Ratings based on 618 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice but dated

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Pros: lake view from restaurant
Cons: Need microwave oven available in the room
Ok, but not great experience, for the price paid in tourist town Queenstown
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from vancouver BC

Beautiful view from lake front room.

Posted Apr 3, 2017
The view was the best part of the experience. The walk into town was lovely and took 30 minutes. The rooms are spacious but could use some updates and touch ups. overall good hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NZ

Dangerous and rundown accommodation

Posted Mar 31, 2017
Bedside lamp with exposed wires, could have electrocuted us. Walking over piles of laundry to get to our room. Broken heater in room, stained, old carpets in room and breakfast area. Scratched up furniture and doors peeling timber at bottom. Both verandas filthy and balcony not able to drain rainwater, covered in slime and over an inch deep. Service and reception staff couldn't care less about issues raised. This room was usually $180, for a night. Better accommodation in holiday parks around NZ. Continental breakfast great. Eating area very run down. Broken chairs on balcony and fabric chairs pooling with rainwater, nobody could even set them on an angle to drain. Totally unusable space for the whole day, even after rain had stopped. A waste of an opportunity to enjoy the beautiful scenery. Our checkout time was 10 am on our paperwork and at 9:10 am we had a cleaner knock on our door and ask why we hadn't left yet. She responded 'you want to leave now, right?' I explained checkout was 10 am and she mumbled something and walked away. We felt very uncomfortable and started packing. This hotel is charging TOP $$$ for accommodation worse than any we have found in over 9000 kms travelling around both islands, including backpackers. Their staff are rude and apathetic to providing service. My husband holds an electrical ticket and was shocked at their complacency to bare wires on the bedside lamp and heater that didn't function. Wish I had taken photos. ROOM 550, I'm sure the issu
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from singapore

Poor ambience.

Posted Mar 26, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything.
According to Expedia booking we were supposed to get a mountain view room. Instead we got a room on the ground floor with a view of the carpark. Towels were weathered. Room is basic and in need of renovation. The bed was very uncomfortable. Staff were inflexible in finding us another room and when we wanted to cancel the booking, we were informed that we forfeit the full cost of the rooms for the 2 days.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Bring on the renovations!

Posted Mar 26, 2017
Pros: View from the restaurant. Continental breakfast.
Cons: Total renovation.
Location: Adventure capital of NZ!
I have never complained at a hotel before and had to really suck up some courage to mention some key health and safety issues at the front desk. The two young ladies at the desk were very understanding and informed me about the upcoming renovations but unfortunately the hotel was fully booked and there was no spare rooms to move us to. There were a few issues, but the two main safety issues were plugs that sparked dangerously when I plugged my GHD (normal NZ plug) into them and some rotting of the wall by the shower (I have put up a photo). The hotel said they were happy to do a refund but I had to speak with Expedia. When Expedia spoke with the hotel the hotel said they had no record of my complaint and that I would have to speak with the manager (I was pretty upset about this as I am not very confrontational.. let alone having to complain twice!). Expedia said they were happy to refund me off their own back because I am a regular customer who has never complained before. Yay for Expedia!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good value

Posted Mar 25, 2017
Good value for the money. Clean and comfortable but needs bathroom renovations. Nice breakfast with stunning views of the lake.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland NZ

nice hotel.close to town

Posted Mar 10, 2017
Pros: staff were very pleasant and helpful. the best thing I liked though was the breakfast.Room service was great.
Cons: some maintenence on fixtures need to be done, my room curtain was hanging off track and handle on sliding door was loose and needs tightening.
Location: close to town and most activities.
I loved the fact of having breakfast in the morning as part of the room rates.Makes it so much easier to go and enjoy the day without having to go out to find breakfast. And nice view while eating.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great views

Posted Mar 6, 2017
Pros: The view from the Restaurant!
Location: A $20 taxi ride from the centre of Queenstown.
Stayed twice - once in an expensive room (great view) and once in a cheaper motel style room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

One night in Aspen

Posted Mar 5, 2017
Good location and nice view. Just parking is a challenge as limited parking lot available for hotel guests.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Beautiful location with views!

Posted Jan 30, 2017
Pros: Views and the room (deluxe room, lake view).
Cons: Do not advertise 'free parking' when parking is limited at a first come first serve basis.
Location: Quite far from the CBD but not an issue if you have a vehicle.
We stayed in the Deluxe room, lake view for 2 nights and it was absolutely spectacular! The views from the room are gorgeous! The room was perfect with very high ceilings. The balcony was a nice extra touch however it rains a lot in Queenstown and the balcony had no roof cover so you couldn't even use the balcony. The restaurant at the hotel also has gorgeous views but the menu is overpriced for what it is, especially because you're just eating at the hotel. The continental breakfast in the morning was nice and filling (toast, danishes, croissants, fruit, cheese, salami, hams) but they remove the food immediately at 930am. The only real issue with the hotel is that they promise free parking but in reality there is limited spots and not all hotel guests will get free parking forcing you to park on the street which becomes a hassle when its pouring rain, when you are carrying groceries or when you have lots of luggage. The staff didn't seem to care that they do not have enough parking for all their hotel guests. Their "spa" is also a Jacuzzi in a closed off area that looks like hasn't been cleaned or used in years - we were hoping to book in the spa but were immediately turned off when we saw it.