Ratings based on 250 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland

Great location and an excellent view.

Posted Sep 16, 2017
Pros: Oil heaters in all the rooms and electric blankets on the beds which kept the hotel lovely and warm the whole time of our visit. View was stunning!!
Location: Location was excellent and sightseeing during winter is great. Lots of eateries also in Queenstown.
Family gathering in Queenstown. This was the first time for us to visit Queenstown and we absolutely loved it. Weather was cold and lots of snow around which we were hoping for. Beautiful scenery.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Christchurch

Great views,

Posted Jul 5, 2017
We stayed in a studio unit. It's very quiet and well equipped. View of the lake is obstructed slightly due to the roof tops of adjacent building but not too much. The slope is steep driving in and out, but manageable.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not luxurious as advertised

Posted Apr 14, 2017
Steep driveway which was getting sealed and guests were not informed that they couldn't use it for a period of time. Was advertised as a luxury apartment. So many broken things in the unit. I made a list of what was wrong and gave it to the office boy. When your paying $400 a night you expect better. No replacement of amenities during our week stay. Never shown about the wifi connection. No milk supplied on arrival. Had to give credit card details on a piece of paper which I thought was unprofessional. Best thing the view.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Terrific views

Posted Mar 8, 2017 on Wotif
We stayed in this 3BR split level apartment with a lovely view of the lake and remarkables. Comfortable beds, nice furniture, TV, helpful staff. Not far from town center but not walking distance. Would have appreciated if the kitchen pantry had things like salt/pepper. The handrail needs fixing. Be warned that driving in/out of the sloping driveway can be challenging for larger vans. But overall, very nice.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from cambridge

Great views

Posted Mar 2, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: Great views of Lake Wakatipu and a ten minute walk to town.
Cons: The furniture was pretty tired and due for replacement.
Location: Lake and all that Queenstown offers is close by.
Access is a little steep but that's often what you get with a lakeside view.
1 out of 5
by Bianca

Very poor!

Posted Jan 22, 2017 on Hotels
Our experience at this accommodation was very poor. Room was not serviced properly. Very dirty, the toilet did not work properly, amd the washing machine also did not spin the clothes. Also the dryer was broken. The technician called twice during our stay to service these appliances, and they were not fixed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newmarket, Ontario, Canada

Beautiful View

Posted Jan 13, 2017
Pros: The manager was very helpful and professional. He was always available when we needed something, including calling a cab for us.
Cons: There were 2 negatives. The first one was the driveway. It was down an extremely steep hill. We had trouble getting back up the hill when we left.
Location: The town is a 15 - 20 minute walk. You can do a direct route or you can walk along the lake, which took about 30. It was a lovely walk along a path.
We booked a 3 bedroom apartment. It had a beautiful view of the lake. The balcony had chairs and it was lovely to sit out there in the morning and evening. The apartment was huge. The kitchen was well equipped with everything we needed. There was a huge dining room table. We were a family of 5, my husband and myself, plus our 3 adult children. There was more than enough room and seating for us all. The bedrooms were comfortable, with 2 of them having beautiful views of the lake. It had 2 washrooms which were very clean. There were very convenient laundry facilities in the apartment.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Spectacular view but out dated

Posted Jan 7, 2017
The view is spectacular but the room was outdated with only 2 small radiator heaters. For 3 nights we were only given 2 sachets of coffee, 4 milk capsules & 2 towels. Rooms are not serviced. Wifi is available at $20/day!!!! Unheard of! Reception is only manned 9am to 5pm! We checked out at 9.30am & reception was still unmanned! We would only suggest this accommodation for the incredible view
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fantastic view of lake and mountains

Posted Oct 22, 2016 on Hotels
Excellent and comfortable apartment with everything needed. Nice balcony with spectacular views of lake and mountains. Very steep drive which may be a problem for some people but didn't bother us too much. Only issue was having to pay for wifi which in other south island accommodation where we stayed had been free.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

One of the worst room I have stayed in.

Posted Sep 23, 2016 on Wotif
Avoid ! First bad review in years from me. I travel for work every month and 5-6 times a year to Queenstown. The studio apartment at break free was the most dated/tired and dreary place I have stayed over my 15 years of travelling in NZ and around the world. If you liked 1990 I'm sure you will have a ball here, the room saw the sun for 15 minutes each day. There were two old oil heaters with damaged feet struggling to warm the room and it was 17 both days I was there so in winter it must be dreadful. A fridge in the middle of the lounge next to the couch was interesting touch and the bed was different at different heights so the ridge in the middle stuck into your back. Blown lights in the bath room and the yellow walls with tired dolphin prints just capped it off. I would avoid this as a place to stay-it's run down-tired and on the cheap appearance made me want to not return to it each night.