Ratings based on 61 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Magnificent hotel with beautiful views

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Pros: The rooms are very clean, the staff is on top of everything you need or want. The food was delicious.
Cons: I can't think of anything negative to say about our stay at Gaia.
Location: Manuel Antonio national park is very close by which has fabulous beaches. You can zip line, white water rafting, visit the waterfalls. Such a great pl
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Comfortable hotel in nature reserve near beach

Posted Aug 20, 2016
Pros: The atmosphere was relaxing. We could experience nature and the beach very easily!
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Beach, Manuel Antonio National Park, Nature Reserve at the hotel, restaurants
I stayed at the Gaia Hotel & Reserve with my partner. We had an excellent stay. Our personal concierge, Esteban, made sure our stay went smoothly. He welcomed us with fresh drinks when we arrived, showed us the ground and to our room. He checked on us daily (and not in an annoying or overwhelming manner), and told us about great activities. We went on a tour of the Manuel Antonio National Park with Josue, the hotel's naturalist. Amazing experience! We were so happy that Esteban suggested this trip to us. The pools were also very calming with breathtaking views of the Pacific. We spent time at the pool almost every day. The beach is also very close by; fewer than ten minutes driving and the hotel arranges a ride any time before 4. I would definitely stay here again!! Finally, the restaurant at the hotel, La Luna, served the most delicious meals but that is for another review!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Hotel in amazingly beautiful place

Posted Jul 19, 2016
Pros: friendly staff, location, food, quiet
Location: location is perfect - close to Manuel Antonio National Park, incredible beaches, couple of good restaurants and ~10 min drive to Quepos - small city
Hotel is on the hill surrounded by part of the rainforest, so it's really a place to be when someone wants to escape from the city noise; staff is very friendly and they all make sure you have all you need; there are also some activities organized in the hotel, but since I haven't tried any, I can't say it is worthy; food in the restaurant is really good and there is till 10 am breakfast included (fruits, coffee, home-made bread + several dishes to choose from); it's quite area, good for chilling, just at the hotel; my room had a table and chairs on terrace, so perfect for sitting outside and just relax
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from texas

Outstanding adventure vacation base

Posted Apr 23, 2016
First time to Costa Rica, and if every place else is like Gaia I will be a regular visitor. The location was beautiful and the staff could not have been any more helpful. The reserve tour was incredible and better than any tour ivd ever been on in a national park as the guide seemingly knew every possible plant, animal, or fact you could imagine.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 19, 2016
It exceded our expectatives..very recomended for couples looking for relax
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

delightful oasis in Manuel Antonio

Posted Apr 16, 2016
Pros: great staff, lovely location, peaceful. Fantastic food.
Cons: the sofa beds in the suite could be more comfortable.
Location: the National Park is the main thing round here, with the beach as part of the park There is a public beach too, but worth going into the Park.
The food in this hotel is wonderful and they even have an excellent vegetarian menu. The staff were all friendly and helpful. The pool is charming with a bar so you can watch the sun set over the pacific with a cocktail in your hand, from the pool.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Crystal Lake, IL

Best staff ever!

Posted Apr 8, 2016
Pros: We really enjoyed the dining room lounge area and the pool. We met some very friendly people by the pool by day and in the lounge at night.
Cons: The lighting in our room was temperamental.
Location: The beach was nearby and Gaia had regular transport to and from the beach all day. The resort itself is very private.
My husband and I stayed at Gaia for 5 nights and loved every minute. Our son joined us for 2 evenings during this stay and they were quite accommodating to him as well. The staff were so attentive, we really felt special. They treat you as if you are the most important person there. Our room was on the smaller side, but we truly didn't spend much time in there. The bathroom was state of the art! The bed was very comfortable, and when my son needed the pull out sofa, the staff put a full, regular mattress on it for him. They thought of everything.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Alberta, Canada

Great Staff, but not an Adult Only resort

Posted Apr 1, 2016
Pros: The staff and the location and the grounds. Scarlet Mcaws!
Cons: Don't claim to be adult only. Perhaps mention that there is an adult pool but the hotel is not adult only
Location: Good location, not walking distance to anything though. The taxis are cheap around $4-6 to Quepos or Manuel Antonio.
The staff were great very nice and pleasant, although kind of slow in the restaurant waiting for service and the check. We ordered a bottle of wine at each meal and refilled our own wine glass every time, not a big deal but it claims to be a 5 star and not cheap so we expected more service than your average place. The location is good in between Quepos and Manuel Antonio. Definitely not adult only. The only part that is adult only are 2 pools, and the 'adult' pools are 13 and over. The water in the pools run off the 'family' pool into the adult pool aslo they've built up a wall between the adult and family pools however you can still hear the kids. There will be children in the restaurant and the rest of the grounds. Nice place just know it is not adult only if that is a deciding factor on whether to book this hotel or not. We had a couples massage and we both would rate that service top notch.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Jacksonville, Fl

Beautiful hotel, excellent staff, 5 star dining

Posted Feb 7, 2016
Definitely will be back, perfectly small hotel in a beautiful location. The staff was amazing and the food was too! The included breakfast was delicious and gave you several choices along with fresh fruit everyday. Never had an empty glass at the pool. The property was beautiful, we saw macaws and monkeys daily!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, Texas

Best hotel EVER!

Posted Jan 31, 2016
Pros: service, staff, view, beds, showers, coffee, pools
Cons: not a thing!
My husband and I stayed here for our 10th anniversary and it was INCREDIBLE! I have never encountered such gracious and genuine hospitality as we received at Gaia. The property & facilities are flawless, and the food amazing. We actually extended our stay by two days because we enjoyed this hotel so much. (Thanks Roy!) This is the best hotel in the area, hands down.