Ratings based on 2,096 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from mackay

Over rated

Posted Oct 18, 2016
Cleaners walk into rooms with out knocking and leave doors unlocked the resort is way over priced for what you get and i didn't get the room i booked the rooms are very basic and old style
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Dont waste your time and money unless desperate

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Pros: The view, which hotel has no control on, everything else needs rewamp
Cons: It says 1500 characters but doesnt take that many..is it incidental..?
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from auckland

Fantastic views..construction inconvenient

Posted Oct 9, 2016
Had no idea the building was been ripped apart. Paid full rate for a substandard experience. I am sure it will be amazing on completion but not a relaxing holiday experience in the thick of it.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Waikato, New Zealand

Beautiful views....but hotel abit dated.

Posted Oct 6, 2016
Pros: Views and breakfast.
Cons: Updating rooms.
Location: Anything and everything....its Queenstown!
We were aware that there were renovations on at the time of our stay and we were ok with that.....however when we arrived we were told that certain facilities were not available due to those renovations. The facilities not available were the pool and restuarant...the two things we were wanting to take advantage of....this was not stated anywhere on the website or at time of booking, so we were very disappointed. Room was clean and had beautiful views of the lake but it was small and abit dated. Don't think we would stay here again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 29, 2016
Pros: Staff were very friendly and helpful even though they were working under less than ideal conditions due to the renovating.
Cons: The breakfast buffet was disappointing. Unfortunately the food was not very hot, the toasters took too long and there wasn't a lot of choice.
Location: Excellent location
Magnificent views from the miniature balcony. We try to stay there when we come to Queenstown but prices are creeping up.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Port Macquarie

Renovation holiday from hell

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Pros: I have stayed at Rydges Lakeland Resort on a number of occasions mainly due to the fact that it has magnificent views and you can walk to town.
Cons: The staff, the rooms, the carpet, the parking, the laundry room ( only 4 washing machines for the entire hotel ).
Location: Location is fabulous and the views are magnificent. Shame the hotel does not match it's location.
Arrived to find hotel amidst renovations. Our rooms were old and tatty and not what I had booked. Our party was moved to rooms one floor up only to find that our new room stunk of cigarette smoke and my daughters room smelt like cat pee. Staff attempted to deodorise both rooms which resulted in my daughter suffering a reaction to the fumes, coughing and watery eyes. It was at this point that I demand that she and her partner be moved to a clean room. There was only one lift working and the foyer was covered in dust and building materials along with construction workers. The noise of the continual construction meant that you were forced to keep your doors and windows closed at all times. There was no dedicated parking for the hotel guests and what was available was on a first in first come basis and if there wasn't a parking space then we had to park our vehicle on the street. But what disappointed me the most was that during our entire stay at the Rydges not one of the staff members that we encountered were New Zealand or Mauri. The only time we experienced any of the wonderful Kiwi charm was if we struck up a conversation with one of the construction workers. Rydges would do well to remember that people come to NZ to experience and meet New Zealanders not foreigners from every other country but the one that they have chosen to visit. If I had known that the hotel was undergoing renovations I would not have booked our holiday there. There was no mention of it on the website.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel in desperate need of a revamp

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Overall pretty disappointed with this hotel, yes they are currently doing renovations but they have a long way to go to bring it up to standard. The room was very small, with very basic amenities. Not exactly the weekend I had hoped for.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from montreal

Bien situé.

Posted Sep 9, 2016
Très bel hôtel mais à déconseiller à court terme. Nous l'avions choisi parçe quil y avait un bain tourbillon. Mais on y fait des rénovations et le bain n'était pas disponible. Cette information aurait dû être présente sur le site Expédia. Par contr tout le reste était très bien: localisation, confort, etc.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from jafa nz

Awesome location

Posted Sep 4, 2016
Being done up but no noise noticeable. Central enough to town centre as easy walk to all queens towns sights etc, but without the centre's noise. Will stay again next year for sure
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Auckland

Awesome location, Horrendous noise.

Posted Sep 4, 2016
Location handy. Easy walk to town. Construction going on from 9am until 5pm. Was incredibly loud. You couldnt even be in the room between those times. Staff did what they could to ease this but you could hear it from every room. No pre warning. Dont stay until its completed unless you wont be in the room between those hours on weekdays anyway. When checking out at least they had the good sense not to ask how the stay was. They would have been aware of the response.