Ratings based on 484 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from queensbury, NY

Posted Dec 12, 2017
I asked for a room in second floor but unfortunately they offered me a room in the first floor only even they had rooms empty in the second floor
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 15, 2017 by Brittany Gifford, Hotel Management
Hello Damer, Thank you for taking the time to share a review. I apologize that you did not have an exceptional experience at our hotel. I am sorry to hear that our staff was unable to move your room assignment to the second floor upon your request. I am unsure of the circumstances regarding this situation, and whether or not we did have a king room available on the second floor at that time. Our king sized beds are very popular but also limited and unfortunately on some occasions we are unable to accommodate special requests. I would suggest in the future contacting the hotel directly in advance of your arrival to ensure that we are able to do everything in our power to accommodate your requests. I hope that you had an enjoyable stay with us otherwise. I hope that you will consider staying with us again in the future so that we may provide you with a superior experience. Sincerely, Brittany Gifford Guest Service Coordinator
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from montreal, Qc Canada

Nice and cozy hotel

Posted Oct 17, 2017
Great place. Close to shopping. Good value for the price. Very clean and absolutely loved the green coloured walls in the room. Breakfast was very good with alot of choices! Would definitely recormmend and go again !
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 22, 2017 by Rachel, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review us. I am glad that you had a great stay with us recently. It is nice to hear that you enjoyed the convenience of our location as well as the modern decor of the hotel. Staying with us again the next time you are in the area as well as recommending us to other is the best compliments we could receive. I hope you were able to explore some of the historic spots in the area such as Saratoga Battlefield or Fort William Henry. We look forward to seeing you again! Sincerely, Rachel Duell General Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Blood on my sheets...

Posted Sep 18, 2017
There was blood on our sheet when we went to get in bed so after that lil experience, I couldn't get over it. Not even blood after washing- fresh but dried blood.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 25, 2017 by Brittany Gifford, Hotel Management
Hello Chris, I am sorry to see that you did not have an exceptional experience with our hotel. I am shocked to hear that you seem to have found blood on the sheets in your room. This is unacceptable and not the level of cleanliness we expect from our housekeeping staff. I have discussed this matter with our housekeeping supervisor to ensure that a mistake like this does not occur again in the future. Please accept my sincerest apologies for this incident. I would like to be able to discuss this matter with you further. Please feel free to contact myself or our General Manager at any time. We thank you for your business and hope that you will consider giving us another chance in the future to provide you with a superior experience. Sincerely, Brittany Gifford Guest Services Coordinator
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 17, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 28, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am glad that it appears you had an exceptional stay with us. I do wish you had shared some details regarding this stay so that other travelers could hear what you loved about our property. I hope that you were able to utilize all of our included amenities like the large variety in our complimentary hot breakfast buffet as well as our indoor pool and fitness facility. We just recently added a weight bench and free weights system to our gym equipment for a more complete workout. We thank you for your business and hope to see you again in the future! Sincerely, Brittany Gifford Guest Services Coordinator
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Just one drawback

Posted Sep 15, 2017
Pros: Terrific location, clean and quiet, very pleasant and helpful staff.
Cons: Information before check-in regarding spa tubs and difficult access to tub/shower.
This hotel is well located, terrific staff, clean and quiet. The only drawback is that the shower/tubs in (some) rooms (possible only on the first floor) have a very high tub side with faucets placed in a manner that deters easy entry into the tub for those with less agility than we once had. Perhaps if you ask for a room without a spa tub or for a regular walk in shower, you will be very happy with this choice of hotel. It would be helpful if the hotel would inquire of those making reservations through AARP whether they want an easy access shower or a spa tub. Otherwise it was a very pleasant facility.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 17, 2017 by Brittany Gifford, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your review of our hotel. I am so glad that you had a pleasant stay with us. It is wonderful to hear that you found our location to be great and that it suited your travel needs. Our staff really is terrific as they take great pride in their work in providing our guests with exceptional accommodations. I am very sorry to hear that you had some difficulty with the tub in your suite. All of our suites are equipped with a two-person Whirlpool Jacuzzi tub in a garden style. Unfortunately the design can be cumbersome for those who have more limited mobility. We do have a suite which is more accessible, with bars to assist in entry and exit and a more shallow design. If you are looking to stick to our suites, be sure to inquire about the accessible option. Otherwise, our standard rooms are all equipped with an over sized walk in shower that is easily accessible. Thank you for your feedback. I hope that we can welcome you back again in the future! Sincerely, Brittany Gifford Guest Services Coordinator
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not crazy about pets in hotels.

Posted Sep 13, 2017 on Hotels
Comfortable and clean however someone left a barking dog in the room next to ours.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 15, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am happy that you found our property to be clean and comfortable. I am sorry to hear that you had a neighboring guest who appeared to have left a barking dog in their room. I will look into this matter as we are not a pet friendly hotel and we do not allow guests to bring dogs, or other pets for that matter, into their guest rooms. The only exception to this rule would be for service animals, which are not allowed to be left in a guest room unattended and should not create a disturbance for other guests. I apologize that we seem to have had a guest who did not respect this policy and it was bothersome to you during your stay. I am unsure if this was reported by you to the staff at the time, as we will gladly address all matters of concern as soon as they are brought to our attention. I hope that you were able to enjoy your stay with us otherwise. Thank you for your business and I hope that we will be able to welcome you back again in the future. Sincerely, Brittany Gifford Guest Services Coordinator
4 out of 5
by CINTHIA

Great visit to the Lake George area.

Posted Sep 12, 2017 on Hotels
We were there to visit the Adirondack Nationals at Lake George. Our stay at your hotel was comfortable and convenient to the downtown area. Your staff could not have been more friendly and polite. Anita, in the breakfast area, did an outstanding job of keeping plenty of food available and offering a great selection for breakfast.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 15, 2017
Greetings Cinthia, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review! I am so glad that we were a convenient and clean option for your accommodation during the annual Adirondack Nationals car show! It is wonderful that you were able to experience our friendly and helpful staff first hand as it is something we have become well known for. I will certainly be sharing your comments with Anita, our weekend breakfast attendant. She does such an excellent job keeping our guests well fed and maintaining a clean and enjoyable breakfast environment. I am very pleased that you had an excellent stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again next year! Sincerely, Brittany Gifford Guest Services Coordinator
5 out of 5
by Michael

Posted Sep 10, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 15, 2017
Hello Michael, I am so glad to see that you had an enjoyable stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to leave us a rating. I hope you were able to take full advantage of the amenities we offer such as the complimentary hot breakfast buffet, indoor swimming pool, and our fitness center which is now newly equipped with a free weights system. Hopefully you were able to enjoy all of the exciting and wonderful things the Lake George area has to offer. There are a plethora of attractions which are still up and running beyond the busy summer season. We are also closely located near a bunch of great locally owned business and restaurants which are worth a try. Thank you for choosing us for you travel accommodations and we look forward to seeing you again in the future! Sincerely, Brittany Gifford Guest Services Coordinator
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 9, 2017 on Hotels
Very enjoyable!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 15, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! I am so glad to see that you had an enjoyable stay with us! I hope you were able to take the time during your trip to visit the local area and everything it has to offer. We may be out of our busiest season, but the Lake George area continues to hold plenty of events that are worth checking out! I hope you were able to enjoy our provided amenities to the fullest including the complimentary hot breakfast buffet in the morning as well as our indoor swimming pool. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future! Sincerely, Brittany Gifford Guest Services Coordinator
3 out of 5
by Lorilee

Posted Sep 8, 2017 on Hotels
The staff was excellent. The mold in the room was horrible. Mold on the ice bucket and near a/c. Smelled awful and all of the bedding was damp
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 11, 2017
Hello Lorilee, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am so glad that you found our staff to be excellent. Thank you for your comments regarding the condition of your room. I am very sorry to hear that the room had an unpleasant smell and the bedding felt damp. This is absolutely not the standard we hold for our guest rooms and is not acceptable. I would like to be able to discuss this matter with you further so I can have a little more information. Please contact myself or our Front Office Manager, Rachel, so we can determine which room you experienced this issue in and address it immediately. We thank you for your business and hope you will consider staying with us again in the future so you may see how we have used your feedback to improve. Sincerely, Brittany Gifford Guest Services Coordinator