Ratings based on 460 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NJ

Beautiful location!

Posted Feb 23, 2017
Friendly staff. Service could be improved. Beautiful location. We had a nice very nice and clean room. Some minor problems with small ants, however not very disturbing. I guess you can expect this in a tropical climate. Pool area nice but starts to be outdated. Overall we had good experience and would considering going back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fabulous room with amazing views.

Posted Feb 19, 2017
Great location with lots of restaurants within walking distance. Breakfast with tasty selections of fresh fruits and cooked to order eggs were amazing. The only thing that needs improvement is the WiFi. Only dependable place was near the lobby or at the restaurant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pocono's PA

Beautiful hotel and views

Posted Feb 19, 2017
Pros: The Views
Cons: Cleaner pool, due to tree leaves.
Location: Restaurant next door. Beach in driving distance.
We had the most beautiful room. Great views. Pool was fantastic. Breakfast was great. Saw lots of monkeys. No access to beach, but that was fine for us. Drive to beach.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Very nice hotel near beach

Posted Feb 18, 2017
Great place and staff fantastic. Best sunsets over the Pacific I've ever seen. A long walk to the beach but hotel shuttle or local bus works fine.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Cons: Hot water
Location: A few good restaurants but not much else.
The hot water would shut off at busy times. The view and sunsets were amazing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Carmel, IN

Beautiful views and good location

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Beds are very hard.
Location: Manual Antonio national park, beaches, shopping, restaurants that are walkable
We spent 4 nights at this hotel and were overall pleased with the stay. The hotel is set up high with a beautiful view of the ocean. It had a nice pool with the same views. The room we had was a bit sparse compared to the other hotels we stayed at in Costa Rica for the price. My guess is the location must drive the price up. The beds were way too hard for us and the door was hard to get closed but everything else was fine. The hotel is very clean and the service is friendly. A breakfast buffet is included which is nice and there is an elevator! I liked being able to walk about half a block and get to some shopping and about 4 restaurants which were all good. They also had a shuttle to the beach and the area near the Manual Antonio park.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This was a horrible experience!

Posted Jan 27, 2017
I would never stay here again. The A/C unit broke and there were bugs everywhere. The staff didn't care. They aren't vegan friendly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 31, 2017 by Manfred Arias | Sales Office, Hotel Management
Thank you for your comment. We would like to have more details about your stay with us at La Mariposa in order to find what exactly happened and how we managed the situation. Please provide us your full name and room number. We look forward to hear back from you. Respectfully,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX.

Great view !

Posted Jan 25, 2017
Pros: view
Cons: mattresses where to hard
Location: we did para- sailing, river rafting, ATV jungle tour, zip lining, catamaran, swimming in ocean and pool side as well as gambling and some shopping.
The hotel has a fantastic view of the ocean and surrounding jungle, the hotel staff was great, especially the breakfast crew. I would recommend this place to family and friends and hope to go back soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nj

Posted Jan 25, 2017
Friendly staff , amazing view from the rooms and the pools. We even had a few monkeys that stopped for a visit. It was nice to have breakfast available at the hotel. Many Restaurants and beaches near by but definitely bring walking shoes the area has steep hills.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Escazu, Costa Rica

Nice hotel great views great pool area

Posted Jan 15, 2017
We enjoyed a lot the views and the pool area! Nice staff all very friendly