Ratings based on 186 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from seattle Wa

Great Hotel and very hospitable staff

Posted May 27, 2017
San bada is 3 min from the beach and 1 min, walking, to the Manuel antonio national park. Me and 4 of my friends came during the off season so there were not many other patrons. However the staff was 100% providing us with food and drinks and responding to requests. I would recommend anyone, from young travelers, to families, to retireees to stay at the San bada.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Perfect Location

Posted May 22, 2017
Pros: Location and staff was excellent
Cons: Everything was perfect. I wish we could stay longer.
Location: This hotel is at the entrance of the park
We arrived at noon and they checked us in right away. We had a wonderful lunch at Congo's at the hotel. The burger was delicious and our waiter was very welcoming and informative. This hotel is located at the entrance of Manual Antonio Park. We stayed 2 nights and it was very relaxing. The beach is a 3 minute walk from hotel. The roof pool and bar was wonderful. Sushi served from 2 to 10 p.m. and it was outstanding.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

PERFECT LOCATION

Posted May 18, 2017
Pros: Loved the staff as they were so helpful and very nice.
Cons: Nothing needs approved.
Location: This hotel is at the entrance of Manuel Antonio State Park. You can purchase tickets at the hotel and no need for a guide. Perfect location.
EXCELLENT LOCATION, staff is awesome. Walk to beach is minutes away. Rooftop pool is very nice and sushi is served daily from 2-10 p.m. and is delicious. Definitely coming back on my next trip to Costa Rica.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Location!! Great Breakfast

Posted May 18, 2017
Nice place to stay! Drinks a bit on the expensive side! But overall great time. Also great little tunnel shortcut that makes trip to public side of the beach easier
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Ottawa Canada

Good location, excellent service.

Posted Mar 12, 2017
Pros: The staff and the location, in that order.
Cons: Be watchful for musty smells and do prompt corrective action when observed.
Location: The hotel entrance is at the entrance to Manuel Antonio Park. The public beach is a 5 minute walk from the hotel.
Arrived at the hotel at 1:30 pm. The staff gave us a room at that time even though check in is 3:00pm. The first room had a musty smell, likely caused by high atmospheric humidity levels. Jeffery provided a different room when advised of the smell. The 2nd room was excellent. Francisco and his co-workers were very helpful to arrange park and mangrove tours. All the staff we encountered were very friendly and helpful and made the stay very enjoyable. I would stay at this hotel if returning to the area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MN

Great Staff

Posted Feb 22, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: Staff, location, both pools
Cons: Small details about hotel maintenance.
Location: A lot of stuff to do in the area. We did a lot of tours, fishing etc, but there were still some activities that we didn't do.
Staff were the best part about San Bada. The location is nice as it sits on level ground which almost all properties nearby do not. Emelio was the best employee. All staff were very good, but Emelio was awesome. The property has lots of little things that should be done as basic upkeep. On the plus side, we did see some of the issues being addressed while we were there. New pain on the hotel, new covers for the poolside awnings. The beach nearby is ok at best. But, none of the hotels in the area have their own beach per se. San Bada was the nicest hotel we saw near a beach. There were some nicer hotels nearby, but they were built on the side of the mountain and you were stuck with a pool and lots of stairs and then you would have to drive to a beach. We traveled with another couple and no kids. I want to take my kids, but I am not sure any if Quepos is really a child friendly area. I saw child friendly in that I don't know there is enough to keep them occupied for a week. Maybe San Bada staff can reply, do they have any two-bedroom suites or adjouning rooms if I did bring my kids we could stay in? It seemed most people staying on this property were Caravan tours that were in and out in one day. It didn't bother me at all, just seemed odd there were not more people like us who stayed there the entire week.
5 out of 5
by Richard

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 17, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from nc

nice hotel with great location

Posted Dec 27, 2016
Pros: location, amenities, suite was very spacious/well-appointed
Cons: nothing. was excellent
Location: beach is a 5 minute walk away. manuel antonio park is steps away.
spent 2 nights with my husband and kids (age 9 & 11) in dec 2016. were upgraded to a beautiful, spacious suite with great views of manuel antonio and the beach. very easy access to the beach. nice restaurant with very reasonable prices. also, steps away from entrance to manuel antonio. very friendly responsive staff. wonderful experience!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Fairly good location right at Maunuel Antonio Park

Posted Dec 17, 2016
Pressure washer motor sound all day, during second day of visit. Jacuzzi doesn't really work (solar, but doesn't generate much heat). Fitness room lacking. No view of anything from balcony. Staff was nice though, and complementary breakfast was filling.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful convenient hotel - rooftop bar closed!

Posted Dec 7, 2016 on Hotels
Manuel Antonio is an amazing area and the park is one of the most fun places I have been. This hotel is located right outside the gates to the park and just a five minute walk to the beach. Based on what I saw in the area this is probably the best hotel to stay at. The property is very nice and the staff is very friendly. There are some caveats, I paid extra to book the premium room with partial ocean views. I'm reality this was a jungle view room, you are below the tree line and will not see the ocean at all. It was a nice room but the view was not what I paid for. Also the hotel placed me in a room next to a family with two very young babies, and I learned the hard way that these rooms are far from soundproof. Luckily there was plenty to do in the area so my room was not my focus, but waking up to the sounds of shrieking babies is never pleasant. Also be aware, a big selling point for this hotel was the rooftop bar and adults only rooftop pool. What the hotel failed to inform us about was the fact that the bar is under renovation so the bar is not functioning and trying to relax by the pool is accompanied by the endless sounds of power tools. Also enjoyed dinner at the Congo restaurant located right on site, very delicious and affordable. Overall I would say this is a very nice hotel, it was unfortunate some of the main selling points ended up not actually being true but next time I am in Manuel Antonio I would likely stay here and hope these issues are addressed.