Ratings based on 17 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney Australia

Perfect location and friendly hosts

Posted Dec 23, 2016
We really enjoyed our stay especially as it was so close to town. Our hosts were extremely helpful and even organised a private wine tour for us. Lovely rooms and libraries to have time out in
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Perfect Queenstown hotel

Posted Dec 9, 2016
Cons: The safes are located in the library and for convenience having it in our room would have been preferred.
A wonderful small boutique hotel very close to the town centre. Richard could not have been more helpful in booking us restaurants and activities.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Never answered the door.

Posted Nov 25, 2016
My wife and I tried to check into our room for over an hour. It was over an hour of calling the hotel front desk, the over night phone numbers given to us by other guests that were entering, and ringing the buzzer door. Place looked beautiful but unfortunately never made it inside.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Perfect location and meticulous hospitality

Posted Jul 30, 2016
Footsteps from the centre of town with a delicious free breakfast, free wifi, freshly baked cookies in our room and an endless supply of jelly beans at the front door. The hotel staff made my fiancé and I feel so welcome and nothing we asked was too much trouble. What more could you ask for. It was perfect.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Brisbane, Australia

Lovely staff, lovely hotel

Posted Apr 7, 2016
Pros: Everything
Wonderful stay at The Dairy - never been to Queenstown before but felt so welcome. The hotel is within easy reach of the town and only a few minutes walk to the Gondola as well. The hotel is very tastefully decorated and it immediately makes you feel as if you're at home. Breakfasts were yummy and the staff were so helpful and are genuinely interested in chatting. If you want a small, quiet and personable hotel then this is it - it has more of a luxury B&B feeling rather than one of the big hotel chains. No kids allowed!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

Comfortable base in Queenstown

Posted Feb 22, 2016
Pros: Comfort, hospitality, location, breakfasts
Location: Convenient to all of downtown Queenstown.
We stayed here for a night on either end of a Great Walks experience on the Milford and Routeborn Tracks. They were willing to store our luggage during the time we were gone, which was a real plus. The rooms are cozy and comfortable. Breakfast in the morning is first rate. When we returned after the hikes we were in desperate need to get laundry done; they did a simply fantastic job, getting our clothes back to us that evening, so we could depart early the following morning. Such gracious hosts. The lodging is conveniently (but quietly) within walking distance of the main attractions in central Queenstown as well as the gondola. Such gracious hosts! The Dairy Private Luxury Hotel's ranking among the top lodgings in Queenstown is certainly justified.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Larchmont, NY

Warm and welcoming inn steps from Main Street

Posted Jan 2, 2016
Pros: Very comfortable and has a personal touch.
Cons: The room is a wee bit tight and would be hard to stay for an extended period.
Location: The hotel is ideally located steps from both the main part of town and the gondola.
We stayed at the Dairy on New Years Eve after a four day hike of the Milford Track. The owner, Richard was very warm and welcoming upon our arrival. The hotel is more like an Inn with cozy public spaces. We enjoyed a proper tea in the lovely library which is furnished in deep seated leather couches. Afterwards we enjoyed a much needed soak in the hot tub. The "bar" is byob and soft drinks are available on the honor system. Breakfast is lavish and cooked to order.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic

Posted Apr 13, 2014
Excellent. The hotel was perfect. tha afternoon tea was superb
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

Might be the best hotel I've ever stayed in

Posted Feb 8, 2014
Pros: Everything!!!
Cons: Paul and Matt have really paid attention to detail. There's nothing I can recommend.
Location: Tons. Gondola. Downtown Queenstown is a two minute walk. Everything is there.
This was a FANTASTIC stay!!! Paul & Matt are superb hosts and I would recommend this hotel to anyone in a heartbeat. If you are worried about the price, rest assured that the stay is more than worth it. Added touches like the afternoon tea (scones and tarts), as well as the cooked breakfast will blow your socks off. We were thrilled with the attention to detail, such as a small flashlight and a power converter. Views were spectacular and you are steps from either the gondola or some very good restaurants. Highly recommended.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mike & Colleen from Queensland, Australia

FANTASTIC!!!

Posted Jul 3, 2013
Pros: The relaxing atmosphere and Matt and Paul's attention to detail.
Cons: Nothing concern us
Location: 5 minutes walk to town and Gondola
We have just recently spent 9 wonderful days at the Dairy an am planning to return soon. Nothing was too much trouble for Matt and Paul making our stay feel like home. Returning every afternoon to a warm fire and delicious afternoon tea.