Ratings based on 541 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from AZ

The perfect place to stay!!!

Posted May 25, 2017
Wonderful location, wonderful condition, surburb staff-
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice location on the river

Posted May 16, 2017
Pros: Modern hotel, beautiful view and amazing staff with smiles :-)
The staff is really amazing !! The staff in the restaurant is really perfect, the food is reallly great, the people at check in and driving the shuttle...OMG...what a treat with every each of them !!! The hotel itself is very modern and the location is great...not downtown but close and very quiet...and there is a complementary shuttle departing at the hour..perfect
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from qld

Hotel with incredible views

Posted May 15, 2017
We recently stayed here for five nights for our honeymoon in a two bedroom apartment. This hotel had the most incredible views over looking the mountains & lake. I swear it had to have been the hotel with the best view in all of Queenstown. As it was right on the lake you didnt overlook any roads or other hotels like I noticed the majority of other hotels did. The room was beautiful & up to date with a lovely warming fire place. The only thing I was a bit put off by was the lack of bathtub & the size of the bathroom. For a five star property you would think it was essential to have a large bathroom with a bathtub especially being in a colder climate where a bath would have been so nice. The property is also a fair way out of town I think they advertise it as a short walk but it is definitely close to an hour it is however a very picturesque walk & my husband & I did it numerous times. They also offer a free shuttle every hour that takes you in to town for those who are not keen walkers. Overall we had a fantastic stay & would love to visit this place again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oklahoma

Wonderful hotel with breathtaking views!

Posted May 5, 2017
Pros: Location, view, furnishings in room and soaking tub
Cons: Nothing
Location: Great walking trail accessible at foot of hotel to town. We enjoyed taking our time and taking photographs on our walks.
I can't think of a negative thing to say about our experience at the Rees. The hotel staff was extremely friendly and accommodating. We worked with a young man to book excursions and he was extremely pleasant and very helpful. The location was worth the view. We utilized both the walking trail (20-30 walk to town) as well as the hotel shuttle which runs on the hour and is very prompt - extremely convenient. Our room was great! Once again, the view was beautiful, modern design, amazing soaking tub with jets, very clean and a chocolate treat on your nightstand with turn down service. We would definitely recommend this charming hotel to any traveler and would certainly stay here again if we are lucky enough to travel to Queenstown in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 24, 2017
I love how they control the whole room temperature, the heated floors and heated towel rack!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful view of the water

Posted Apr 7, 2017
Pros: Location, easy to find, away from the sometimes noisy downtown.
Cons: Car park could have been a little more clearly explained.... yes you can park in front of the ply wood doors with numbers.
Location: Milford Sound, the gondola, downtown, mountain biking....
My wife and I book our stay at the Rees March 4-6, 2017 in md 2016, however the earthquake in Christchurch and up the coast near Kaikoura required us to fly rather drive a few legs of the trip. This had us arriving a day early. Even the Rees was pretty booked they managed to do some shuffling in order for us to stay the extra night. They also arranged a boat tour up Milford Sound. We drove ourselves up there, it's a very nice drive. Overall very pleased withe room and the staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Amazing quality for high end hotel

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Pros: The staff were great, the hotel rooms were great and the views were also spectacular, there is nothing we didn't like about this hotel
Cons: More frequent shuttles in and out of the city would be great - as well as complimentary shuttles to and from the airport!
Location: Location was amazing, halfway between the airport and the central town
Very approachable staff, that accommodated for all of our needs, as well as pristine hotel room quality - with every amenity you can think off - would definitely stay again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from L

Awesome experience

Posted Mar 19, 2017
I had an awesome experience in Queenstown with the help of the staff too. Everyone was soooo nice and respectful, from the front desk to the restaurant and the best shuttle drivers from day dot to the last minute. Thank you to your staff for their well done. #Proud Kiwi Living Abroad.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

Good overall experience

Posted Mar 19, 2017
Rooms were clean, good views, friendly warm and courteous staff. Overall we had a great experience staying at The Rees. Will surely be coming back and recommend your hotel to our family and friends.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Queenstown holiday

Posted Mar 18, 2017
Beautiful hotel a little out of town but free shuttle made up for it Staff service fantastic Dinner was great however breakfast buffet average Coffee station at reception great Will return and recommend