Ratings based on 29 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Massachusetts

Beautiful views of quepos bay. Tucans visit often.

Posted Jan 12, 2017
Nice staff, secluded, good price. Views are amazing
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful view and wildlife. Empty pool

Posted Dec 26, 2016
We stayed in a beautiful view room and we saw monkeys and birds daily. The pool was being repaired and we were only able to use it on the last day of 5 day stay. I guess it will be fine now. We asked for an extra night free, as we had expected a pool. They gave us half price fir extra day which was still high. Staff were very nice. Would go back. If like to have the pool you should ask if its operating before hand.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Very nice rooms

Posted Oct 31, 2016
The hotel staff has an amazing customer service, they are really nice and helpful. The rooms are very big and nice. Super clean. Each room is separate from each other, so you feel like in your own place. Breakfast could be better.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from q

Do it!

Posted Oct 29, 2016
Pros: For a few extra bucks get the ocean view rooms it's well worth it- stunning sunsets and the staff is incredibly friendly. Bartender Cesar was very hospitable and the Edgar and the rest of the front desk staff made sure we felt at home.
Cons: Locks on the doors could have been better, but we we still felt safe and enjoyed our stay
Location: Very close to Manuel Antonio National Park but you get wildlife at your doorstep when you stay at this hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wimington, DE

Great location with ocean view

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Pros: The view, quiet location , nice spacious room and staff
Location: Clearly you need a car to get there - with the car everything is about 10 + minutes drive away. Shopping , city centers, the park .
The hotel is located off the main road of Manuel Antonio in a quiet spot with a lovely outside sitting lounge, nice pool and great restaurant location overseeing the pool and the ocean. Very friendly staff and good food + happy hour (buy one get one free) every day !!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 3, 2016 by HotelCalifornia, Hotel Management
Thank you so much @Revital. We are so happy you enjoyed your time with us. Come back soon!
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver

Average hotel to spend the night

Posted Apr 6, 2016
Would only recommend when rooms are on sale. No shade around pool. Breakfasts good. Had to move from one room to another - air conditioner too small to cool room. Not a place to hang out. Access to hotel was by a rocky, dusty road. Signage almost hidden. Bar and restaurant not always open.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 9, 2016 by Mrs. Dupek Suka , Hotel Management
Thanks, we are taking this in consideration for the future of our hotel. We recently changed management and we take very serious this comments so we can improve in the future and give the best service possible.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from fort frances ont

Nice quiet place with toucans

Posted Feb 20, 2016
Nice stay! Quiet and comfy! Good breakfast. Great small pool!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 3, 2016 by HotelCalifornia, Hotel Management
You are so sweet Jeff. Thanks for choosing us. We really hope to see youo again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful view, wonderful owner.

Posted Dec 24, 2015
The hotel is a high end three, large enough to have a varied staff but small enough that the owner herself is often present. Meet her if you can, she brings the "California" part in a big way. The hotel is tucked away a few hundred yards off of the main road, which makes a surprisingly big difference in terms of feeling isolated. The whole area is a major tourist zone base for Manuel Antonios National Park and can feel really crowded, which Hotel California escapes entirely. I will definitely stay there again when I'm back this way.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

very nice hotel

Posted Sep 14, 2015
Pros: location
It is a cute hotel, close enough from everything but located in a quiet spot.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, between Quepos and Manuel Antonio

Posted Aug 30, 2015
Pros: The food was so healthy! Breakfasts: eggs, pinto gallo (rice and beans) tortillas, friend plantains, juices; best hamburgers ever; great dinners too!
Cons: Not a thing!
Location: There's an inexpensive local public bus that runs between Quepos (2 miles away) and Manuel Antonio Park (6 miles the other way) - a 1/4 mi. walk away.
We loved this hotel! Although there is a little walk up a gravel road from the local bus, it's so worth it! The staff were wonderful, spoke English well, aimed to please, very accommodating to our needs; delightful pool and restaurant/bar poolside. Location was great, food was great, atmosphere and surroundings were wonderful. Visited daily by many birds and some large groups of monkeys traveling through the neighborhood. Would love to go there again!