Ratings based on 381 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice heritage building

Posted May 21, 2017
We picked the traditional standard room. Larger rooms have very stunning views but one has to go through quite fair bit of stairs to get there as there is no lift in the building. It was an interesting experience staying in a beautiful heritage building, but the standard room we had was quite dated and small with unstable bathroom warm water, I may not want to come stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Nice for a weekend

Posted Apr 17, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: Classy but historic
Cons: a lift
Location: great for beach walks or quiet time
A nice place for a weekend away. Better in Summer
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Great views,friendly Staff.

Posted Apr 2, 2017
Pros: The location,ambience and the facilities.
Cons: The peeling paint in the Dining Room needs repair and paint.
Location: Main Street location is handy to the Wharf and The Blues Train.
Staff are very welcoming and helpful.Great location and views across the Bay from the Executive Suite.Wholesome cooked breakfast in the Dining room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from M

Nice hotel close to the beach

Posted Mar 16, 2017
Very nice comfy hotel, the breakfast was amazing and the view was stunning ! I would definitely stay there again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Geelong

Llverly old world hotel, lots of history yet so ni

Posted Mar 15, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: Location and history
Cons: Nothing
Location: Central
Great location, lots of history, central to everything
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely old world charm

Posted Mar 5, 2017 on Hotels
The staff were very helpful, welcoming and friendly. I would stay again for the service alone. The hotel is beautiful and I love that it has kept it's old charm. It's located in a perfect position to walk Queenscliff. The complimentary breakfast is great and the dining room so beautiful. Nowa-days we don't get to experience the beauty of such old architecture, so it's definately a place I would recommend.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 4, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: close to the ferry terminal
Cons: staff being friendlier
Location: lovely seaside village near ferry terminal
okay experience in lovely seaside village. hotel staff at check in were not very friendly. room needed updating
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hot water/shower

Posted Feb 26, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: Its history
Cons: besides the shower - the breakfast buffet was a little ordinary.
Location: Fabulous, that's why we went
Having wanted to stay at this hotel for some time, thought we would for our Wedding Anniversary. After travelling two hours, wanted a nice shower to freshen up prior to a night out. My husband went first and I heard him almost screaming in the shower. The water temperature was out of control - he was almost scolded and then frozen - no way to control it. I didn't dare have a shower then but did so the next morning - again I was almost scolded? Made a complaint to receptionist - she said "we have ordered a new hot water service" - a little too late for us!!!! I wonder how the wedding parties got on?
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Victoria.

Central location.

Posted Feb 26, 2017 on Wotif
Beautiful room and great atmosphere. Unfortunately breakfast, while delicious, wasn't ready at 8. All ready soon after.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Lovely old building

Posted Feb 21, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: The history.
Cons: Maintenance and the addition of a lift (3 flights of stairs)
Although a lovely building it requires major maintenance and painting. The charge of $198 AU per night was grossly overpriced for the facilities provided. 5 star prices for 3 star facilities.