Ratings based on 36 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brisbane

Comfortable Accommodation

Posted Jun 30, 2016
Pros: Pleasant hosts
Cons: May be the hosts can offer evening meals for those cold/rainy evenings when you are too lazy to go out to dine?
Location: Walking distance to the town center
Walking distance to the town center and excellent breakfast
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from T

Great friendly place with awesome views..

Posted Jun 7, 2016
Had a great friendly hotel with good food & awesome views
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from 日本

清潔なB&Bでした

Posted May 7, 2016
Pros: オーナーの親しみやすさ、清潔さ
Location: 坂の上なので、帰りは登りになりますが、街までの距離は適度、そして静かです。
街から少し離れているかと思いましたが、徒歩10分ほどで夕食をとるレストランが集まるところへ行かれます。 清潔で、朝ごはんも充実していました。
5 out of 5
by Jason from Arlington

Nice quiet & friendly B&B

Posted Mar 28, 2016 on Hotels
Excellent place to stay in QT. A modest walk to city center, easy access with a car, good parking, nice room, great breakfast, and extremely gracious hosts. Couldn't have asked for any more during our stay. As good as any hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

It was nice having a view of lake

Posted Mar 22, 2016 on Wotif
Close enough to town to walk in but far enough out to not be in the hustle & bustle
5 out of 5
by Adrienne from Melbourne

Excellent accommodation

Posted Mar 19, 2016 on Hotels
Our hostess was very helpful and accommodating-great location-walking distance to town-breakfast was amazing,bed very comfortable-could not fault it
5 out of 5
by Margaret from Adelaide

Slice of Heaven in Queenstown

Posted Feb 19, 2016 on Hotels
We found the bed heaven after a multi-bunk cruise the night before. Friendly welcome and large room with ensuite. Enjoyed hike to queenstown hill the next day and were able to leave our bags to collect afterwards. Very popular accommodation, so advice is book early. 7 day bus ticket at airport would let you take a bus close by to the chalet and avoid walking, but we preferred walking and exploring more of queenstown during our stay.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wilmington, NC

Bait & Switch

Posted Feb 10, 2016
Website and brochure described ALL 7 rooms having balconies with views of lake, mountains. Instead we were given a first floor room by the front entrance with cars parked outside the Windows. Instead of a quite night, we listened to cars grind on the gravel parking lot and inhaled fumes from passing cars. It was hot, no air conditioning, so windows were opened. In the morning we were wakened at sunrise by guests checking out and having conversations by our door. The hotel entrance was only a few feet away. Most appalling, when we complained to Alex, the owner and manager, he claimed WE were being unreasonable and called us typical Americans in a sarcastic tone. He claimed that the room had a "balcony" although it was merely a wooden floor, one foot off the ground outside our door. He claimed we had a view which was even more bizarre (see photo). When we asked for a refund, he exploded in a rant about Expedia and how he lost part of our room payment to Expedia's commission. Why this was relevant I have no idea. We will be filing a complaint with NZ Dept. of Tourism and would appreciate help from Expedia in recovering one night's room cost. We were moved to one of the other 6 rooms that met the advertised standards for the 2nd night of our stay. Alex thought he went above and beyond by doing so. I ask that fellow American travelers boycott this hotel given his attitude toward us. Others should be aware that if you show up late, you may end up in our room (#7).
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 17, 2016 by Jude, Hotel Management
Hello Terry In relation to your review I advise we try to deal with any issue like this as quickly and as expediently as possible and with the deepest respect. As you outline you were the last guest to check in the first night you stayed and an instant change was not possible. We advised you that night we would relocate you within the Chalet the next day, despite it being the peak summer season. We believe you enjoyed this stay, as other guests booking with Expedia have and have included in their reviews. All the best Judith McMillan
5 out of 5
by Nicolas

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 4, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Shane from Sydney

Friendly comfortable stay. Great views & breakfast

Posted Jan 10, 2016 on Hotels
Friendly staff. Great service. Great food. Nice well appointed room with lovely views.