Ratings based on 150 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.9 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Honeymoon Dream

Posted Apr 27, 2016
Pros: Everything!
Location: The resort is secluded but you can taxi to a downtown area with some shopping. There's also a restaurant (we didn't try) that has a plane in it!
My husband and I stayed at Arenas del Mar for our honeymoon and couldn't have been happier with our stay. The room was beautiful and spacious, the location directly in the rainforest AND on the beach was unreal, & the staff was incredibly accommodating! The staff helped us book all of our excursions, we did a guided tour of the national park through them, and we did the tortilla making class on site; it was all so much fun! One thing I really loved about the resort was how knowledgeable and respectful they were of the animals and rainforest. We learned a lot about the animals we saw outside of our room and in the lobby area. The food was out of this world delicious. All of the fruit and drinks were so fresh and just exactly as you would imagine for Costa Rica. Our favorite drink was the Monkey Business. We even tried to recreate it and some of our favorite dishes when we got home. A few memorable parts of our trip worth mentioning: In the middle of our first night there I woke up to a loud noise. There was clearly an animal in our room and I started freaking out. My husband didn't believe me and didn't see anything until he heard it himself. It sounded like a monkey to me but turned out to be a tiny gecko! You'll see them all over. One night it poured down rain (in July), which kind of sucked, but it made the most beautiful lightning storm. We watched from the lobby as it lit up the whole sky.’ The private dinner is incredibly romantic. Do it!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Rochester, New York

Amazing Romantic Getaway

Posted Mar 27, 2016
Pros: The beaches, the views, the pools, the hotel staff, the restaurants, the location, the room accommodations, the monkeys, yes, monkeys!
Cons: This play is idyllic. Nothing needs to be improved.
Location: The location is next to a National park and the grounds are tropical. You can fish, snorkel, scuba dive, parasail, zip line, horseback riding.
This resort is one of the best kept secrets for that very special romantic getaway. Arena's deal Mar is located in a rainforest with two fabulous beaches on the property. The grounds are beautiful and picture post card views are visible as soon as you enter the lobby. The ocean views are stunning! The property is somewhat steep to walk but the staff picks you up in golf carts wherever you are on the grounds. There is wildlife everywhere (monkeys, iguanas, sloths) but the property is very safe. Excellent security, water is double filtered, and the property is eco friendly. No chlorine in the pools, they use ionization. Also use solar panels on property. The property is next to the National Park ranked among the 12 best in the world by Forbes magazine. The entire experience is amazing. Staff is super friendly and the food at the restaurants was top shelf. This is a getaway unlike any place we have traveled to. Highly Recommend for a special romantic getaway. https://www.tripadvisor.com/ShowUserReviews-g309274-d673363-r357950545-Arenas_del_Mar_Beachfront_and_Rainforest_Resort_Manuel_Antonio_Costa_Rica-Manuel_.html#
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nantwich, Cheshire

Nice hotel with rainforest and beach

Posted Jan 24, 2016
Can't really say a bad word about the place. The hotel and grounds are amazing, the staff are so friendly there's wildlife on your doorstep and the view is awesome. It's a great place if you are into doing all the activities that Costa Rica offers and great if you just want to chill out by the pool or a dip in the sea.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Outstanding!

Posted Nov 1, 2015
Pros: Everything-- see above.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Manuel Antonio Park, Mangrove Tour, small towns/shopping and restaurants.
We loved our 4-day stay at Arenas del Mar. The staff could not have been more friendly, helpful and accomodating. The facilities are top notch and luxurious, including a spacious balcony (superior room) and a 7-foot round shower. The setting is magnificent, with a commanding view of the beach, ocean and jungle. Access to the two beaches (small private one with restaurant; plus huge public beach which stretches for miles and is always uncrowded) was 24/7 because of golf carts and drivers always available and security kiosk manned around the clock. The breakfasts were exceptional and complete, and the other meals equally wonderful. The experience was beautiful, relaxing, and so friendly. Highly recommend.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great experience!

Posted Oct 5, 2015
Excellent hotel...the staff was super accommodating. We would definitely go back. Great experience!
5 out of 5
by daniel

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 2, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 25, 2015
Amazing honeymoon resort! I highly recommend! The staff were incredibly friendly, the views were spectacular, the concierge helped organize all the excursions, breakfast was included and it was delicious.
4 out of 5
by Felisa from Dallas

Most definitely pura vida!!

Posted Sep 16, 2015 on Hotels
Hotel service is exceptional! Beautiful place to stay w amazing views. Its not really a romantic place for couples since its kinda small and lots of families w children. Cant imagine going in high peak season when the small pools are full. But if you don't care then this is the perfect place. Bfst are the best and lots of choices.. lunch and dinner and drinks are pretty pricey thou. We did the whale tour which we absolutely loved and what a treat to see mama, papa and baby whale right up close!! Highlight of my trip! We also did the Los Campecinos tour w the hanging bridge and the amazing waterfalls. My husbands fave!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Room, great view of ocean

Posted Sep 15, 2015
Pros: Property and the view.
Cons: Bar service and restaurant menu could be improved. A free ride to the top of the hill once a day or on a schedule would be a nice amenity.
Location: Great beaches/surfing/nature park.
Love the property, super clean, nice room with a great view. (Full ocean view rooms)
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Amazing Experience!!!

Posted Sep 9, 2015
This hotel is an experience! It's very exotic and you are literally living amongst the wildlife. I saw 3 different monkeys, exotic birds, iguanas, lots of geicos, etc. no need to go to the rain forest if you stay here. The rooms are excellent, clean, and comfortable. We had the suite with the jacuzzi included (upgrade for free ;) we also stayed 1 night in an ocean view room which was amazing! The views and scenery are breathtaking!! The private beach was awesome, very relaxing and no one bothered us. Breakfast was good and the fruits are so fresh! We ate outside of the hotel for dinner and enjoyed Marlins the most. The staff is beyond amazing! Your wish is their command. You have to call the front desk to move around the property since it's literally in the rainforest but they always came right away and we never waited long for a ride. It's super quiet at night so not a place for noise or partying. It's definitely good for romance or a family trip with kids. I give this hotel a 4.7 overall rating. The only reason I wouldn't say a 5 is because I was kind of scared of the wildlife but the animals aren't aggressive at all. It's just a personal issue with me! Happy hour was nice too!!