Ratings based on 54 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Amazing pool and views

Posted Jan 29, 2016
Great place to stay, small hotel only 11 units. The pool is fantastic with a great view over the Pacific. With the small size of the hotel got great attention from the staff, very pleased with out experience. Only reason I didn't give perfect rating was noise in our room, we stayed in the studio which was below another unit and we could hear them walking and the TV, wasn't too loud
5 out of 5
by Thomas from San Francisco, CA

Paradise found!

Posted Sep 9, 2015 on Hotels
My girlfriend and I stayed here for 2 nights and were blown away. We're on a trip around the world and at 7 weeks in, this is easily the nicest place we've stayed so far. In fact, this is probably one of the nicest hotels I've ever stayed in. At check in we were upgraded to a better room/view for free due to the low season. The staff were all extremely friendly and the rooms were phenomenal. Our room came with a kitchen, huge flat screen, massive king size bed and large windows facing the ocean which provided one of the most spectacular sunsets. The rooms are spaced out enough where you feel like you have plenty of privacy. The pool is unreal! It's beautifully constructed with an unobstructed view of the ocean while you sip cocktails from the bar which is located poolside. I can't say enough great things about Hotel Makanda. I would definitely stay here again. Thank you Hotel Makanda for an unforgettable stay!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Wonderful Hotel

Posted Jul 5, 2015
Pros: The fact that there are only 12 bungalows. Privacy is the word to be used.
Cons: The bartender at the pool wasn't friendly at all. He is the only grumpy Costa Rican we met in our entire trip.
Location: Fantastic restaurants. Terrazas Rafael amazing food and view. El Lagarto, they serve the best firewood cooked seafood I've ever had.
This place is gorgeous. If you go during the wet season, expect for the electricity to go out. Our first night there this is what happened because of a huge storm. The hotel staff did what they could to make that night as comfortable as possible.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 21, 2015
Nicest hotel I've ever stayed at! If you want to go to Quepos don't second guess going here.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from L

Absolutely the best

Posted May 18, 2015
The staff here is incredible. The hotel is incredible, the view is priceless. The only downside is the hotel is a bit removed from the tourist places so be prepared for long walks both up and downhill, but hey you get your daily exercise in this way.
5 out of 5
by David from NYC, NY, USA

Beautiful Place - Great for Couple's Getaway

Posted Mar 29, 2015 on Hotels
My wife and I split our stay in Manuel Antonio between Makanda and Parador. Makanda was beautiful, quiet and perfect for a couple's retreat. We stayed in Villa 5. The room was great - the bed was extremely comfortable and we had a nice view of the ocean and the setting sun. Breakfast was brought to the room in the morning. We spent one of the days lounging around the infinity pool / outdoor bar area. The pool area also has a view of the ocean, and like the rest of the place, is peacefully nestled within the rainforest. We also took the path down to the beach, although if you are looking to wade into the ocean it's a little tough as this strip of beach has a rocky seafloor. Overall, the place was great and we would highly recommend it to other couples.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from S

Great stay!

Posted Mar 28, 2015
Excellent! Very nice place. Great pool ambiance. Nice staff. Loved the room design.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from chicago

Fantastic view, nice pool, good restaurant

Posted Mar 3, 2015
I stayed in a studio (unit 2). I tripped over the very large coffee table in the middle of the night...really hurt!! Otherwise...a great place for intimate stay
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Amazing view. Very private setting

Posted Feb 2, 2015
This is a private, gorgeous place with great views.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from south carolina

nice place with ocean view

Posted Sep 26, 2014
Pros: quiet,serene
Cons: needs updating,i understand a new owner is working on this
Location: close to manuel antonio national park and quepos,many dinning choices
very quiet,adult only,good staff,comfortable,good dining priced a bit high,needs some updating.