Ratings based on 352 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Auckland

Matchbox sized 'apartment'

Posted Sep 3, 2017
The apartment we stayed in (arguably the cheaper option) was considerably smaller than even the average hotel room in Queenstown. The micro-kitchette was so small there wasn't even room for them to put a rubbish bin in them. Be mindful of bringing you're own food as the only option for cooking is a microwave. Also, be aware our apartment was not serviced. So don't expect to come back to a made bed, fresh towels, or anything like that.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 6, 2017 by Ro, Hotel Management
Dear Dave Thank you for your feedback on our Studio Room. You actually booked a Studio Room, which are our entry level rooms. The Studio Rooms are like a small hotel room (no lake views) with a small kitchenette and no hob. They are perfect for 1-2 people and for short stays. It is not always easy to navigate on websites when looking at accommodation options. Our website has a great gallery of images, room layout plans and information, giving potential Guests the opportunity to view prior to booking with us. One of the amenities that our Guests enjoy about Pounamu, is that the rooms are “self catering”, creating the ideal home away from home environment with daily servicing options available, consumables and toiletries available upon request. Extra towels are also provided along with free use of the Laundry situated in each Apartment. Once again for your feedback. Warm regards Rowena Richards Assistant Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

excellent view and facilities

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Pros: view, facilities in the apartments
Cons: I think hotel should provide one free cleaning per week. Currently they provide 1 free cleaning per 9 nights.
We were pleased with our stay. The apartment has almost everything you need for home like stay. Staff is is mostly friendly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 2, 2017 by Ro, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review and your lovely comments about your recent stay at Pounamu Apartments. The team thoroughly enjoy taking care of our Guests needs. Our goal is to ensure that you leave Queenstown and Pounamu with happy and unforgettable life time memories. One of the amenities that our Guests enjoy about Pounamu, is that the rooms are “self catering”, creating the ideal home away from home environment with daily servicing options available, consumables and toiletries available upon request. Extra towels are also provided along with free use of the Laundry situated in each Apartment. We hope that you will join us again one day soon. Warm regards Rowena Richards Assistant Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing views and all amenities supplied

Posted Aug 5, 2017
The view was just amazing!! One of the best self-contained apartments I've stayed in with excellent amenities (including toaster, knives, pots/pans and more than the usual bare minimum). Free DVD library and a computer and printer in the room were bonuses. Second bedroom has their own ensuite in their bedroom, coffee/tea facilities and a TV and DVD player. Lovely and warm when it was snowing outside. Full laundry was great. Staff were friendly too. Some traffic noise from the road outside but not a problem and great spot just outside of the busy town so you don't have to sit in the traffic when coming/going to the ski fields.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 12, 2017 by The Pounamu Team, Hotel Management
We certainly appreciate your feedback & know other Guests will also benefit. Our goal is to provide a "Home away from home" environment which will give your "life time memories" We hope to see you again soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

What a view!

Posted Jul 16, 2017
Location: Town is about a 10 minute walk away, so it's easy to get to restaurants and shopping.
Fantastic view and spacious well kept apartment. Walking distance to town and very friendly staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 21, 2017 by Ro, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review and feedback to your recent stay with us at Pounamu Apartments. Yes, Pounamu has certainly got fantastic views and facilities – home away from home. The Apartments are just perfect for Winter especially with the Gas Fire and under floor heating. Once again thank you for your review and I hope we have an opportunity to welcome you back. Warm regards Rowena Richards Assistant Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Australia

Amazing experience

Posted Jun 23, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: The quality of the bed linen (in such a cold climate). The number of available and different amenities to use. The spa was first class. The view!!!
Cons: The beds should have a base and a top mattress. Ours didn't and therefore the bed topping, in place of a top mattress, kept slipping and sliding off.
Location: Close enough to the city, but far enough away from the hustle and bustle. Perfect.
This apartment is one of the best I have stayed at in the world. They have thought of every comfort you can imagine and would need. From heated floors, to personal laundry machines, coffee pods, hot chocolate, warm robes and good, thick towels. They have even thought of giving each apartment its own desktop computer and printer! In a destination where there are so so many activities and bookings you can make, a printer is such a great, thoughtful addition.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 27, 2017 by Ro, Hotel Management
Thank you for your favourable 5 star review and your lovely comments about your recent stay at Pounamu Apartments. . We are so pleased you enjoyed our facilities. Great to see that you enjoyed the new spa pool .. we love it too. I like the idea of that you can book it out for an hour and have your own private time in the spa. And yes the views are spectacular. The 1 or 2 Bedroom Apartments are certainly well equipped. Air-conditioning units in the lounge and Studio Room for your comfort on warm days and then combined with the fireplace for winter for warmth, not to mention the ambience, whilst watching the sunset over Lake Wakatipu.  We would love you to stay with us again. Warm regards Rowena Richards Assistant Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hidden Gem at Ponamu

Posted Jun 11, 2017 on Hotels
awesome facilities
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 27, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to share your review with everyone. Yes, Pounamu has wonderful views and facilities – home away from home. The 2 Bedroom Apartments are just perfect for a family of four with so much space. We hope that you will return one at in the near future. Warm regards Rowena Richards Assistant Manager
5 out of 5
by Wendy

Posted Jun 9, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 27, 2017
Thank you for scoring our property 5 / 5. We appreciate you taking the time to review us. We hope you enjoyed your time at Pounamu Apartments. Warm regards Rowena Richards Assistant Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient and comfortable

Posted Jun 8, 2017 on Wotif
Super comfortable. Warm. Great bed. Lots of space. Awesome shower. Would book again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 27, 2017 by Ro, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review and feedback. With Winter upon us, it’s hard to beat the underfloor heating, air conditioning and the gas fire in each of the Apartments. Our mattresses are firm, and the luxurious toppers are feathers… like sleeping on a cloud, however they do need a shake the next day to puff them up ready for the next zzzz. Guests are particularly fond of our comfy down toppers (although they can be removed upon request for a more firm bed). Thank you again for your feedback. Warm regards Rowena Richards Assistant Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Queenstown getaway

Posted May 13, 2017 on Hotels
We really enjoyed the stay herein a top floor balcony room. Very comfortable 1 bedroom apartment with a good kitchen. Shower was great and there is a full laundry. The walk to town was about 15 - 20 minutes but not too far - who doesn't need the exercise. So many other places are too far to walk to dinner. My only complaints would be the bed which I feel needs an upgrade and a covered microwave dish is needed in the kitchen. The views were fabulous and we really enjoyed our stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 27, 2017
Thank you for the lovely review. As a 5 Star Qualmark rated property we pride ourselves on providing luxurious accommodation, thank you. Our mattresses are firm, and the luxurious toppers are feathers… like sleeping on a cloud, however they do need a shake the next day to puff them up ready for the next zzzz. Guests are particularly fond of our comfy down toppers (although they can be removed upon request for a more firm bed). Warm regards Rowena Richards Assistant Manager
4 out of 5
by Melanie

Posted Apr 24, 2017 on Hotels
Great location, apartment and facilities also wonderful. As it's on the main road in/out of Queenstown there is constant traffic noise into the late night so perhaps not great for light sleepers. Didn't feel the service was particularly friendly by one especially when questioned about an item missing from continental breakfast. Book in advance if you want to use the spa.