Ratings based on 248 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Great view from the room, and dinning area. Bird watched from the dinning area every morning. The staff is great and was eager to help with anything you need.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Highlight of our trip

Posted Jan 29, 2017
Spent 9 days travelling the south pacific coast from Jaco down to Golfito. Issimo was by far our highlight of the trip. Very clean & the pool was so relaxing. Since its relatively small...no crowds & NO KIDS!:) A pair of mocaws landed in a tree building a nest right off the end of the pool where we watched them for hours. A short walk down to a secluded beach. Take as little with you so you can rent a beach chair & umbella. Rent a paddle board or kayak & paddle out to snorkle. The staff will tell you details. I would live to go back here
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from California & Wisconsin

Wonderful boutique hotel in a great location.

Posted Jan 22, 2017
Pros: It was nice they had a massage therapist on duty everyday which we both took advantage. They arranged all our tours which was very convenient.
Location: It was very convenient especially if you have a car.
My daughter and I enjoyed a relaxing and comfortable week here at this adult friendly hotel. The staff was excellent - always friendly and helpful. Speaking excellent English was a plus. The restaurant was wonderful with surberb food - the inclusive breakfast was large and lovingly prepared. We won't forget the beautiful views of the ocean, wildlife and sunsets from our table.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY

Small, Upscale Hotel

Posted Jan 18, 2017
Good hotel with personal service. The staff are the best part of staying at this hotel, along with the ocean view. Was a little small, not much to do unless you rent a car.
5 out of 5
by Bryan

Amazing views and service

Posted Jan 14, 2017 on Hotels
Incredible service and incredible views. Very friendly and accommodating staff. Wifi was there. It didn't work....but that's fine. You don't need it here. :)
5 out of 5
by Simon-Pierre

Posted Jan 13, 2017 on Hotels
We had an amazing stay here. The best part of our tour around Costa Rica. Superb service, gorgeous view and luxurious experience.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 30, 2016 on Hotels
Very nice, friendly personnel .
5 out of 5
by melanie

Just as pictured

Posted Dec 25, 2016 on Hotels
Great stay, wonderful staff, beautiful rainforests.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

It's okay

Posted Dec 17, 2016
Pros: The views are great no doubt.
Cons: The staff seemed unlively
Location: Lots of cool places to see nearby and to eat at.
We stayed here for two days during our honeymoon. I wish I could have picked a different place to stay at for the same kind of money. The room itself was very humid and the sheets and bed felt wet. The entire time the windows were completely fogged up.The resort itself seemed a bit deserted and lonely.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Southern NJ

Adults only private setting and lovely views

Posted Dec 8, 2016
Pros: The hotel was 5 star for Costa Rica - fresh bedding and folded our towels in hearts and swans! The staff were professional & helpful
Cons: More communication on area attractions. We found the book on the desk mid-week but had already figured out what we wanted off the Internet.
Location: Nauyaka Waterfalls on Horseback - 1 hour away, Manual Antonio Wildlife Refuge and beaches 20 min. Walk to private beach and town 10 - 20 minutes each
We enjoyed our stay at Issimo and very happy to have found this little treasure among all the hotels in Costa Rica. Very private on a dead end street with a private beach within 10 minutes and another public tourist beach within a 20 minute walk with access to all of Manual Antonio tourist attractions. We loved our private road, the quiet peaceful area and the wildlife that we enjoyed everyday from our room deck and the restaurant and pool area. We had monkeys most every day visit the morning breakfast or around in the afternoon. Lizards sunning on the pool deck and the privacy of an adults only spa where we were the only ones in the pool and sometimes in the restaurant. We chose the end of the winter/rainy season which is a nice time because the high most days was 80 overcast and sun occasional sun but comfortable enough for those of us who are not used to extreme heat. We did the Nauyaka Waterfalls on horseback booked through Jade Tours (a really favorite experience for both of us and very easy 1 hour drive all arranged by Jade). The family fed us on the way up and on the way back with fabulous home prepared meals and while at their lovely campsite we had a toucan visit us and enjoyed the Macalls as well. We took the guided tour through Manual Antonio Wildlife Park and really loved the beaches you can only access via the park - the monkeys tried to take our stuff so be mindful of those little thieves but you will really enjoy the beautiful beaches inside the park.