Ratings based on 74 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from nc

nice hotel with great location

Posted Dec 27, 2016
Pros: location, amenities, suite was very spacious/well-appointed
Cons: nothing. was excellent
Location: beach is a 5 minute walk away. manuel antonio park is steps away.
spent 2 nights with my husband and kids (age 9 & 11) in dec 2016. were upgraded to a beautiful, spacious suite with great views of manuel antonio and the beach. very easy access to the beach. nice restaurant with very reasonable prices. also, steps away from entrance to manuel antonio. very friendly responsive staff. wonderful experience!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Fairly good location right at Maunuel Antonio Park

Posted Dec 17, 2016
Pressure washer motor sound all day, during second day of visit. Jacuzzi doesn't really work (solar, but doesn't generate much heat). Fitness room lacking. No view of anything from balcony. Staff was nice though, and complementary breakfast was filling.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Closest hotel to Manuel Antonio National Park

Posted Nov 24, 2016
Pros: Location to the park
Cons: Update the entire facility, from painting the exterior to fixing the sidewalks. Very dated
Location: Great location to the park and to the beach. The town of Manuel Antonio is very cute with good restaurants and a nice beach
You couldn't get much closer to the Manuel Antonio National Park which is the main reason people visit here. The hotel however, is getting tired and needs a major redo. The pool area is not inviting and the food is just okay. On the pro side, the staff was very helpful and pleasant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Can't stay closer to Manuel Antonio!

Posted Nov 17, 2016
Pros: The open air nature of the common areas was wonderful. The design and style were consistently integrated into each aspect of the hotel.
Location: You can't stay closer to the park and the beach is a short stroll. Many of the other activities available in the area can be booked in the lobby.
This hotel strikes a wonderful balance between style, comfort, location and hospitality. Let's start with the Howler Monkeys in the trees just off the balcony.... this sound is the center piece in the predawn jungle. And the large iguana that spent the afternoons on a sunny branch or the birds and beautiful butterflys and moths. Then there was the room... it was inviting and attractive and comfortable. This room and hotel would make me smile in any location, but in such proximity to Manuel Antonio or the Beach, it was perfect. The hotel staff were pleasant, good natured and helpful. Each of them that I had contact with, would in subsequent meetings greet me by name and ask specific questions about the activities of our day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cleveland, United States of America

Close to a Manuel Antonio Park

Posted Oct 27, 2016
Location: It is a little hard to find but worth the venture.
We only stayed one night and we were very pleased. We did not use any amenities at the hotel except the restaurant and it was very good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

Great Hotel in a Great Location!

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Hotel has a wonderful breakfast bar, great pool (hot tub is only hot if the sun can charge the solar batteries, it is a green hotel after all), and is wonderfully situated to the National Park. Furthermore, the front desk handled all of our travel to and from the airport, as well as to all the excursions. And here's (almost) the best part that no one mentions - the hotel has a generator! Which came in handy during power outages twice for us during our stay. Great Hotel with a wonderful front office staff!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

won't go back

Posted Oct 3, 2016
Pros: nothing
Cons: a lot needs to be cleaned up to much garbage laying around need to care more about their property
Location: beach and stores and the national park
The staff at the front desk was good there was a lot of garbage behind the hotel along the walk to the beach . there was a lot of building material on the Floors of the hotel and boxes . the hotel looked ran down and the pictures on the pamphlet is not correct . I would not return to this hotel it could be a nice hotel but they need to clean it up and get staff that care about their visitors at least say Hi when walking past someone .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Staff Went the Extra Mile

Posted Aug 10, 2016
Pros: Proximity to the national park and the fruity welcome drink
We began our stay by being diverted into a king room when our family of four had reserved two queens. The hotel staff went out of their way to make our stay more enjoyable and - without prodding from us - relocated us into a full suite the next night (a big surprise and huge treat). The suite was beautiful but the staff's commitment to our happiness was the biggest impact for me. Thank you to Francisco at the front desk for going out of the way to brighten our vacation - we are very grateful!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 12, 2016 by Jason Rivas, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you for choosing Hotel San Bada Resort & Spa for your holidays. What a nice feeling when we know that our guests had an amazing experience with our services and facilities. Thanks for highlighting the friendliness of our staff, specially those you mentioned. Your comment has been shared with them. Our entire team will be pleased to welcome you back soon. Best regards, Jason Rivas
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The hotel was fine but had a few issues

Posted Aug 5, 2016
The hotel was fine with no major issues. I normally do not do reviews but this is more of a warning! They ran out of beach towels every day and I had a few minor plumbing issues. The plumbing was repaired the next day. My main concern is the Public beach nearby. The nearby vendors recklessly operate their business with very little regard to public safety. My son was seriously injured by the Parasailing vendors. There is no designated area for them to operate so all beach goers are in danger. Their was a rope under the water which is not visible, so when the boat 200 yards out in bay takes off the rope comes out of nowhere. My son received severe rope burns on his back. He also received burns on his knee and foot. Aside from my sons pain, the worst part was the vendor’s attitude when i brought it to their attention. I literally had to ask for an apology. The local lady from beach who rented the beach chairs said it happened all the time. The hotel acted somewhat concerned but said there was nothing they can do about it because it was public beach. It was the same parasailing vendor that is in some of their promotional photos.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 12, 2016 by Jason Rivas, Hotel Management
Dear guest! On behalf of the entire Staff of Hotel San Bada Resort & Spa we thank you for choosing us for your vacations. I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is very important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future. We sorry about your son, but as you may know, they are a third company and we have no control on their operation. The day it happened we bought an ointment for your son, but when it got here, you have left the hotel already.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

Excellent hotel in Manual Antonio

Posted Aug 5, 2016
Excellent hotel right at the entrance of Manual Antonio national park. Beach is also just few steps away. Rooms were large and modern looking. Views to see are restricted from rooms due to vegetation but from 6th floor , you can have great views. Great breakfast. Will definitely recommend.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 12, 2016 by Jason Rivas, Hotel Management
Dear guest, We are very happy to know that you had such a nice stay in our beautiful property. In San Bada it is our main goal to make our guests have an unforgettable and enjoyable holidays. We remain at your disposal in case you need assistance with the next booking.