Ratings based on 1,040 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

this is terrible experience.

Posted Sep 16, 2017
Cons: a lot
the location is not bad, but with some extra charges they never mentioned before,
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

noisy

Posted Sep 4, 2017
The hall way is always noisy , there are sound of kids screaming and ruining.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 10, 2017 by Jennifer, Hotel Management
Sorry to hear of your disappointment. We would be happy to place you in a quieter room on your next visit. Please inquire upon arrival.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston

Make sure you save $$$ for parking

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Pros: Clean room, nice staff plenty of amenities.
Cons: More trash barrels in the room and quit charging for parking for a $200/night hotel!
Location: Tons of stuff to do locally, my favorite was the parking lot tour and was only $11!!
Hotel was decent, you could tell it was older but had been nicely done over. Think I wasn't that happy about was during checkout getting hit for a $11 parking fee in QUINCY of all places have never heard of a hotel charging guests to park and will never visit one that does again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2017 by Jennifer , Hotel Management
Paul, Thank you for your review. I am sorry you were unaware of the parking charge; it is posted on our website. We're happy you liked the renovation. The rooms will be renovated in 2018. We hope you change your mind about visiting in the future.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel but restaurant quality & selection poor

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: Rooms
Cons: Catering -quality & selection
Nice hetel & staff. Nice clean room. Restaurant food quality very poor, menu very narrow & room service equally narrow. If you want to eat plan on going out to a restaurant off site.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 28, 2017 by Jennifer , Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We have had mostly positive reviews for our new restaurant Hull & Mason, as well as, the Fresh Bites program for in room delivery. If you ever are looking for something, please ask the server and I am sure they would be happy to assist with finding something you would like.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from philadelphia, PA

Parking

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Nice hotel, but they charged $11.00 per night to park the car. Was an annoying fee for an inevitable expense.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2017 by Jennifer, Hotel Management
Tom, Thank you for the review. I apologize that you were not happy with the parking charge. I will be sure to pass along to our ownership group.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Enjoyed it overall. Except fot the noisey wedding guests.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2017 by Jennifer , Hotel Management
Thank you for the review. We apologize you were disturbed by the wedding guests while visiting. I do hope you called to make the team aware of any disruptions to your stay.
3 out of 5
by Ning Yan

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 27, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Thomas

Great place

Posted Jun 26, 2017 on Hotels
Comfortable and good size. Very pleasant
5 out of 5
by Chris

great for an overnight

Posted Jun 22, 2017 on Hotels
Everything was great! The front desk told us food was served at the restaurant till midnight, luckily we made it there at 10:58pm as the kitchen actually closes at 11pm. it was opening night of the restaurant and the Onion soup burger was amazing!!! beer service was slow.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very disappointing for the rates.

Posted Jun 7, 2017
Pros: - Beds were very comfortable - large tvs if you don't mind a lack of channels - Every staff interaction was very pleasant
Cons: - stop charging for parking - stop charging for wifi
Unless you have an event close by, I would avoid. For the rates they were charging I expected more ( $600 for two nights, not including parking, internet). The lobby and bar were under construction which is understandable but rates should have been dropped. It was a mess and blocked up the entrance with nothing taped off. There isn't much in the area either, this is basically in an industrial/newly residential area with in the city rates. That would be ok but combined with lack of the bar, a lack of in room entertainment (No free wifi, 40 tv channels, is it the 90's still?) and charging you for parking (because there is nothing nearby you HAVE to park there) this place isn't worth it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 9, 2017 by Jennifer , Hotel Management
Thank you so much for the review. We apologize you were not satisfied with your most recent visit. I can assure you the next one will be different. We have now opened our restaurant and bar and it is beautiful. The new in room entertainment system allows you to stream Netflix, Hulu or any other service you may desire. We hope we change your mind in the future with our new features and amenities.