Ratings based on 286 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Great hotel close to all amenities.

Posted Apr 4, 2017
Pros: Everything
Very friendly staff, clean rooms, would definatley stay again
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 6, 2017 by Laurel, Hotel Management
Hi Adri, Thanks for your great review. We're thrilled you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again! Kind regards, Laurel
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

disappointed.

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Pros: Breakfast was very good, it was restfully although I was waken early by the exhaust fan from kitchen
Cons: Room had no bench of table space to put things on, watch, money, or wallet
our room was directly over the kitchen, we got the smells from the kitchen also the noise of the exhaust fan, with started about 6.30am Sunday morning. The picture of balcony rooms on the internet, from which I booked showed room onto the front porch, we had a room around the rear, it was not very big, was clean but would say as good as a average motel room but very costly, charged me MANY $. for the Sat night ( that was the most expensive night)
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 25, 2017 by Laurel , Hotel Management
Hi, Thanks for taking the time to review Athelstane House. The fan is strictly started at 11am each day, we're unsure what woke you but can guarantee it was not the kitchen fan, especially when staff do not begin their shift till 7:30am. As per photos on Expedia and our website we have 3 Balcony Rooms, all with chairs and a table to put your things on. Saturday night, like every other hotel, guesthouse and B&B in the world, is indeed the most expensive; you've also paid a premium on a third party site. Next time, give us a call, we'd be happy to recommend a room better suited to your needs. Kind regards, Laurel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Nice Hotel in Queenscliff

Posted Mar 11, 2017
Pros: Location
Very nice hotel in Queenscliff. Very pleasing. we had dinner there as well which was excellent. We had a very nice room with a very comfortable bed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 12, 2017 by Laurel, Hotel Management
Hi Linda, Thank you for your five star review of Athelstane House, we're so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and look forward to hosting you again soon! Kind regards, Laurel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

small hotel, well located

Posted Feb 23, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: The courtyard with the grapevine, quite a sun trap.
Cons: More room needed in the bathroom, ie a larger vanity with more room for toiletries.
Location: Good location, close to the shops and ferry service, within walking distance to most places.
We initially had some trouble with the long life milk, but were then given a jug of fresh milk. The room was adequate but we would have liked a bar fridge. We were given complimentary drink vouchers and had a lovely hour in the sunny courtyard under the wonderful grapevine. The breakfast was very pleasing, delicious.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 25, 2017 by Laurel , Hotel Management
Hi Merle, Thank you for your review, it was a pleasure hosting you. We are currently in discussion with the landlord in regards to updating bathrooms, we hope this occurs in the near future, thank you for your feedback on this. The room normally has a fridge inside, due to a breakdown last week we had to take the fridge out and unfortunately we haven't been able to replace it yet. Next time you'll find a fridge inside. We're glad you enjoyed the courtyard, definitely a plus to the property! Looking forward to seeing you again soon! Kind regards, Laurel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Lovely & hospitable.

Posted Feb 17, 2017 on Wotif
Great location. Sensational dinner and breakfast. Lovely staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 19, 2017 by Laurel, Hotel Management
Hi Sal, Thanks for your fantastic review! We're thrilled you enjoyed your time at Athelstane House. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards, Laurel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Small friendly and well located hotel

Posted Feb 12, 2017
Overall, very positive experience. Staff were very welcoming and helpful throughout my stay. Room was small double with very comfortable bed. Bathroom had spa bath with shower too. Room and bathroom very clean. Toiletries good quality. The only come was small rooms means no space for tea and coffee making facilities so these are kept in cupboard in corridor. Bit inconvenient. Also no wardrobe so clothes have to be hung on hangers on set of hooks. OK for short stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 13, 2017 by Laurel , Hotel Management
Hi Joan, Thank you for your lovely review, we're glad you enjoyed your stay at Athelstane House. As outlined in your compendium a tea tray is available upon request from reception, please don't hesitate to let us know if you'd like one left in your room for your next stay. Looking forward to seeing you again in the near future. Kind regards, Laurel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Posted Feb 5, 2017 on Wotif
I thoroughly enjoyed a most relaxing, comfortable and quiet stay at Athelstane House. The decor of the room was very tasteful and I felt very safe at this hotel!! Breakfast was delicious!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 7, 2017 by Laurel, Hotel Management
Hi Sandy, Thank you so much for your 5 star review, we're thrilled you enjoyed your stay at Athelstane House and look forward to seeing you again soon! Kind regards, Laurel
3 out of 5
by Robert

Posted Jan 25, 2017 on Hotels
We found the bedroom very cramped with little space to place items out of the way. We thought that cereal and toast would have been a better breakfast option. The balcony was a lovely place to sit in and the staff very helpful finding a cheese knife and plates for us.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 27, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Hi Robert, Thanks for your review. As advertised, you booked our Small Standard Room, for your next stay please don't hesitate to give us a call and we can advise on a larger room to better suit your needs. We have both cereal and toast on our breakfast menu, as well as our large range of other items such as eggs and pancakes. We're glad you got to enjoy our lovely balcony, perfect place for cheese and drinks! Looking forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards, Laurel
4 out of 5
by John

clean and nice staff

Posted Jan 24, 2017 on Hotels
we enjoyed our stay
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 26, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Hi John, thanks for your great review! Looking forward to seeing you again in the near future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Geelong

A relaxing getaway

Posted Jan 22, 2017 on Wotif
This was our 3 rd stay at Athelstane in the last 12 months to celebrate special events. Again the experience was a very enjoyable one. Easy parking, friendly efficient staff, lovely rooms and everything you need within 30 seconds. We had a beautiful dinner of fresh seafood, interesting deserts and local wines. Breakfast was exceptional and not rushed with the late checkout. We'll be back soon.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 26, 2017 by Laurel , Hotel Management
Hi Kellie, Thanks for your fantastic review, it was a pleasure hosting you again, we look forward to doing it again soon!