Ratings based on 366 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Langhorne, Pennsylvania

Second visit at Hotel le St. Paul, Quebec city

Posted Aug 20, 2015
Pros: The hotel is in an excellent location. I liked the elevator access, large and comfortable bed, cleanliness, coffee/tea machine in the room.
Cons: The room was very dark, one small desk lamp and two small lamps on either side of the bed. Definitely needs more and better lighting.
Location: The hotel is across the street from the large Marche, easy to walk to the train or bus station and many shops and restaurants and the historic sites.
This was my second visit to Quebec city and my second stay at the hotel.I would recommend the hotel to travelers.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect location for a visit to Quebec City

Posted Aug 17, 2015
Pros: Location, location, location. The hotel is quiet, the rooms are clean and modern, and staff are helpful.
Cons: The beds are VERY firm and would benefit from a more plush mattress topper
Location: The hotel is minutes for many old town activities. The farmers market and St. Lawrence river are across the street. Old town shopping is minutes away
We had a wonderful and relaxing staff in Quebec City. The hotel is the perfect location for a visit to old Quebec City. We enjoyed breakfast at the Farmers Market, which is across the street. There are two smartphone apps specific to Quebec City that are helpful for planning your stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gaithersburg, MD

Needs a new decorator, but otherwise is fine.

Posted Aug 11, 2015
Pros: The attached restaurant wasn't bad and the staff could not be nicer. And our room was quiet and had a huge TV.
Cons: If they brightened up the interior, it would help a lot. Someone wanted the place to look modern and chic inside, but it's kind of gloomy.
Location: It's a five minute uphill walk to everything in the old city. At the end of a day of walking, going DOWN, not UP was a great relief!
This hotel is in a good location at the bottom of the Old City, with parking right across the street. The gentleman working the front desk was very nice and welcoming. The bed was comfortable with nice linens, and the room was quiet, so we slept well. But I get the sense that the person who did the decorating never tried staying in one of these rooms. A few inconveniences: 1. The paint in the corridors and rooms is primarily a very dark charcoal, almost black. In our room both the ceiling and all but one wall were painted this way. The room only had one small window, so it was VERY dark. There were several lamps, but even with all of them on, I couldn't see the items in my suitcase or purse unless I pointed a light directly at them. It was annoying. 2. The rim of the bathroom sink was the only place to set things down, except for a small shelf under the sink, already containing tissues, blow dryer, etc. No room for toiletries and no place to put your clothes if dressing in the bathroom. 3. The only mirror is in the (also dark) bathroom, so if one person is taking a shower and the other is doing makeup, they'd better have come prepared with their own. Actually with the lighting in the room, they'd need a hand mirror anyway, so they could sit right at the window. Otherwise they would not be able to see what they were doing. I wouldn't have a problem with staying here again, and have stayed in far worse hotels, but will probably try somewhere else next time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from S Minneapolis

Location and charm

Posted Aug 6, 2015
Perfect location for exploring the city on foot. Great room with king bed and giant bathtub. Reduced parking right across street. Breakfast was not included in my rate but very reasonable and delicious. There were dozens of good restaurants within walking distance. I would definitely stay here again!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from TERREBONNE QC.

HOTEL SAINT-PAUL

Posted Aug 4, 2015
Pros: PROCHE DU CENTRE-VILLE
Cons: RENOVER AU COMPLET ET CHANGER LES LIT ET TAPIS
RESERVEZ 2 CHAMBRE POUR 4 PERSONNES ET SEULEMENT 2 SERVIETTE DEMANDER AU BUREAU D'AUTRE SERVIETTE ET IL MA DONNER DES TAPIS DE BAIN ET SA PRIS 15 MINUTES POUR SA ODEUR DANS LES CHAMBRE ET CORIDORE DE MOISIE DEGUELASSE MATELA PLEIN DE BOSSE ET DURE COMME DU PLYWOOD LIT QUI BOUGE ET CRAC JUSTE A RESPIRER TAPIS TACHER TOILETTE COLLER SUR PLAINTE CHAUFFANTE PAS CAPABLE DE S'ASSOIRE DE FACE SUR LE BOL OUBLIGER D'ETRE DE COTE SA VA TRES BIEN POUR FAIRE DES BESOINS EN BREF HOTEL DE BAS DE GAMME A PRIX EXAGERER.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Fabulous Boutique Location

Posted Aug 4, 2015
Location: Many restaurants and antique shops on St. Paul street. About a ten minute walk along lovely cobblestoned streets to the funicular up to Old Town.
Hotel is on the edge of lower old town across from the newly opened farmers market right on the river. We could walk everywhere. Parking available at a lower rate in a lot right across the street. Breakfast was terrific - accommodates those with gluten intolerance - at outdoor cafe seating (there is indoor but the weather was fabulous). Rooms are small but have everything needed - great up-t0-date bathrooms, free wifi, comfortable beds.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Aingeray

Posted Aug 1, 2015
Cons: Eclairage dans la chambre; bruit de moteur de climatisation
Hôtel décevant; les chambres sont mortuaires; Ronronnement incessant de la climatisation générale. Dans la 2eme chambre ,la commande de la clim était inopérante et ce malgré deux avis à la réception.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Jul 31, 2015
It has a very good location from which you can walk to all main attractions in Old Quebec city including all the shopping streets, Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac, Parliament building, etc. My room is a bit small but has a cozy design with a river view. I love the bathroom which is clean and large enough to make you feel comfortable. For those who visit Quebec city for the first time I would recommend you to visit Montmorency Falls which is not far from the city. You can get there by taking a bus number 800 which costs you only $3.25 one way.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal, QC

Beautiful hotel

Posted Jul 27, 2015
Very quaint and cute hotel. We absolutely loved the charm of it. The hotel is very well located. We were able to walk everywhere. The room was small but very clean and modern. Showers are very modern and we actually had no clue how to work it properly. The price, charm and location of this hotel are hard to beat.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Hampshire

Great location near old city

Posted Jul 20, 2015
Walking didtsnce to !everything!, market across the street, parking available (and safe!), wonderful bathtub, clean rooms. The location is top notch, and the staff is helpful and friendly. We've been hete twice and plan on returning ahain next year.