Ratings based on 358 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NZ

Peace and quiet hotel

Posted May 16, 2017
I enjoyed my stay at the Shotover Lodge. Staff were friendly, room restocked and tidy, fresh towels. Quiet, surrounded by the beautiful mountains. The only issue was not having parking available close to your room. At times you would have to be back at the lodge early to get a better parking. Otherwise you would have your car parked along the entrance of the lodge. When you're meant to have it parked elsewhere. Other than that there we no other issues. Good for those that require other form of transportation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SYD

Nice place to stay at an affordable price

Posted May 4, 2017
Decent place to stay if you do not want to spend too much on accomodation. It's about a 10 minute drive into town which was convenient. It's also across the road from the onsen. The staff were nice and was always willing to help especially the receptionist in the dark/black hair (didn't catch his name but quite sure there was only one with dark hair) The only thing I could fault about this place was parking and Wifi. Parking was always an issue every night but we manage to squeeze into an awkward spot if we came back to the lodge late. Another issue was despite paying for a 5GB wifi login, my partner had only used it for a few hours before it reached the limit and I'm certain that it takes longer than that to use up 5GB worth of data. However, we spoke to the receptionist which they were happy to solve the issue. Overall, i was quite satisfied with my stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 4, 2017
Very nice hotel overall and for the price with free parking hard to beat even tough it is located a little ways out of Queenstown. We ended up hitting a road sealing crew and took more than 20 minutes to complete the anticipated 5-10 minute drive. Located very close to Arrowtown which is a cool little town where we ended up going for dinner. Probably cheaper and less crowded than Queenstown CBD.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel with good facilties

Posted Mar 25, 2017
Pros: We had prepaid so very easy on arrival, good parking, nice quiet environment, very good facilities
Cons: The main kitchen could be open earlier like 7.00 am, so the guest can make their breakfast and leave hotel earlier. Toilet Bathroom need better clean
Location: Nice close to city, handy in a quiet environment
Over all it was very nice experience, no hassle, nice friendly environment
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from B

Perfect location, clean and tidy

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Location is awesome since it's not in the heart of busy Queenstown. Great view of the mountains outside window. Everything was clean and tidy and big rooms!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from uk

Nice place

Posted Mar 3, 2017
Pros: Liked having our room serviced and towels changed daily. Also coffee tea etc replaced.
Cons: Would have liked shower gel as well as soap. Bedside tables please.
Location: 5 minster drive to queens town which has everything. Recommend Ferg burgers. Also Mrs Ferg ice cream
Originally allocated a ground floor apartment over looking the car park but we were changed to upper floor with beautiful mountain views. A Superb balcony with afternoon and evening sun let us relax with a bottle of wine and nibbles after a busy day in beautiful queens town. The room and good storage for clothes . The bed was comfy shower good and little kitchen adequate for us to have breakfast and a microwave meal. The communal kitchen and lounge area both big and we'll equipped. This motel has long stay guests as well as tourists so a good mix. Very peaceful in a location away from the backpackers in town.
4 out of 5
by David

Posted Feb 23, 2017 on Hotels
Quiet area -everyone friendly
5 out of 5
by Debra H.

Comfortable Stay in Perfect t Location

Posted Feb 21, 2017 on Hotels
My hushed and I enjoyed being a few miles away from the hustle and bustle of Queenstown. The setting was on the rolling hills with mountain views outside our window. While the room was not large, it fit everything including the kitchenette a small table and chairs and a small sofa. We were impressed by the additional option of a fully equipped shared common kitchen which we used one time during our 4-night stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice motel

Posted Feb 19, 2017
Pros: It was just out of town, didn't hear any noise. Facilities were ample.
Location: ice rink, paragliding, water skiing, jet boat, gondala, mountain bike riding, luge, shops, cinema pubs and food only a short drive away.
Had a very comfortable and quiet night for a large motel. There was a kitchen and lounge area for guests if they wanted to cook their own and mix.
4 out of 5
by Paula

Good views..

Posted Feb 8, 2017 on Hotels
Friendly staff.. Good views.. Adequate room for a couple of days.. A couple of things needed attention in the bathroom.. A lot of traffic noise..