Ratings based on 415 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Best view of your life

Posted Jul 14, 2016
Hotel views are amazing. Great staff and breakfast and comfortable beds. Older bathrooms. Overall a great stay! Saw monkeys, iguanas, birds and butterflies conyinually. Easy access to supermarket and restaurants and public bus.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

La Mariposa

Posted Jul 12, 2016
Hotel and views were beautiful. Staff was very kind and accommodating. They have a great breakfast Buffett in the morning and live bands that play some evenings. I was surprised that they didn't have a heated pool, but other than that...everything was great.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mexico.

Lo.unico bueno del hotel su vista.

Posted Jun 26, 2016
La verdad el costo del hotel es muy alt para sus habitaciones de 4ta. Todo fallaba. Internet. Tv. Wifi. No tenia ni frigobar. Ni un vaso con agua. Tenian. El tema del desayuno todos los dias lo mismo. La cocinera muy atenta Laura siempre super linda. Los meseros atentos. Nada que ver con el recepcionista terrible cacacter. Su cena muy cara y nada comparado con otros lugares cercanos de comida local. En general no me vuelvo a hospedar ahi.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 2, 2016 by Manfred Arias | Sales Office, Hotel Management
Estimado Sr. Rolando Ortega, Le agradecemos mucho su comentario acerca de su experiencia en nuestra bella propiedad. Lastimosamente nunca nos reportó estos inconvenientes durante su estancia con nosotros, le garantizo que su experiencia y comentario hubiera sido otra, si lo hubieras hecho. Un cordial saludo,
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Beautiful hotel with great views and service

Posted Jun 5, 2016
Pros: The room was well designed with a usable balcony, well equipped bathroom and excellent breakfast.
Cons: The room would have been much improved with bedside lamps for reading and a way to control to the light in the hallway.
Location: Enjoyed the proximity to the beach down the hill and took advantage of the guided tour at the Park arranged by the hotel.
Enjoyed the stay at La Mariposa with well done layout and spectacular views.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 10, 2016 by Manfred Arias | Sales Office, Hotel Management
Dear Gail, Thank you for your feedback mentioning the Pros and Cons. Actually We have planned to work on some room improvements/renovation on the upcoming off season. Hopefully you can stay with us again in the future and enjoy the changes made. We thank you for choose Costa Rica and La Mariposa. Happy Travels!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel with the stunning view

Posted May 11, 2016
The staff was extremely helpful and friendly! Overall, our experience was great and I highly recommend this place if you are looking for gorgeous views, relaxing atmosphere, and good location!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 26, 2016 by Manfred Arias | Sales Office, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your stay with us at La Mariposa. We are pleased to note that you appreciated the accommodations, Staff, Panoramic ocean views and food of our Hotel, aspects that are preferred by many of our guests. Your encouraging review will help us to improve constantly our services, and we hope to welcome you back in the near future! Happy Travels!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful view of the Pacific.

Posted May 4, 2016
Pros: Views, landscaping.
Cons: Service that is more customer focused. Parking is an issue, very small spaces, I had two pieces of trim stolen off of my rental car.
Location: The hotel has a, 4 times daily, shuttle to the beach and Manual Antonio National Park.
This hotel does not deserve the 3+, rating. Nice views, good landscaping. They got my room reservation wrong, but quickly made it right. Rooms are dated and lack amenities such as night stand light, clock radio, and overall comfort. The four pools are nice. The breakfast is good, but with little or no variation over my four day stay. The dinner selections are small, but are well prepared. Hotel staff are generally nice, but very particular about their pool towel policy, almost at the expense of the patron. I would probably not go here again, maybe as a last resort only.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Very lovely hotel with amazing view

Posted May 3, 2016
The hotel was beautiful. The landscaping was lush and beautiful. The view was absolutely amazing from almost any location in the hotel. There are 3 pools and 2 of them are infinity pools overlooking the ocean where you can see the sunset. The staff was absolutely wonderful. So helpful, patient l, and courteous at all times. The bed was a little hard and they quickly accommodated us by moving us into another room. Everyone is friendly from the hotel staff to the grounds crew, etc. We would definitely stay here again!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Miami

Very Nice Hotel in a Great Location

Posted Apr 25, 2016
Pros: Super views, terrific common areas, terrific breakfast, very pleasant staff. A very good price for a very nice hotel. Cons: My room had a leaky faucet, lacked a bedside table, and was generally not up to the very high standards of the common areas. Bottom Line: Unless you are super picky about everything being exactly right in your room, this hotel is fantastic!
5 out of 5
by Alanna from New York

Amazing stay

Posted Apr 12, 2016 on Hotels
Our room was absolutely gorgeous!! My husband and I stood in an ocean view room # 8. The view was out of this world. Bed was kind of hard for my liking but EVERYTHING else made up for it. Clean, comfortable and the service was great. The staff was so helpful and tentative all around. The location is what makes this hotel 2 thumbs up for me. Literally in the middle of the jungle and all the monkeys walking around justify that it is . Haha ! My husband and I can't wait to go back !
5 out of 5
by Tom from US

Beautiful Views, Great Food, Multiple Pool Options

Posted Apr 11, 2016 on Hotels
The views are stunning and for that alone people should book this hotel. There are multiple pools options for families, adults only, swim up bars/food, shaded or sun infinity pools. Trees at the pool offer much needed shade to get out of the powerful sun while enjoying the pool. The food at the restaurant is excellent and equally as good and reasonably priced during the day at the pool. The Wifi was not good in the rooms but could be accessed outside on the balcony of the room. I Highly recommend the hotel. For the pricepoint of the hotel they need to improve on having reliable wifi, touch up on the painting of doors and trim, upgrade the inroom TV's.