Ratings based on 363 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.9 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent location and wonderful amenities

Posted Aug 27, 2016
The hotel is in an excellent location and the breakfast is amazing. The hotel staff is very helpful and friendly. This hotel is close to great restaurants and pubs. We had a great time in Quebec!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Well run hotel with accommodating staff

Posted Aug 20, 2016
Pros: location, staff, efficiency, breakfast on terrace
Cons: Expedia.com not getting correct information to hotel on number of guests per room. Quite expensive, but that seems to the area
Location: old town easy funicular ride away or a walk for some exercise; waterfront and fireworks are close by; plenty of restaurants very close
We stayed for 4 nights in August and found the staff to be very friendly and efficient. They helped with restaurant recommendations, best ways to get around, and took good care of our car. The room was a good size and the bathroom had a shower stall and separate tub with shower; both very nice. If you book with Expedia, please be aware that the number of guests per room doesn't always come over to the hotel so it's best to call them before arrival to confirm.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Imurse in French life

Posted Aug 20, 2016
The hotel and staff were both terrific. Located in the lower section of the city, it was easy to get to everything; fine (really fine) restaurants, hop on hop off bud, key museum and walking through A plethora of shops and bistros. Very convenient to the funicular which let you off just in front of the Frontenac Hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chiba prefecture Japan

Posted Aug 18, 2016
Pros: スタッフ 部屋の快適さと広さ 朝食 立地 すべて良かった
Cons: 入り口にスロープをつけてほしい Hotel le Germain Montrealでは島島のT-shirtsを身につけたスタッフが常にドアのopen/closeをしてくれた。
とても素晴らしかった。もう一度Qubecに行くことがあれば、first choiceのホテルとなると思う。
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel near Old Quebec.

Posted Aug 2, 2016
Pros: Felt like being in Europe but with all the modern amenities.
Cons: Nothing. Everything was perfect for us and we will recommend this place to friends and stay here again on our next trip.
Location: Right in the heart of Old Quebec and easy walking to everything.
Walking distance to almost everything. Near many small, quaint, restaurants. Room was large and bed was very comfortable. Free breakfast with excellent selection of food and beverages. Front desk concierge could help with everything from room service to directions. Helped us locate a rental car. Parking directly in back of hotel (additional fee) but convenient.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Excellent choice!

Posted Aug 2, 2016
Pros: We especially appreciated the proficient staff. There was also an excellent inclusive breakfast. Boutique hotels are our favorite.
Cons: Our air conditioning blew over our bed so it took a few nights to adjust the temp to make it most comfortable.
Location: The location was beautiful and so convenient to wonderful restaurants. We walked most everywhere and did not rely on cabs.
Our first visit to Quebec City was a wonderful trip. The hotel was such a plus. The staff was professional and informative. They were very accommodating with their proficiency of the English language. The location of the hotel was also a great choice for us. Get ready to walk! It's a beautiful city.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Gem!

Posted Jul 23, 2016
Gorgeous hotel! Staff was attentive. Excellent location. Impressive breakfast. My only suggestion would be to increase the room lighting in some way - it's quite dark!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida, U.S.

Excellent Hotel in Old Quebec

Posted Jul 21, 2016
Pros: personalized attention from the staff; computer & printer available for guests in the lobby; delicious breakfast; bonbons in the evening
Cons: privacy fan in the bathroom; soap dish
Location: bus tours; boat tour; walking tour, museums; rental cars (We drove a rental car around L'ile d'Orleans); great restaurants; aquarium; Laval University
We spent a week at this hotel and loved every minute of it. The hotel staff were wonderfully friendly and helpful. They answered dozens of questions, helped us with the French computer keyboard, & arranged tours. In particular, Esther was a gem. She greeted us with a welcoming smile every morning, arranged tours for us, and answered questions about Canadian culture. Francis also helped us with great patience whenever Esther was unavailable, and there were several others whose names we unfortunately didn't learn. The hotel occupies a former stock exchange and fruit market and has been renovated in a very comfortable contemporary style. The complimentary breakfast was outstanding: gourmet cheeses, croissants, sweet rolls, many kinds of bread, fruit, yogurt, hard-boiled eggs, a huge selection of coffees and teas, etc. Then, when we came home at the end of a tiring day of sight-seeing, we could look forward to a turned-back bed and bonbons on the pillow. Hotel le Germain is in Old Quebec. However, it is at the bottom of the cliff. Getting to the top requires climbing the hill or taking the funiculaire. The advantage is that there is a somewhat smaller crowd of tourists at the bottom of the hill than at the top. We were concerned that we might run out of things to do in a week, but we kept plenty busy at our preferred leisurely pace. I have already recommended Old Quebec and Hotel le Germain to friends and family. We look forward to going back one of these days!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Orange Beach, AL

Nice hotel located on the Riverfront.

Posted Jun 21, 2016
Pros: The hotel was clean, the continental breakfast was good and the staff were helpful and pleasant.
Cons: The guest room needed more light and side tables for the 2 comfortable chairs would have been great!
Location: Close to waterfront, shops and restaurants.
The hotel was clean, the continental breakfast was good and the staff were helpful and pleasant.
5 out of 5
by Jeri from California

Stay in Quebec City

Posted May 26, 2016 on Hotels
The staff were excellent. Upon arrival, they gave us a guide book and map of the area. Also told us about a wonderful walking tour which we took. Always ready to help. The area was beautiful and close to all downtown and uptown sites.