Ratings based on 85 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San José, Costa Rica

Nice hotel in the middle of the jungle.

Posted Jan 16, 2017
In the middle of the jungle and next to the beach, you can listen the monkeys walking in the trees next to your room, so me of them enjoy the hotel's pool, the personnel is so friendly and the room so comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Excellent place to stay with Sports Bar, nice pool

Posted Nov 27, 2016
Pros: Sports Bar, pool tables, things are close by.
Cons: Somewhat dated and needs updating.
Excellent! Located right in the jungle with Monkeys and all sorts of animals.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 26, 2016 by Melissa, Hotel Management
Thank you for having stayed with us, we look forward to having you here again. Happy Holidays!!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 7, 2016
Overpriced bacon, we got charged $6 for 2 overcooked slices. Then got ignored by the waiter when we complained about it. The hotel looked much better in the pictures than it actually was.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from long beach, ca

Not worth the high price tag

Posted Feb 1, 2016
1st no elevators was an issue. Tons of steep steps to go anywhere. 2nd Room was motel 6 quality. Beds were hard as rocks. 3rd One little A/C unit for a big room. Never cooled the room. 4th There were only a few outlets in the room. Microwave that was provided only had 2 prongs plugged in. The Ground portion was bent off the outlet (Shock and Fire Hazard ) 5th Room was directly above bar area. Super loud and unpleasant to try to sleep. Wouldn't stay here again. Was not a bargain price. Check others in similar price range.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ottawa, Canada

Wonderful, comfortable stay close to Manuel Antoni

Posted Jan 12, 2016
Pros: Great location, welcoming and friendly staff
Location: Go to Falafel Bar!
We had a lovely stay at Byblos Resort! After experiencing a very disappointing booking elsewhere at Villas Jacquelina, we decided to relocate to Byblos and were pleasantly struck by how helpful and welcoming the staff were. Our room was private and spacious, with all the amenities. The location was only a 15 minute walk from the beach, and we found some delicious restaurants nearby. I would highly recommend Byblos to travelers!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Good tropical setting for hotel

Posted Dec 27, 2015
Pros: Nature and wildlife. Good air conditioning.
Cons: Upgrading of the premises. Larger TV, Being able to meet tourist needs at any time to provide necessities.
Location: Manual Antonio National Park, beaches, fishing, etc.
If you like nature, tropical plants and wildlife, this place has them. We saw more of both tropical plants and wildlife here than we did on tour of national forest, but Byblos has a lot to be desired. If you have problems walking steps, this place is not for you. The bungalow we stayed in was 68 steps up or down and pretty steep. The facility needs a lot of upgrading. The structure seems relatively old, although the grounds are well kept. The pool is constantly being cleared of all the leaves from plants. The rooms are very dark. They had an 18" TV and the remote signal won't reach the TV while lying in bed. They are very tight on room amenities, one wash clothe, 2 towels, bed linens changed every 3 days. We asked for toilet paper around 6 p.m. and was told everyone was gone and they could not get to it. Extra coffee if requested is also tight. The Bistro (restaurant) breakfast is very good. The dinner entrees we were not impressed at all. I would suggest any of the well known restaurants in the area for dinners rather than here. Especially El Avion, which was exceptional. All employees were very pleasant and helpful but that can't make up for the overall facility. ""
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice safe and cozy

Posted Oct 22, 2015
Pros: distance is close to manuel antonio and the beaches
Cons: construction made it look very unfinished
Location: bars nearby, Manuel Antonio very close by car.
REally nice rooms, there was construction in the front of the hotel, really dark at first upon arrival, however the rooms were clean, huge comfy beds and kind staff. Breakfast was good too. I enjoyed staying here! Very close to Manuel Antonio
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from M

Not very clean all over.

Posted Oct 3, 2015
Just not a nice hotel for the price. Location is not close to anything.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel and excellent staff

Posted Aug 17, 2015
Super friendly and attentive staff that made me and my girlfriend feel very welcomed. Rooms were big and really clean. Bathrooms were a bit outdated but fully functional with plenty of hot water. Breakfast was great, a fair amount of variety and really friendly staff that serve you with a smile. Speaking of, the breakfast area is next to the pool and bar downstairs from most of the rooms. On our last day, we were able to see a small monkey near the trees as it fed on fallen fruit. Pretty nice to see wildlife so close without having to pay to go to a national park. Location of Byblos was within a short walking distance to many of Manuel Antonio's restaurants. It would be a good idea to have a ride to go down to the beach or the other restaurants that are a bit further out of the way as the main road is situated on a hill that can get pretty steep at some parts. There is a sports bar right next door that looks like its part of the hotel but is its own establishment (Billfish Bar and Grill) that has two billiards tables, a fooseball table and a giant Jenga set that is free to use during the evening. Enjoyed our stay very much here and would highly recommend it to anyone planning a stay at Manuel Antonio.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 18, 2015
Overpriced Also didn't get hot water for shower Nice setting First day Oluver was heloful Overall experience/ below average considering the money tante as charges for the stay