Ratings based on 309 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Nice hotel close to shops and water

Posted Feb 20, 2018
A bit quirky as its an old building thats been modified a number of times - glad they kept the period feel & added modern conveniences. Staff were all very nice to deal with. We especially liked being able to have dinner below in the restaurant (food was good) and have dessert delivered to our room after!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 21, 2018 by Laurel, Hotel Management
Hi Diaz, Thanks for your great review! We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us, you're definitely right in saying this boutique hotel is certainly quirky and that's why we love it! Thanks for the great pic from our restaurant too! We look forward to hosting you again in the future. Warm regards, Laurel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, AUS

Beautiful hotel with fantastic service

Posted Feb 4, 2018
Great service, fantastic breakfast and beautiful rooms. There was no fridge in the room and that wasn’t clear when booking online but there was a small fridge for all guests to use. Overall a great experience and we’d happily stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 8, 2018 by Laurel, Hotel Management
Hi Vanessa, Thanks for your great review! We look forward to seeing you again in the future at Athelstane House. Warm regards, Laurel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Beautiful boutique hotel

Posted Jan 4, 2018
We had a perfect stay! We were warmly greeted, the room was spacious and nicely decorated, and the breakfast was delicious. Highly recommend.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 4, 2018 by Laurel, Hotel Management
Hi Damian, Thanks for your fantastic review of Athelstane. We're so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back again very soon! Warm regards, Laurel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Great place

Posted Dec 27, 2017
Exceptional hotel and lovely food. Well above expectations. Staff are very attentive.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 27, 2017 by Laurel, Hotel Management
Hi John, Thanks for your 5/5 review! We're so happy you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back again soon! Warm regards, Laurel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful bed and breakfast

Posted Dec 14, 2017
We had a wonderful stay. The rooms are lovely, service was perfect and breakfast was delicious. Highly recommend!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 19, 2017 by Laurel, Hotel Management
Hi Damian, Thanks for your fantastic review of Athelstane House. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon! Warm regards, Laurel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Perfect get away

Posted Nov 4, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: Loved the ambience and the friendly staff.
Cons: One very minor fault - the wi-fi in room 8 was very patchy - not really usable. It didn't bother us though as it was great to get away from the digit
Loved our stay - could not fault Athelstane House - everything was perfect. One very minor fault - the wi-fi in room 8 was very patchy - not really usable. It didn't bother us though as it was great to get away from the digital world.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 7, 2017 by Laurel, Hotel Management
Hi Tony, Thank you for your lovely review of Athelstane House. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us! Unfortunately the 130 year old walls of this lovely building are quite thick and can weaken the WIFI signal, however, we do have dongles available please don't hesitate to ask us for your next stay. Looking forward to seeing you soon! Warm regards, Laurel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from MELBOURNE

a sweet, small boutique hotel located in a by gone

Posted Oct 30, 2017
Pros: small, friendly,old fashion.
Cons: Get the spa bath out of the bathroom...
Old fashion European style hotel in the heart of Queenscliff. With great breakfast and great location, this hotel is relaxing and enjoyable. It is not a luxury hotel, still being small and friendly does the job of a good short visit. A short visit to Australia of 1880...
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 1, 2017 by Laurel, Hotel Management
Hi Shlomo, Thanks for your great review of Athelstane House. We're glad you enjoyed your stay in the house and hope to welcome you back again soon! Warm regards, Laurel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Lovely old small hotel located in heartbof Queensc

Posted Oct 22, 2017
This was our 2nd stay at this property. Booked a veranda room which was a bit noisy early in the morning from passing traffic and dog walkers. Excellent breakfast included in room booking. Dinner available but we have not tried this. Fully licensed venue. Room very comfortable with a large bathroom. Staff pleasant. Limited off street parking. I would stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 24, 2017 by Laurel, Hotel Management
Hi Sharon, Thank you for your lovely review of Athelstane House, we are looking forward to hosting you again soon! Warm regards, Laurel
5 out of 5
by ANNA D

A delightful getaway

Posted Oct 7, 2017 on Hotels
Athelstane House in an absolute delight!! We stayed for three nights, and everything was impeccable. We had been there before to eat in the restaurant, but i would recommend staying in the hotel and eating in the restaurant - the full package is superior! I would recommend it for singles, couples, or families. It is a beautiful peaceful place if you just want to relax and unwind. The breakfast is delicious - the perfect start to the day. Not to mention, the check out at 12pm!! So that you can enjoy your morning! Thank you for your wonderful hospitality!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 8, 2017
Hi Anna D, Wow...thank you so much for your incredible review!! Your comments are so kind and we truly appreciate you taking the time to write your review. We look forward to hosting you again in the near future! Warm regards, Laurel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice, friendly hotel

Posted Sep 22, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: The friendly staff
An excellent experience. I was particularly impressed by how helpful and friendly the staff were. A real gem and I hope to stay here again one day.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 29, 2017 by Laurel, Hotel Management
Hello, Thank you for your wonderful review of Athelstane House. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to welcoming you back again in the future! Warm regards, Laurel