Ratings based on 250 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pakenham Vic.

Comfortable hotel walking distance to Main Street,

Posted May 18, 2016
Pros: The bed, quietness and breakfast.
Cons: Due to the age of building things are fine as they are. We would have liked to have a jug in our bathroom etc for morning cuppa.
Location: Very central to everything.
Very comfortable bed. Large bathroom. No chairs for TV watching. Tea making facilities not in room but very well set up. Ver quiet the night we were there, no street noise. Beautifully cooked breakfast included.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 13, 2016
Great location easy walk to all Queenscliff had to offer. Hotel had character good excellent food. Access to Foxtel would be an excellent addition. Breakfast yummy evening dinner the same Yes would recommend this hotel
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Homely, relaxing and easy access to beach

Posted Feb 20, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: The staff, hospitality and the food.
Cons: Maybe it could do with a few minor repairs and maybe a paint job.
Location: There are quaint shops, Maggies kitchen with beautiful Beetroot chutney, the Ice cream shop and the Lolly shop with old fashioned lollies
We wanted a relaxing and cosy night away from the city and thoroughly enjoyed every minute.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

Delightful hotel, brilliant breakfast!

Posted Feb 10, 2016
Pros: See above.
Location: Fascinating architecture in Queenscliff and lovely walks along the beach just a ferry ride from Sorrento.
We stayed here two years ago and loved it so it was wonderful to return to find it just as we remembered - great staff, good food, wonderful walks and you can stay till midday.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 13, 2016 by Athelstane Management, Hotel Management
Hi Roz, we are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your second stay at Athelstane House. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 8, 2016 on Wotif
Very charming and comfortable accommodation. Fabulous menu also!
3 out of 5
by Michael from Crewe

Depends on the room you choose!

Posted Feb 6, 2016 on Hotels
Difficult to give a representative review of this hotel as we stayed in a "small double". Small? Tiny actually and in my view wholly unacceptable at the price paid. Additionally the broken sash window was propped open with a piece of wood, the (too small) bed had an uncomfortable mattress and was against the wall so my wife had to climb over me to get out of bed. Breakfast was good with an excellent choice although better on one day than the other. Restaurant OK but overpriced. Larger rooms may be fine.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 16, 2016
Hi Michael, Thank you for your review of Athelstane House. We have photos of all of our rooms on our website and all third party websites, so it is never a surprise on what you are booking, we also list that our small standard rooms have double beds not queen or king beds like the rest of the property. We are happy to continue to offer competitive pricing and provide all of our guests with a fantastic gourmet breakfast which we are glad you enjoyed. We hope to see you in the future at Athelstane House.
5 out of 5
by Christine from Melbourne

Posted Feb 4, 2016 on Hotels
A great Overnight stay. Staff were lovely and you were made very welcome and very accomodating. Can't wait to come back and stay longer.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 16, 2016
Thank you for your lovely review of Athelstane House, Christine. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 31, 2016 on Lastminute
Staff very friendly and helpful. Beautiful old building, meals were delicious. Close to everything in town and beach.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 30, 2016 on Lastminute
When we arrived we didn't want to stay there. For the price it was well below standard. No air conditioning, no fridge. Tea and coffee making facilities in the hallway. We agreed to pay of a night we didn't stay for to get out of the deal.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 13, 2016 by Athelstane Management, Hotel Management
Hello, We very openly advise all of our potential guests that we do not have air-conditioning (ceiling fans are installed in every room), as with most properties in Queenscliff, it is not necessary. As we are a guest house, not a hotel, we do not have fridges in the rooms and like to maintain a sense of community by having our tea and coffee station in a common area. You advised us that your partner was ill and thus you had to leave, it is disappointing that you were dishonest about your stay on departure as we truly value feedback from our guests and like to have the opportunity to address any faults or issues at the time of stay. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in Queenscliff and that perhaps in the future you will return to this beautiful town.
5 out of 5
by ANASTASIA from MELBOURNE

Great location

Posted Jan 28, 2016 on Hotels
Happy to go back again ,staff where great,always with a smile,good food.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 16, 2016
Hi Anastasia, thank you for your feedback on Athelstane House. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your meal and the service from our friendly staff. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.