Ratings based on 316 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful experience

Posted Apr 18, 2018
Pros: The cosy home environment and wonderful hospitality. And the delicious breakfast.
Location: You are not far from the Fort Queenscliff Museum, the Queenscliff Maritime Museum and the Searoad ferry.
From the moment we got there, we were welcomed with kindness. Everything about the experience was exceptional. From being in a cosy home environment to a comfortable bed and delicious breakfast. I recommend staying at the Athelstane House, we stayed just the 1 night but will return again for a longer stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 21, 2018 by Laurel, Hotel Management
Hello, Thank you for your outstanding review of Athelstane House. We are so thrilled to hear you enjoyed every element of your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back to the house soon. Warm regards, Laurel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 2, 2018
Location: Unfortunately not a lot. Nice to visit during the day but not a lot of choice re restaurants etc at night. A very quiet town.
Hotel was very nice. No complaints. If your elderly and require a walk in shower this maybe a problem unless there are other room types available. Unfortunately, not a lively town.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 3, 2018 by Laurel, Hotel Management
Hello, Thank you for your review of Athelstane House. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We have two rooms with walk in showers for those who require this facility. Queenscliff is a fantastic little beach side town with many things to see and do plus events every weekend of the year. Please don't hesitate to ask us or the Queenscliff Visitor Information Centre for ideas for your next stay. Warm regards, Laurel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 25, 2018
Everything was lovely, staff, restaurant and hotel the minor negative was our room smelt stale and needed to be aired out prior to arrival. Other then that everything was perfect.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 26, 2018 by Laurel, Hotel Management
Hello, Thanks for your fantastic review of Athelstane! We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future. Warm regards, Laurel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Nice hotel close to shops and water

Posted Feb 20, 2018
A bit quirky as its an old building thats been modified a number of times - glad they kept the period feel & added modern conveniences. Staff were all very nice to deal with. We especially liked being able to have dinner below in the restaurant (food was good) and have dessert delivered to our room after!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 21, 2018 by Laurel, Hotel Management
Hi Diaz, Thanks for your great review! We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us, you're definitely right in saying this boutique hotel is certainly quirky and that's why we love it! Thanks for the great pic from our restaurant too! We look forward to hosting you again in the future. Warm regards, Laurel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, AUS

Beautiful hotel with fantastic service

Posted Feb 4, 2018
Great service, fantastic breakfast and beautiful rooms. There was no fridge in the room and that wasn’t clear when booking online but there was a small fridge for all guests to use. Overall a great experience and we’d happily stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 8, 2018 by Laurel, Hotel Management
Hi Vanessa, Thanks for your great review! We look forward to seeing you again in the future at Athelstane House. Warm regards, Laurel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Old world charm

Posted Jan 19, 2018 on Wotif
We have stayed at Athelstane House on a number of occasions and always enjoy coming back. Cosy rooms, friendly service, fine restaurant, great location in the heart of Queenscliff (but not noisy), comfortable drive from Melbourne.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 19, 2018 by Laurel, Hotel Management
Hi Peter & Judy, Thanks for your fantastic review. We are looking forward to welcoming you back again in the very near future! Warm regards, Laurel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, VIC

Loved this place ...

Posted Jan 16, 2018 on Wotif
Pros: Location - fantastic. The building itself - beautiful. Food - amazing. Great service, and an incredibly civilised 12pm check-out time.
Cons: The wi-fi wasn't great, but apparently this was due to the NBN. Hopefully they fix it soon. Who needs screens in such a beautiful spot though?
Location: Plenty of things to do within easy walking distance. We walked everywhere with our 3 year old, and didn't need to take the car out once. Great spot.
We absolutely loved Athelstane House and have already made a booking to return. It is charming place in a beautiful location. The service was really excellent, the staff couldn't do enough for us. The apartment was quirky, with a small bathroom and a kitchen with hotplate and dishwasher. It probably wouldn't suit someone looking for a luxury hotel experience, but it was charming, comfortable, very clean and the opportunity to stay in a historic building was wonderful. We travelled with our 3 year old and there was plenty of space for her to play and for us to relax. We thought the bed might be a little soft when we arrived, but we all slept extremely well. The food was excellent. We ordered room service one night and we all enjoyed our meals, and the (included) breakfast was amazing. Athelstane House is in a great location, just off the main street of Queenscliff which has plenty of shops and restaurants, as well as the beach, parks, etc, nearby.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 16, 2018 by Laurel, Hotel Management
Hi Kate, Thanks for your outstanding review! We are so happy your family enjoyed everything our lovely boutique guesthouse has to offer. We are looking forward to hosting you again soon! Warm regards, Laurel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Beautiful boutique hotel

Posted Jan 4, 2018
We had a perfect stay! We were warmly greeted, the room was spacious and nicely decorated, and the breakfast was delicious. Highly recommend.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 4, 2018 by Laurel, Hotel Management
Hi Damian, Thanks for your fantastic review of Athelstane. We're so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back again very soon! Warm regards, Laurel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Great place

Posted Dec 27, 2017
Exceptional hotel and lovely food. Well above expectations. Staff are very attentive.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 27, 2017 by Laurel, Hotel Management
Hi John, Thanks for your 5/5 review! We're so happy you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back again soon! Warm regards, Laurel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful bed and breakfast

Posted Dec 14, 2017
We had a wonderful stay. The rooms are lovely, service was perfect and breakfast was delicious. Highly recommend!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 19, 2017 by Laurel, Hotel Management
Hi Damian, Thanks for your fantastic review of Athelstane House. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon! Warm regards, Laurel