Ratings based on 125 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 6, 2017
Very impressed with our stay. Had stayed with Pinewood on a previous trip (and was happy with that), but this time we were in an even nicer block. Front desk staff were very helpful with organising activities and transport. Room was warm and comfortably fit four. Very short walk to the Fresh Choice supermarket too! Thanks for another great stay! Excellent value for money.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 8, 2017 by Reception, Hotel Management
Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback, we really appreciate it! So glad to hear you had a good time, and hope we welcome you back soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland

Easy and convenient.

Posted Aug 28, 2017
Pros: My own bathroom and toilet.
Cons: TV reception, but that not why i went to queenstown ;)
Location: Close to the centre of town, close to bars and fantastic places to eat.
It was fine experience as always, have stayed with them a couple times already. This time upgraded to a room with an ensuite, much better then the shared facilities. Over all a fine experience :)
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 8, 2017 by Reception, Hotel Management
Hi there, Thanks so much for taking the time to leave us feedback, glad to hear you've stayed with us a few times - so pleased you enjoyed the free upgrade. Look forward to seeing you again soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Great location and price

Posted Jul 31, 2017
Pros: Location, cleanliness and facilities.
Came down from Auckland for a weekend on the snow in July '18 I stayed in a private triple room in block U with en-suite that was more a motel style in a block of x12 (x6 upstairs and x6 downstairs) with a communal kitchen on each floor. The beds were very comfortable, towels were provided. The rooms and communal area were kept very well and clean and could not fault this place as a 'backpackers'. I was a little worried thinking it may be too loud or rowdy being a backpackers, but by booking in the blocks were quiet and would be suitable for couples, families and small group of friends! Staff were very friendly, helpful and knowledgeable of local area by recommending great cafes close by. Very close to town for the local bars, restaurants and cafes.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rotorua NZ

Posted Jun 9, 2017
Great staff, good facilities easy walking distance.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from AKL

Excellent value

Posted May 14, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: Location
Cons: Kitchen is not pleasant with other guests fail to clean up their mess.
Location: Within walking distance from Queenstown city centre, and it also has its own alternative access to Skyline!
I was here with 2 kids: a teenager and a 9-year old. Both kids love the hotel. The room is warm, shower is hot and powerful. Location is prime, only few minutes to the city centre. Parking facility is also sufficient. Overall, for the price, this lodge certainly is best. However, the guests need to treat shared facility with more respect. Kitchen utensils lying around unwashed.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Adelaide, Australia

Posted Apr 28, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: Central location & friendly helpful staff.
Much better experience this time around in different room on other side of road.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Adelaide, Australia

Posted Apr 28, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: Central location
Cons: Heating facilities & noise levels
Arrived late in evening & fumbled about in dark with heavy case trying to locate room (the map provided was less than helpful). Room was overheated; tried to turn heater off to no avail & there was a sign saying one risked electrocution if one touched the thermostat! So, I opened the window only to be subjected to a blast of freezing air & noise from the Hub across the driveway. Not a great experience or a brilliant nights sleep after an entire day on an airplane!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland, NZ

Nice and handy to the town centre.

Posted Apr 22, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: Its proximity to the town centre.
Location: For those interested it was an easy walk to the Gondola lift.
We were there just one night en route to the Otago Rail Trail. It was within easy walking distance from the Airport bus stop. The beds were comfortable and the facilities perfectly adequate. Better than we expected for the price. The layout of the cabins was attractive.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 14, 2017
Pros: In town
Cons: Not much
Location: It's not far from town
You get what you pay for, good price for Queenstown accommodation
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Timaru, New Zealand

Very social, 10 min walk to the center.

Posted Mar 31, 2017 on Wotif
The hostal is very social, the staff are great, and for the price, being 10 min walk to the Center, totally recommended. I stayed 3 nights and I had so much fun without any issues. Hot showers, wifi are always on. 5 min walking, you can get to the Gondola. I would definitely join again in the future.