Ratings based on 173 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Way overpriced

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Room was really big, but very poor light and terrible breakfast. Breakfast was on la carte and we have been waiting 20 minutes just for a cappuccino even though there was nobody else.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC

Good quiet hotel away from the crowds

Posted Mar 17, 2017
Pros: Location and good attentive staff.
Cons: Nothing
We had a great comfortable stay at the hotel. Location was close to a pebble beach which was safe and secluded. Will stay there again for sure.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 15, 2017
Good hotel, very clean, maybe a little expensive for the service given. Breakfast could be better, bigger size would be great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Love The Shana

Posted Mar 9, 2017
Great place ! Well run ! Great location! I highly recommend the Hotel
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 11, 2017 by Shana Managment, Hotel Management
Thank you!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel - wonderful place to relax

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Shana is great hotel. The staff is friendly and attentive. Great pool with gorgeous ocean view. Wonderful beach is a short hike away. (We saw monkeys, sloths, and colorful birds in the forest on the way to the beach.) Also had tasty wood fired pizza in their restaurant.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 11, 2017 by the managment, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for you kind comments, it motivate us to continue enforcing our staff to give a great service
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great place walking distance to the beach!

Posted Jan 1, 2017 on Hotels
We moved to Shana at the end of our stay after we were very disappointed with another place. SOOOO happy we went here as I'll definitely come back again if I'm ever in Manuel Anotonio. Tons to do, with amazing weather, food, and sightseeing, all while staying in a great place!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston

Air conditioner not working

Posted Dec 20, 2016
Air conditioner disnt work. Had difficult hot night. Informed office next day, but not fixed till time of departure. Other small stuff need fixing: curtains with holes, shower with no curtains, tiolet with water leak, phine cant dial outside, no dirty cliths bag, no disposal sandles, old fat pillows.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

nice hotel

Posted Dec 16, 2016 on Orbitz
Spectacular jungle canopy views from rooms and restaurant. Got to watch a group of squirrel monkeys in the morning doing some insanely impressive acrobatic leaps. Great included breakfast. Pizza at restaurant was spectacular. Fun to watch them cook it. Not too expensive for a pizza that feeds two. Didn't try rest of restaurant menu, but it looked overpriced. Went in early December when whether was nice but crowds were low. Spent a lot of time hiking around all the trails in Manuel Antonio park and enjoying the views and wildlife, in particular the monkeys at the beaches in the park. Just outside the park, you can book a guide to take you kayaking to nearby reefs, where you can tie up the kayaks and snorkel. Note: be forewarned that the access to Playa Espadilla is not nearly as easy as it looks on the map. To use that beach, you'll probably want to take car or a shuttle a few kilometers and park it by the entrance to Manuel Antonio park. On the upside, there is a another little beach that is easy to access from the hotel and very nice.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Dated Hotel

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Pros: Staff
Cons: Maintenance
Location: Good location close to the beach
Poor maintenance, noises from other rooms, poor breakfast. The only good is the location close to Manuel Antonio
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 1, 2016 by The Managment, Hotel Management
Dear Gerardo. thank you for staying at Shana and thank you for your review. It is always important to have this reports before you leave the hotel, so we could be able to take action and solve your problem.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from US

Ok hotel, beautiful area

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Pros: 10 minutes walking distance from the beach, great breakfast, great location
Cons: Pillowcases smelled like mildew, but everything else was fairly clean.
Location: Lots of things to do nearby. Manuel Antonio national park, hidden beaches, great restaurants
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 27, 2016 by the managment, Hotel Management
Dear Val Thank you for staying at Shana hotel and for your time to review us. High humidity during this time of the year is always problematic for our customers, but keep in mind that the hotel is always in the best disposition to attent your need at the time when you notify our frontdesk, we woud change easy and quick your pillows