Ratings based on 1,943 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, Texas

In the heart of Queenstown

Posted Mar 23, 2017
Pros: the location
Location: Fergburgers is a 10-15 minute walk. The Shotover Station, Real Journey, the Gondolas are also within walking distance for tours and activities.
I was extremely pleased with Novotel. It is a beautiful hotel with great employees. It is in a great location. I could walk to the lake for great views of the sunset. There are many shops, pubs, and restaurants within walking distance. The area is very safe during the day and night. I slept well through the night. The beds and pillows were comfortable and there was no noise at night. I did have room service and they were prompt to deliver my late night meal. Overall I had a great experience at Novotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from USA

A decent stay on a higher budget

Posted Mar 12, 2017
Pros: Close to downtown.
Cons: Pricepoint. It was a good stay, but I'd suggest there's better value around town if they have vacancy.
Location: Downtown, park, shops, food
Overall, the facility was in good order. Nothing necessarily glowing about it, as a basic hotel. The walk up rate was outrageous. I went to the parking lot and booked via expedia for a lesser but still high rate. It was last minute, and most places were full. It's very close to downtown, which is likely what you pay for here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hamilton

Great Location

Posted Mar 6, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Rooms need updating
Location: Close to lake and downtown Queenstown - restaurants, bars and cafe all at your doorstep
The hotel rooms could do with an update, particularly the bathrooms.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Nice hotel very close to the shops. I found that some of the staff were very rude special Who were doing services in the resturant (open buffet) in the morning
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel and very close to the lake

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Pros: Location
Fantastic stay. definitely would come back. Location is good and all the facilities are excellent.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

close to town

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Pros: Restaurant was very good, enjoyed our meal there. Close to town
Location: shopping nearby, all local activities on the doorstep.
toilet broke, had to move late at night two disturbances during the night staff did not appreciate that not having a toilet until sometime the next day would be an inconvenience to the guest.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Great price and location

Posted Jan 16, 2017
good price. perfect location. impeccable service at front desk. Helped in every way. a stroll from all downtown food and fun. Right on lake side. EXCELLENT.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Location Caution With Currency Exchange Rate

Posted Dec 21, 2016 on Hotels
I have a beef with hotels that attempt to foist inflated currency exchange rates on customers. At checkout, when paying with a credit card, I was offered the choice of $NZ or $US. For naive or inexperienced travelers who don't pick the LOCAL currency, the posted $US hotel exchange rate was 0.81; Citibank executed the transaction at 0.69 -- a 19% difference! Add in the 2% CC surcharge would add 21% to the bill. Just leaves a bad taste in my mouth even though I know to avoid that trap.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SF

Nice hotel on edge of town

Posted Dec 20, 2016 on Orbitz
Nice accommodation and very comfortable but they will try to up sell you everything so be warned.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Love the location of this Novotel

Posted Dec 20, 2016
Pros: Location and staff
Cons: Bathrooms a bit dated.
Location: Take the time to visit the Queenstown gardens right next to the hotel. Relax by the lake. Stroll around. Do some shopping. Everything is close by.
Stayed here Dec 2016 both before and after hiking the Milford and Routeburn tracks. Excellent Queenstown location close to the lake and park and away from the busy central area, yet just a 5-7 min walk away. Staff very kind, efficient and helpful.