Ratings based on 2,276 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
68% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to lakeside and eateries

Posted Jan 11, 2018
Very excellent staff. Quick check in. Lack parking lots.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brisbane

Views of the lake and the car park

Posted Jan 4, 2018
There was one person on duty at check in, it was very busy. The room key opened the door to an occupied room. No parking, drove around for 45 minutes and then staff offered to park the car. The mirror in the bathroom felt like it was heated. I was told it was the water pipes behind it and it would cool down- it didn’t. The breakfast was good.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Don't judge a book by it's cover

Posted Dec 30, 2017
The staff were great and Brendan (front desk staff member) exceptional! The lobby, restaurant and bar look great, the rooms are absolutely terrible. They are in great need of renovation to match the rest of the hotel. The views are great! I would not recommend the rooms at this hotel. Definately not for the price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 26, 2017
Great lake views from room, but the room was small for our reservation of 4 people.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from auckland

Bad stay

Posted Dec 16, 2017
Beware all the Rooms is no air conditioner and air vent have been taped off , I have been suggested by staff that to open the door or windows to let the air in as he told me there no rooms in the hotel have an aircon.There was the opened tuna tin left in the fridge when we arrived. Bath room was not clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MY

Beautiful hotel, good location, friendly staff

Posted Dec 16, 2017
I absolutely loved my stay here. The staff had been very helpful - the handsome lad helped park our car & sent the luggage to our room. The friendly lady at reception helped me check-in quickly & ensured I got the info I needed. Room was clean, comfy & beautiful and did I mention that the lake view was breathtaking!! I wish I could wake up to that view every day. Also loved the buffet breakfast - nice selection of F&B (everything was yummy), and the view was amazing. I loved it. Check-out was smooth as well.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

In need of a serious renovation.

Posted Dec 16, 2017
Pros: Good location - that's about it.
Cons: Lift your game Rydges, there's tons of competition in Queenstown - if you renovated the rooms I might be back, I wouldn't consider it otherwise.
Walking into the lobby of the hotel, it looks like it's going to be a plush and 'funky' place to stay. Unfortunately the renovations seemed to have stopped there (I can't vouch for the bar upstairs as I didn't visit it). The guest rooms on the other hand obviously missed out on the renovations. The room (204) was very old and tired - if it was an airplane it would be sitting out in a desert graveyard. Very small room, bathroom bordering of revolting (horrible linoleum flooring), bits missing all over the place, chunks out of the furniture, unspeakably grotty carpet - you get the idea. As we had just come off a hiking trip we were prepared to accept the state of the room - however, if this was one of those 'once in a lifetime' trips, or a trip of special significance (like a honeymoon or anniversary) we would have been very displeased and disappointed. To top it all, we would go out during the day, arrive back mid afternoon only to find the room had not been cleaned - and when we complained we were given a lecture in hotel resource management (like it was our fault or something - really poor). One afternoon they tried to clean the room at 4:45 - we just got some more towels, couldn't be bothered being inconvenienced yet further after a big day out.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

could be better

Posted Dec 15, 2017
Nice but rooms need upgradation... bathroom fittings are quite old... the stay was comfortable though... lobby was quite chic but rooms in contrast looked like they are of a different hotel
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

trip to Queenstown

Posted Dec 11, 2017
Pros: Staff Elevator music
Cons: Bathroom !!!
Location: Too much to write - it is Queenstown, lake front
Wonderful location. Lovely staff and welcome. Very dated unit, especially the bathroom. Comfortable bed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Stunning Views and a very good breakfast

Posted Dec 10, 2017
Room was a little tired but the views were stunning and the breakfast was varied and plentiful