to see in Old Quebec.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Greenwich, NY

An intimate, excellent stay in Quebec's Old City

Posted Nov 19, 2016
Pros: It's an intimate hotel. I like the amenities, the newness of the renovations, and the comfort. The cordial staff makes a big difference.
Cons: The hotel's restaurant, like most there, is expensive. The hotel has an automated wine bar. Each glass charged to your room is outrageously priced.
Location: The Old City is filled with beautiful buildings from the mid-1600s onward, filled with high end restaurants, craft boutiques, etc.
Located in the Old Quarter of Quebec City, Hotel 71 is a lovely hotel created in 2005 from a 19th century bank building. Our room was spacious, well-appointed and clean. It had a good view down onto the Museum of Civilization and over to the St. Lawrence River. We were able to get a reasonable price that also included a continental breakfast, but then we were there in the off-season. The room had free WiFi, a large HD flat screen and a wonderful shower with two shower heads, one a rain shower. L'Occitane brand soap, shampoos and rinses, coupled with nice towels and complimentary bathrobes increased the pleasure. The staff is excellent--friendly, courteous, and knowledgeable of the city. They are bilingual. No need to fear trying your limited French, if you care to. The gesture will be appreciated. The hotel sits next to the Hotel St. Pierre. They are both owned by the same firm. During our stay in mid-November, Hotel 71's restaurant was not opened, so we dined in the Hotel St. Pierre. We were served a full breakfast and the food was delicious and different. We were supposed to have received a Continental breakfast, so I don't know what the Continental breakfast in Hotel 71's restaurant is like. The Old City is beautiful, with museums, historic sites and very reminiscent of older European cities. Caution! It's very hilly. Be prepared to climb! And definitely take the funicular up to see the Hotel Frontenac and other sites.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Hotel 71 - great location, great experience

Posted Oct 19, 2016
Stayed for 4 nights. I think this was the quietest room I've ever stayed in. Good sized rooms, location was awesome for exploring upper and lower Quebec City. We ate at the restaurant our first night; wait staff accommodated us on a Friday night even without a reservation. Food was awesome; continental breakfast was fresh - loved their yogurt. Probably not a place for children, but for couples was just tight. Would absolutely return and stay at Hotel 71.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kaukauna, WI (USA)

One word - Fabulous!

Posted Sep 28, 2016
Perfect location, incredibly friendly and competent staff, and a location that simply couldn't be better. I'm a firm believer that the little things matter, and Hotel 71 made our 1st trip to Quebec City a comfortable and positive one. We can't wait to come back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Great location superb restaurant

Posted Sep 23, 2016
Pros: Everything was great, from the staff to the facilities
Location: Restaurants, shopping, the port and historic sites
A beautiful Hotel, terrific front desk and concierge staff. Large rooms , well appointed. Will definitely return again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

Wonderful boutique hotel

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Pros: Just about everything
Cons: small refrigerators in the rooms do not get very cold
I was very impressed with this hotel. Excellent, attentive staff, very well appointed rooms. Very upscale atmosphere.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Fabulous hotel in great location

Posted Sep 15, 2016
Pros: Everything
We could not have been more pleased with Hotel 71. The room was extremely clean and comfortable, the amenities were excellent, and the hotel staff friendly and helpful. Hotel 71 is in a perfect location, with great neighborhoods all within walking distance. It is also very convenient to the bike path, and the hotel is bike friendly for those like us traveling by bicycle and not by car. We will most certainly be back!