Ratings based on 2,211 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great views of the lake and mountains

Posted Aug 27, 2017
Enjoyed the stay very much. Relaxing and beautiful views
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Amazing view right in front of the lake

Posted Aug 24, 2017
The hotel was modern in reception and the restaurant/ bar. We stayed in the main part of the hotel (perfect view of the lake though) and can tell the rooms are quite older but they still maintain comfort and cleanliness. I think they are extending the top of the hotel and renovating. There is also rooms that seem to be added or updated and they look very up to date on the left side of the building. The only two things I could complain about is that there is no couch in the TV room (coming off the bedroom) instead 3 small armchairs so it wasn't very comfortable to watch TV. The other was the bathroom whilst still very clean and everything in working order is a bit out dated, I think they need a bigger vanity and having two basins instead of one. The bed was very comfortable and the heater worked a treat which is much needed in the winter although it would be good to have a heater in the bedroom instead of the tv room. Location is perfect- 10 minute walk or less to the city centre where there is so many great places to eat
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland

Wonderful views, great staff, great place to stay

Posted Aug 11, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: bathrooms need a tickle up
Location: all is close
You feel like you're in Switzerland with this hotel. The rooms are not overly modern but the views certainly make up for all that. The staff are attentive and anticipate your needs and jump in to help - I like that :). The newly refurbished restaurant and bar on the sixth floor are amazing.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from auckland

Rooms are small and bathrooms mouldy

Posted Aug 8, 2017
We paid a lot per night for a room that was tiny and nothing to write home about. The bathroom was old, mouldy and stained. The staff at front desk were nice but the room was not serviced on the first day. When we called to ask for at least fresh towels, they said we had left the sign out which we had not. There wasn't even milk at the coffee place at reception on our last morning there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland

We just love Queenstown. Our magic place.

Posted Aug 1, 2017
Pros: Very elegant and timeless.
Location: Bus stop right outside. Superb changing views of the lake. Nice flat five minute walk to wharf and township. Lots of activities for young and old.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Although freezing outside, tnside the hotel was lovely and warm. Loved our trip to Arrowtown. Ride up the gondola was great. Truly a magnificent place. Wish we could have stayed longer.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Christchurch

lovely foyer and most staff great

Posted Jul 21, 2017
Pros: The Foyer was lovely
Cons: Sound proofing the rooms
Location: Location is great can walk to town, and drying room was great
we could hear every word from the room next door, who came home at 2.28am and 4am, not the hotels fault but very odd to hear every word ( he won $457 at casino first night and got beaten by the blind on the 2nd night)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Sydney

close to the Lake, also short walk to city centre.

Posted Jul 19, 2017
Pros: the most comfortable bed in a hotel that I have ever slept in.
Location: The location was good. Close to the city centre and great view of the lake and mountains.
The hotel had a very nice lobby, clean and modern look to it. The room was more than adequate for a family of four given a king size bed and a double sofa. The king size bed was so comfortable. Great view of the lake from the window. The breakfast on level 6 was amazing. Great view, great selection of food. great service from the waitress.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland

Great view from our room but that's where it ended

Posted Jul 19, 2017
Pros: The view of the lake
Cons: Food operations at breakfast
We stayed here for four nights recently and have mixed reviews about this place. Room: We had a double room lakeside on the first floor (2xdouble beds). The hotel in general is looking rather tired and I believe there is a new part being built at the back. Overall the room was run down and needed a facelift. There was a bathroom with the usual except for a good extractor fan. Probably give the room a 2/5 Breakfast: Although very good and was included in the room rate, our first morning the "hot breakfast " was actually cold (buffet style), with the staff not turning on the heating elements. The second morning was way better after we told the staff the previous day. The third back to being slightly ok and the last day was ok. Overall the food on offer was great. Give them a 2/5 Dinner: We had one evening spare and tried the dinner, best part of our stay. Food and service fantastic 5/5 Key Cards: We had three issues with them not letting us in our room and had to get them reissued which was annoying Parking: Although free, being ski season everyone had a car! So parking was hit and miss. If you got to park outside you were lucky, we had to park 600mtrs down the road on 2 occasions. Overall we probably wouldn't stay here until the new upgrades were done, but believe there a few issues in certain departments that need addressing.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

The Views

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Great view of the lake and mountain. Good restaurant and bar.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Okay stay with great views and service

Posted Jun 29, 2017
Not to the same standard as other rydges hotels that i have stayed at. Small rooms and an even smaller shower in the small bathroom. Staff were great though.