Ratings based on 206 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location. good staff. Everything else sucked

Posted Jun 27, 2017
The beds you can feel the springs pop up, some showers had only cold water. Some toilets had no soap and others the toilet heads were falling off. No card keys, only manuel keys. The staff were nice and helpful. Location was in the center of everything. This hostel needs major funding! I'll try the YHA or something next time
1 out of 5
by Juan

Noisy, uncomfortable, dirty dump with views

Posted Mar 24, 2017 on Hotels
This place is grouse. The beds were saggy in the middle. I woke up with a sore back. The quiet hour is absolutely not inforced. I was kept up all night by the partying in the hallways. It would help if the walls and doors were thicker to keep out puse from the hallways. They had 3 electrical outlets for 6 people to share, which makes no sense. To make matters worse, the electrical outlet is high up on the wall so u less you have an extension cord, it's almost impossible to charge your devices. Their wifi is only available in the lobby between 7am 7pm. You need to pay extra for 24 hour wifi or for it to reach your room. The kitchen was dirty and the dining area was cramped. The one good thing was the nice view from the upper rooms.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

Base Queenstown

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Pros: Great location
Friendly staff and nice atmosphere. First room very smoky, second room a delight.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, comfortable beds and no breakfast

Posted Feb 4, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: location and price
Cons: More toilets for the private room since they pay more money to stay. We thought there was breakfast included however there was nothing in the kitchen
Location: great bars, clubs and restaurants in the area
The only toilet on the top floor was out of order which included the 20 - 30 private rooms either queen beds or bunk beds which meant we had to go down a floor where there was 4 toilets....not to sure why you pay more for the private top floor room when there is only one toilet.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Auckland

Wouldn't recommend this to my worst enemy

Posted Jan 30, 2017 on Wotif
Awful I had an ensure room, room dirty, sheets stained, sink broken and glued back together badly, smelt of rotten feet. The back packer has a very cheap bar that plays very loud music that reverberates around the rooms until the wee hours. Once it stops the drunk teenagers start roaming the corridors shouting and slamming doors rendering sleep virtually impossible. The double bed was too singles pushed together with a double.sheet so slipped between beds trying to sleep. A park bench would be more comfortable. I have done stayed in a lot of NZ backpackers most are great sadly this isn't even clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice singles but

Posted Jan 27, 2017 on Wotif
King size bed was 2 singles pushed together the upstairs toilet was out of order so had to go down stairs in the middle of the night to use toilet
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

In central point of Queenstown

Posted Jan 12, 2017
Nice 4 beds room..! A little noice from the bet below, will 23:30..!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Auckland

No sleep hotel

Posted Sep 15, 2016
Pros: Central location, spoil the by lack of sleep-the staff offered ear-plugs the next morning and were surprised I had not been offered them when I booked
Cons: Insulation, the highest priced rooms not being above the disco,honesty,disclosure of problems
Location: This hotel spoils Queenstown for me.The drunken louts behaviour has been allowed to dominate the town,they r a small proportion of tourists.
If you want to sleep in an unsound-proofed room that is directly above a disco where the DJS screams until the wee small hours and then the garbage trucks take over, followed by the pick-buses for ongoing travellers, then this is the place for you.
5 out of 5
by KE

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 28, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 12, 2016
Reception staff pretty rude and unhelpfull. All other staff seemed nice