Ratings based on 58 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ste-Julie

Hotel Contemporain rénové

Posted Nov 29, 2016
Vous voulez vous sentir unique.... cet hotel de design contemporain vous charmera. Situé en colline non loin de la mer mais avec accessibilité dangereuse si mouillée. Piscine avec musique lounge et restaurant à même la piscine , très agréable repas avec un service costa ricain. Ces gens sont très serviables et agréables. Le seul hic, vous devez choisir votre heure de déjeuner pour le lendemain. En vacances, on ne sait pas l'heure du réveil! De plus, il y a de la construction pour agrandissement ce qui veut dire, Bruit. Mais nous n'étions là qu'en fin de journée et le soir c'était parfait. De plus, on nous a upgrader notre villa avec une villa qui avait un bain à remous! Très beau site le matin au réveil!!!
4 out of 5
by Agustin from México

Grata experiencia Makanda

Posted Aug 29, 2016 on Hotels
El lugar es bellísimo en medio de un ambiente natural pocas veces visto. Al reservar Expedia nunca informó que había obras de ampliación dentro del hotel, lo cual ocasionó incomodidades diversas y no justifica el precio. Sin embargo el personal del hotel atendió con rapidez y eficiencia mi queja y le dieron solución compensando con otros beneficios. El horario de servicio de restaurant es muy restringido, y se resiente más debido a que no hay restaurantes cercanos. El servicio a cuartos es rápido, amable y efectivo.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Montréal

Gorgeous setting

Posted Aug 18, 2016
Really great high-end small scale Hotel. Very friendly staff. Most will find breakfast presentation a little odd. We got used to it. Recommend that morning coffee be upgraded somewhat. Coffee pods in Costa Rica in a 4.5 star resort is underachieving.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 2, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Amazing pool and views

Posted Jan 29, 2016
Great place to stay, small hotel only 11 units. The pool is fantastic with a great view over the Pacific. With the small size of the hotel got great attention from the staff, very pleased with out experience. Only reason I didn't give perfect rating was noise in our room, we stayed in the studio which was below another unit and we could hear them walking and the TV, wasn't too loud
5 out of 5
by Thomas from San Francisco, CA

Paradise found!

Posted Sep 9, 2015 on Hotels
My girlfriend and I stayed here for 2 nights and were blown away. We're on a trip around the world and at 7 weeks in, this is easily the nicest place we've stayed so far. In fact, this is probably one of the nicest hotels I've ever stayed in. At check in we were upgraded to a better room/view for free due to the low season. The staff were all extremely friendly and the rooms were phenomenal. Our room came with a kitchen, huge flat screen, massive king size bed and large windows facing the ocean which provided one of the most spectacular sunsets. The rooms are spaced out enough where you feel like you have plenty of privacy. The pool is unreal! It's beautifully constructed with an unobstructed view of the ocean while you sip cocktails from the bar which is located poolside. I can't say enough great things about Hotel Makanda. I would definitely stay here again. Thank you Hotel Makanda for an unforgettable stay!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Wonderful Hotel

Posted Jul 5, 2015
Pros: The fact that there are only 12 bungalows. Privacy is the word to be used.
Cons: The bartender at the pool wasn't friendly at all. He is the only grumpy Costa Rican we met in our entire trip.
Location: Fantastic restaurants. Terrazas Rafael amazing food and view. El Lagarto, they serve the best firewood cooked seafood I've ever had.
This place is gorgeous. If you go during the wet season, expect for the electricity to go out. Our first night there this is what happened because of a huge storm. The hotel staff did what they could to make that night as comfortable as possible.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 21, 2015
Nicest hotel I've ever stayed at! If you want to go to Quepos don't second guess going here.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from L

Absolutely the best

Posted May 18, 2015
The staff here is incredible. The hotel is incredible, the view is priceless. The only downside is the hotel is a bit removed from the tourist places so be prepared for long walks both up and downhill, but hey you get your daily exercise in this way.
5 out of 5
by David from NYC, NY, USA

Beautiful Place - Great for Couple's Getaway

Posted Mar 29, 2015 on Hotels
My wife and I split our stay in Manuel Antonio between Makanda and Parador. Makanda was beautiful, quiet and perfect for a couple's retreat. We stayed in Villa 5. The room was great - the bed was extremely comfortable and we had a nice view of the ocean and the setting sun. Breakfast was brought to the room in the morning. We spent one of the days lounging around the infinity pool / outdoor bar area. The pool area also has a view of the ocean, and like the rest of the place, is peacefully nestled within the rainforest. We also took the path down to the beach, although if you are looking to wade into the ocean it's a little tough as this strip of beach has a rocky seafloor. Overall, the place was great and we would highly recommend it to other couples.