Ratings based on 475 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best view around!

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Absolutely perfect for our honeymoon - they booked us cheaper and smaller group select excursions and packages from the front desk. Unbelievable views!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas

Classic hotel. Classic hospitality.

Posted Mar 18, 2017
We are big fans of this classic and inimitable Manuel Antonio hotel, for location, service and authentic Costa Rican experience. Breakfast on the terrace overlooking the Pacific is the only way to begin a day of touring or relaxing on the nearby beaches.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Baltimore, MD

Spectacular setting high above the Pacific!

Posted Mar 16, 2017
Pros: The setting. The staff. The pool areas. The views!!!
Cons: Details like those listed above.
Location: listed above...
The spectacular setting made this charming hotel a winner for us. The views from our "Premium Ocean View" room were just that: premium! We found ourselves overlooking minor comfort and maintenance issues (such as no interior chairs to sit on, no drawers for storage, loose towel fixtures, a handheld shower head that wouldn't stay put in its holder, 18 hours with no hot water, minor construction noise every day from a construction project right below our room) because the setting was so beautiful and the views from our room (and huge balcony!) and from hotel public spaces were so spectacular. Staff was universally warm, friendly and accommodating. Wildlife came right onto the hotel property with dozens of monkeys, beautiful birds and even a Scarlet Macaw showing up every single of our 7 days. We did several hotel-arranged excursions: whitewater rafting, zip-lining and a guided tour of Manuel Antonio National Park - and all of them were wonderful experiences with professional and informed guides. The hotel has clearly lined up superior local folks who can be trusted to show you a great time. Food was decent enough, though we didn't eat there for dinner, only breakfast (provided), snacks and lunch. Location is great: very easy walking distance to numerous restaurants, grocery store, convenience store, liquor/wine store and small shops. We would most definitely stay here again on our next trip to Costa Rica! It's warm and inviting and feels like home!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to restaurants and bara

Posted Mar 14, 2017
We used hotel for our 2 days of fishing. At night there were good restaurants within walking distance. The breakfast at hotel was excellent. Our final night we had dinner at hotel which was great. Lots of wildlife around hotel. We would definitely stay here again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, beautiful location, needs an update...

Posted Mar 7, 2017
Pros: Hotel staff were all friendly and accommodating, especially Marco at the main pool bar.The included breakfast was very good and plentiful.
Cons: Fix the nonexistent air conditioning. Upgrade the rooms.
Location: Definitely hire a guide for Manuel Antonio National Park. We booked through the hotel and had an awesome guide, Leo.
Spent three nights at La Mariposa. Overall, an acceptable experience. Hotel has a great location, beautiful views, nicely manicured and pleasing grounds. It was great to watch and hear the wildlife - monkeys and birds - while relaxing in the infinity pool. This resort, particularly the guestrooms, are in dire need of an upgrade. Our room, although it had an awesome ocean view, was like a throwback to the 1970's. The walls were concrete block, painted white in the room and black, yes BLACK in the bathroom and shower. Weird. There was no artwork on the walls to add character and break up the monotonous concrete block walls. Faux suede draperies covered the sliding patio doors. This room was harsh and uninviting, and did not make me feel at all like I was in a tropical paradise. The worst part of the room was that the air conditioning was pitiful. We asked for maintenance, and were told it was checked and working properly. Even thought the thermostat was set at 65F, I'd guess it didn't get much below 80F. Miserable. They did offer us another room, but it did not have a good view, which we had paid extra for. I will give the maids credit, they did keep our room clean. I did not feel our room was good value for our money. Keep an eye on your room charges when checking out - there were some additional tip charges added to one of our meals that we did not authorize.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from g

Overall a great experience

Posted Mar 6, 2017
The view was beautiful. It was close to the beach with the free shuttle from hotel or public bus for 300 colones running every 20 minutes. Several restaurants and live music in walking distance. Bfast was awesome and the staff was amazing. Ceibo at the bar was entertaining and made great drinks. Nelson and Byron at the front desk had all the info on local hangouts. Highly recommend!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Beautiful views and relaxing atmosphere

Posted Mar 6, 2017
The staff at La Mariposa were so friendly and helpful! We had a bit of trouble getting a great internet signal in our room and one of the staff offered his personal phone to use as a hot spot. They all went above and beyond to make our first trip to Costa Rica wonderful. The food was great in the hotel, recommend the Tuna Tower - it was amazing! The pool was beautiful as was the service around the pool - never went thirsty! It is on top of the mountain, so getting around the area takes a bit of planning, but the hotels shuttle service and excursion planning made it relatively easy. Also there are fabulous restaurants within a short walking distance of the hotel, so you have a lot of variety and the quality was amazing. You even get daily visits by Scarlet Macaw's, White faced monkeys and iguanas all for free!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Amazing doesn't even begin to cover it!

Posted Mar 6, 2017
My wife and I had an absolutely lovely time! The staff, the views, cleanliness of the rooms, everything was beyond expectation. I highly recommend utilizing the hotels shuttle service to and from the airport as you will probably pay the same for a taxi from the airport without an AC.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 5, 2017
Great views, helpful staff. Looking forward to staying again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NJ

Beautiful location!

Posted Feb 23, 2017
Friendly staff. Service could be improved. Beautiful location. We had a nice very nice and clean room. Some minor problems with small ants, however not very disturbing. I guess you can expect this in a tropical climate. Pool area nice but starts to be outdated. Overall we had good experience and would considering going back.