Ratings based on 130 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Comfortable hotel in nature reserve near beach

Posted Aug 20, 2016
Pros: The atmosphere was relaxing. We could experience nature and the beach very easily!
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Beach, Manuel Antonio National Park, Nature Reserve at the hotel, restaurants
I stayed at the Gaia Hotel & Reserve with my partner. We had an excellent stay. Our personal concierge, Esteban, made sure our stay went smoothly. He welcomed us with fresh drinks when we arrived, showed us the ground and to our room. He checked on us daily (and not in an annoying or overwhelming manner), and told us about great activities. We went on a tour of the Manuel Antonio National Park with Josue, the hotel's naturalist. Amazing experience! We were so happy that Esteban suggested this trip to us. The pools were also very calming with breathtaking views of the Pacific. We spent time at the pool almost every day. The beach is also very close by; fewer than ten minutes driving and the hotel arranges a ride any time before 4. I would definitely stay here again!! Finally, the restaurant at the hotel, La Luna, served the most delicious meals but that is for another review!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Hotel in amazingly beautiful place

Posted Jul 19, 2016
Pros: friendly staff, location, food, quiet
Location: location is perfect - close to Manuel Antonio National Park, incredible beaches, couple of good restaurants and ~10 min drive to Quepos - small city
Hotel is on the hill surrounded by part of the rainforest, so it's really a place to be when someone wants to escape from the city noise; staff is very friendly and they all make sure you have all you need; there are also some activities organized in the hotel, but since I haven't tried any, I can't say it is worthy; food in the restaurant is really good and there is till 10 am breakfast included (fruits, coffee, home-made bread + several dishes to choose from); it's quite area, good for chilling, just at the hotel; my room had a table and chairs on terrace, so perfect for sitting outside and just relax
5 out of 5
by Matthew from George Town Cayman Islands

Truly relaxing experience with fantastic staff

Posted May 2, 2016 on Hotels
The staff really made this hotel. Nothing was too much trouble. The restaurant La Luna was fantastic, with a fine dining spin on Costa Rican cusine.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from texas

Outstanding adventure vacation base

Posted Apr 23, 2016
First time to Costa Rica, and if every place else is like Gaia I will be a regular visitor. The location was beautiful and the staff could not have been any more helpful. The reserve tour was incredible and better than any tour ivd ever been on in a national park as the guide seemingly knew every possible plant, animal, or fact you could imagine.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 19, 2016
It exceded our expectatives..very recomended for couples looking for relax
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

delightful oasis in Manuel Antonio

Posted Apr 16, 2016
Pros: great staff, lovely location, peaceful. Fantastic food.
Cons: the sofa beds in the suite could be more comfortable.
Location: the National Park is the main thing round here, with the beach as part of the park There is a public beach too, but worth going into the Park.
The food in this hotel is wonderful and they even have an excellent vegetarian menu. The staff were all friendly and helpful. The pool is charming with a bar so you can watch the sun set over the pacific with a cocktail in your hand, from the pool.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Tranquil getaway with spectacular views!

Posted Apr 11, 2016 on Hotels
We loved this unique boutique hotel. It was easy to get lost among the meandering pathways but there was always someone there to assist. The service was wonderful! They even upgraded us to a fantastic suite because our room's A/C was broken. This is the place to stay if you want to see/hear Scarlet Macaws. They feed them near the entrance to the property. The infinity pool had a fun vibe with waterfall.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Crystal Lake, IL

Best staff ever!

Posted Apr 8, 2016
Pros: We really enjoyed the dining room lounge area and the pool. We met some very friendly people by the pool by day and in the lounge at night.
Cons: The lighting in our room was temperamental.
Location: The beach was nearby and Gaia had regular transport to and from the beach all day. The resort itself is very private.
My husband and I stayed at Gaia for 5 nights and loved every minute. Our son joined us for 2 evenings during this stay and they were quite accommodating to him as well. The staff were so attentive, we really felt special. They treat you as if you are the most important person there. Our room was on the smaller side, but we truly didn't spend much time in there. The bathroom was state of the art! The bed was very comfortable, and when my son needed the pull out sofa, the staff put a full, regular mattress on it for him. They thought of everything.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Alberta, Canada

Great Staff, but not an Adult Only resort

Posted Apr 1, 2016
Pros: The staff and the location and the grounds. Scarlet Mcaws!
Cons: Don't claim to be adult only. Perhaps mention that there is an adult pool but the hotel is not adult only
Location: Good location, not walking distance to anything though. The taxis are cheap around $4-6 to Quepos or Manuel Antonio.
The staff were great very nice and pleasant, although kind of slow in the restaurant waiting for service and the check. We ordered a bottle of wine at each meal and refilled our own wine glass every time, not a big deal but it claims to be a 5 star and not cheap so we expected more service than your average place. The location is good in between Quepos and Manuel Antonio. Definitely not adult only. The only part that is adult only are 2 pools, and the 'adult' pools are 13 and over. The water in the pools run off the 'family' pool into the adult pool aslo they've built up a wall between the adult and family pools however you can still hear the kids. There will be children in the restaurant and the rest of the grounds. Nice place just know it is not adult only if that is a deciding factor on whether to book this hotel or not. We had a couples massage and we both would rate that service top notch.
5 out of 5
by Ewan

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 19, 2016 on Hotels