Ratings based on 55 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

A 5 min walk to the beach.

Posted Jan 22, 2017
Staff was very accommodating! Room was large. Couches had a lot to be desired.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice stay overall

Posted Nov 28, 2016 on Hotels
Overall, it was a nice stay. Staff was very helpful. The breakfast at the hill-top El Faro hotel was fantastic. The room was large but slightly outdated (old mattress outside the room, broken sofa bed, TV had a really bad reception). I would recommend it for the price, location and service.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 11, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from VA

Best Stuff and clean room

Posted Aug 22, 2016
I stayed with my family in the master suit and it was so big and clean! The hotel is one block to the best beach spot. You get a golf car ride to breakfast. The best of all, the stuffs are great!!! We had a great stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston

Great location

Posted Jul 26, 2016
Simple hotel with a great staff in an excellent location.
3 out of 5
by Javier from san Jose

Nice place

Posted Jul 26, 2016 on Hotels
it was a nice place, but the parking lot only holds 3 cars, which they are all in each other's way, so it hard to get in or out, they have another near at 50 mts, but you can get wet if it is raining. Bathroom, the lid could not be closed. They were making big work on part of the building, so it was noise during the morning, which was a lot of noise to be on the pool. Door very hard to close, needs a bit more attention to details, but a nice place, good price
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Perfect beach location just off the main drag

Posted Jun 6, 2016
Cons: Thoroughly clean the AC unit and replace the air filter. Add screen doors to allow fresh air.
Location: This hotel is right next to the beautiful Manuel Antonio National Park, with hiking trails and several wonderful beaches.
This hotel is at the end of the Manuel Antonio bus route, which makes it ideal to get to from San Jose if you're not familiar with the area. The hotel isn't where it's indicated on Google Maps, which is confusing. You have to walk a couple blocks in off the beachfront toward the national park to find it. It's in a perfect location though, away from the crowded main street but within an easy walk to the beach. Lots of fun places to eat very nearby, and many more within a short bus ride up the road. The hotel itself is very nice, clean, well taken care of. The one problem was that the AC unit was very poorly maintained and smelled HORRIBLE. Turn it off right away or you will not be able to stay in the room!!! Leaving the doors open and the fan on helped but then the mosquitoes were a problem. Screen doors would be a big improvement. Aside from that, everything was good. The bedding and towels were fresh and nice, everything was clean. The hotel staff were very helpful. I'd stay here again!
4 out of 5
by Meredith from florida

family trip

Posted Apr 6, 2015 on Hotels
we had a wonderful 5 night stay! The manager upgraded us to a big apartment style room so we had room to spread out. The hotel is one block from the entrance to Manuel Antonio and there were numerous shops, restaurants and beaches within a 5 minute walk. Cannot say enough about how positive our experience was!!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 30, 2015
Terrible breakfast, dirty silverware and plates. Dirty and very small pool, very uncomfortable parking space. Our room was connected with the next one by a door, so we could hear everything. The staff tryed to go inside our room to clean and didn't knock. We wouldn't recommend it.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Richmond, BC

Posted Mar 25, 2015
Nice location, and very authentic. However the rooms were quite dated and could use a little updating considering the price that was paid.