Ratings based on 2,088 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Port Macquarie

Renovation holiday from hell

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Pros: I have stayed at Rydges Lakeland Resort on a number of occasions mainly due to the fact that it has magnificent views and you can walk to town.
Cons: The staff, the rooms, the carpet, the parking, the laundry room ( only 4 washing machines for the entire hotel ).
Location: Location is fabulous and the views are magnificent. Shame the hotel does not match it's location.
Arrived to find hotel amidst renovations. Our rooms were old and tatty and not what I had booked. Our party was moved to rooms one floor up only to find that our new room stunk of cigarette smoke and my daughters room smelt like cat pee. Staff attempted to deodorise both rooms which resulted in my daughter suffering a reaction to the fumes, coughing and watery eyes. It was at this point that I demand that she and her partner be moved to a clean room. There was only one lift working and the foyer was covered in dust and building materials along with construction workers. The noise of the continual construction meant that you were forced to keep your doors and windows closed at all times. There was no dedicated parking for the hotel guests and what was available was on a first in first come basis and if there wasn't a parking space then we had to park our vehicle on the street. But what disappointed me the most was that during our entire stay at the Rydges not one of the staff members that we encountered were New Zealand or Mauri. The only time we experienced any of the wonderful Kiwi charm was if we struck up a conversation with one of the construction workers. Rydges would do well to remember that people come to NZ to experience and meet New Zealanders not foreigners from every other country but the one that they have chosen to visit. If I had known that the hotel was undergoing renovations I would not have booked our holiday there. There was no mention of it on the website.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel in desperate need of a revamp

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Overall pretty disappointed with this hotel, yes they are currently doing renovations but they have a long way to go to bring it up to standard. The room was very small, with very basic amenities. Not exactly the weekend I had hoped for.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from montreal

Bien situé.

Posted Sep 9, 2016
Très bel hôtel mais à déconseiller à court terme. Nous l'avions choisi parçe quil y avait un bain tourbillon. Mais on y fait des rénovations et le bain n'était pas disponible. Cette information aurait dû être présente sur le site Expédia. Par contr tout le reste était très bien: localisation, confort, etc.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from jafa nz

Awesome location

Posted Sep 4, 2016
Being done up but no noise noticeable. Central enough to town centre as easy walk to all queens towns sights etc, but without the centre's noise. Will stay again next year for sure
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Auckland

Awesome location, Horrendous noise.

Posted Sep 4, 2016
Location handy. Easy walk to town. Construction going on from 9am until 5pm. Was incredibly loud. You couldnt even be in the room between those times. Staff did what they could to ease this but you could hear it from every room. No pre warning. Dont stay until its completed unless you wont be in the room between those hours on weekdays anyway. When checking out at least they had the good sense not to ask how the stay was. They would have been aware of the response.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 1, 2016
Very excited about our stay but was a little disappointed by the tired look and feel of the place. Undergoing renovations during our stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Auckland

Poorly managed issues

Posted Aug 29, 2016
We turned up at 3pm and our room wasn't ready, when we got back at 6pm they had set the room up for 4 people, not 2. We chose the hotel as it had a heated pool and spa, when we turned up the pool facilities were out of action due to renovations going on around the hotel, with no mention on Expedia, the hotel website, or at reception when we checked in. When I raised this with them they offered complimentary breakfast, a bottle of wine and chocolates, but they never sent up the wine and choc. Then at breakfast he coffee machine wasn't working, so we went into town instead. I've stayed at Rydges before and it was great, they have really dropped the bar since then. I'd wait til the renovations are finished before even considering his place again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tahiti

Old

Posted Aug 11, 2016
Nobody to help for the luggage The beds were so old - not suitable The bathroom was ok. Need to be renovated
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Good location, a little pricey.

Posted Aug 9, 2016
We stayed one night at Rydges. The room was clean and comfortable. The shower lacked shampoo or conditioner. It was disappointing that the pool and whirlpool were out of service during our stay. The hotel has free baggage storage that we made use of, as checkout is 11 am. The continental breakfast buffet was expensive ($16 I believe), but coffee is free. Staff was helpful. Main floor rooms have a set of stairs that you have to bring luggage up without an elevator.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from southern California

Can't be upscale if basics aren't even there!

Posted Aug 6, 2016
Pros: appearance of lobby
Cons: See above: so much!
Location: fairly close to town
I booked Rydges Queenstown because the exterior looked so beautiful in the picture. I should have known, as with everything, looks can be deceiving. What follows is a list of the many things that were wrong with this hotel. We had left our luggage in a corner of the lobby amidst many other peoples' and took a long time to locate once we were assigned a room. In fact, upon returning from our tour, we were first given keys to one room, only to walk in and find other people were staying there, their luggage open and their beds messed up! We were then given a different room; Andrew, the front desk attendant, was very nice and seemed stumped as to what had gone wrong. Once in a room, the window was very drafty, and it was super cold outside; due to no bathroom fan. It took 2 hours for the steam to dissipate, and everything on the counter was soaked from the steam. There was mildew in a lot of the caulking around the tub, and the shower curtain blew all over your body when you were showering! Eew!!!! There were holes on the back of the bathroom door, but no hooks. Only one of the two flushers worked on the toilet. The newspapers in the lobby were all from 5-6 days prior. The lobby was beautiful. Only 2 items were offered for breakfast: continental for $16 or the full buffet for $25-$30. In summary, a hotel should not try to be a 4 or 5 star hotel offering a "spa", honor bar items, etc., when they haven't even attended first to the basics!