Ratings based on 398 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Beaumaris VIC

Skip breakfast

Posted Dec 29, 2017
Pros: It was clean
Cons: Breakfast needs improving. There are many cafes in the area serving better breakfasts and there needs to be more attention to detail.
Location: Well located in the centre of town.
This is a beautiful, iconic hotel in Queenscliff and with a few tweaks it could be much improved. It is very clean and the rooms are nice. The heritage style building has been sympathetically adapted to suit modern travellers. The bathroom we had was very dated but the shower had excellent pressure and was very clean. There were no bottles of water in the room and to plug the kettle in you had to put it on the floor on the other side of the room and then carry the tea bag into the bathroom to the bin. Breakfast was very disappointing. The food was not being replenished adequately and the service or lack thereof was noticeable . Not good value for money at $285 per night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rye

Great location

Posted Dec 10, 2017
Lovely hotel central to Queenscliffe when grand dining room is open sensational dining experience
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 3, 2017
Experience was good shame recent floods affected use of dining area but staff and service great
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colac, Vic

Lovely old hotel , close to everything!

Posted Nov 19, 2017
The room was a little smaller than expected, but it was very clean . The bed was so comfortable ! The staff were friendly and welcoming. Breakfast was very good too!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canberra

Disappointed

Posted Oct 31, 2017
Sad to see the Vue Grand has go down hill in recent years. Tired furniture, dirty chairs in the dining room and torn carpet (a hazard) met us on arrival. Bathroom shower was interesting- completely out of character with the period hotel and tiny in size. Not the stately hotel we remember.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 3, 2017 by Management , Hotel Management
Good afternoon Craig, Thank you for your feedback on the dining room and our bathrooms. Since new ownership in December 2016 we have made many changes over the last 11 months including painting and decorating most of out 33 rooms, new carpets and many other things. We hope by the end of 2018 all our bathrooms will be updated and then we shall start on the many other beautiful parts of our building. Being that we are heritage listed and a big building this will all take time but it is time we are will to put in to it. We hope you come back to us again and are presently surprised.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Old World Charm

Posted Oct 3, 2017 on Lastminute
Our balcony room was well worth the extra cost. It was spatious, overlooked the main street and had views of the ocean. Our room and the dining room were full of old world charm. Suggestions for improvement: fresh flowers in foyer and fresh fruit on breakfast buffet.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old Style hotel,nothing in fridge.

Posted Sep 19, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: service at the hotel,like room service
Location: Good location,near beach
Arrived 4PM, bar closed,not open till 5.30.No room service.Not a good value for the price we paid!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Thurgoona

Posted Sep 15, 2017
Pros: handy to shops being located in main street within easy walking distance to just about everything
Cons: the ability to open windows to let fresh air into room
Location: located handy to anything u need in township
rooms were well maintained bed was huge with rooms clean and tidy
2 out of 5
by Marty from Melbourne

Tied Old Girl

Posted Sep 10, 2017 on Hotels
This would have been a top class hotel .. 10+ ago, in desperate need of a complete make over, or turn into a cheap backpackers. It really is overpriced. The service and staff are very good though, just a shame about the price, also the buffet breakfast is way below standard and should be avoided. There are many cheaper better quality places to stay than here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Good location in Main street. Grand old hotel.

Posted Sep 8, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: Bed was comfortable, atmosphere is nice.
Cons: The bathroom was getting a little bit tired and perhaps a couple of small maintenance jobs to bring it up to scratch. eg there was a mark base shower.
Location: Blues train, Beach, good food cafes, historical buildings in town.
We were disappointed in the breakfast in the main room. It was a let down in our experience. I have stayed at the Grand Vue about 3 or 4 years ago and I do not remember the breakfast being a disappointment then. The problem was they did not have a very good selection. For the hot items there was only chipolata sausages, scrambled eggs, mushrooms, bacon & Hash Browns. I asked about Tomatoes' and there was none. They are needed to cut through the fat of the other fried foods. Not everyone likes mushrooms. Baked beans would have been another alternative and not too expensive for the kitchen. In the cold foods I did not see fruit? Even tinned Apricots or Peaches are good with Cereals. There were packets of cereal as usual and Muesli. When I went to finish off with a yoghurt the 2 tiny serves that I noticed were there earlier had disappeared and I asked the waitress if there were any others in the kitchen. She did not come back with any and I presumed that the answer was no. When I had asked about Tomatoes earlier she had checked for me and let me know there was none. I do not know if poor planning about the number of guests was the problem or generally trying to save on food costs for the Hotel. Maybe a word with your Chef or supply ordering staff will help.