Ratings based on 32 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in the heart of the old town

Posted Apr 18, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: The staff was very accommodating and helpful
Cons: The food
Location: The Old Town of Quito is a historic capital city with many activities and places to see for travelers
Lovely historic hotel in the heart of Quito's Old Town. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. Rooms were nice. My only complaint would be the food.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 10, 2017 on Hotels
Extremely accommodating. Made taxi arrangements from airport to hotel with English speaking driver. Made a small breakfast for us when we were leaving at 2 am to catch a flight. Short walk to old town.
5 out of 5
by Barbara

A jewel in Centro Historico!

Posted Mar 16, 2017 on Hotels
Casa San Marcos is a gem! It is like an old home, with gorgeous antiques and decadent decorations. The location is just a couple of blocks from Plaza Grande in the Historic Center. Very walkable with good cafes and restaurants within a block or two. We stayed in the Geranios Deluxe Suite, which is really one big room with a king sized bed in one section, separated from a twin bed by an ornate wooden screen. The furnishings are truly beautiful and over-the-top. The only downside is that the room faced the street and there is street noise pretty early in the morning (the Historic Center is very quiet at night -- almost no noise at all between 10pm-6am). The manager of the hotel is incredibly kind and will take care of anything you need. I highly recommend this hotel!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful small hotel with excellent staff.

Posted Oct 30, 2016 on Hotels
This is an amazing hotel. Our room had high ceilings, beautiful art, a balcony, a modern bathoom with views of the Panacillo, and great beds. The breakfast every morning was very good. The common areas are beautiful and comfortable. But, I have to say that the best part of the hotel was the excellent and friendly staff who made our stay very pleasant and helped us pick some activities throughout the city. The only problem was the weak WiFi in our room, but they said that was being upgraded in the next few weeks. The location is a few blocks from the large cathedrals and president's palace.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 30, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
We are very happy that your stay in our hotel has been to your complete satisfaction. Regarding the internet it is ready and working in all areas of our hotel. Always at your orders
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 24, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco area

The Best Part of Our Quito Experience!

Posted Jul 11, 2016
What a wonderful hotel! From the moment we arrived, my friend and I were treated as special guests. Our week at Casa San Marcos was the best part of our trip; we loved the staff, and the hotel is also a museum and art gallery. An excellent breakfast was prepared for us every morning, and our comfortable room had a lovely view of the statue of the Virgin Mary overlooking the city. Within easy walking distance to most of the historic sites, I would definitely recommend this hotel to every traveler to Quito.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 17, 2016 by Claudia, Hotel Management
Dear Theresa Thank you for your nice review, we are glad to hear that you enjoy your stay with us. You and your friend are really nice people that we loved to serve. We hope to see you again Regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Kansas

Beautiful hotel, amazing staff and great location!

Posted Jul 7, 2016
Pros: Best shower of our trip! We loved the antiques in our room! The staff was amazing!
Location: Walking distance from Grand Plaza, La Ronda, museums and churches.
We were in awe the minute we walked into this hotel! The antiques, decor, floral arrangements, and overall appearance made it feel like we had stepped back in time into an exquisite home that was not just a home but a show piece! The staff greeted us immediately and carried our bags to our room. We were given suggestions for churches, museums, and shopping within walking distance. (We were only a few blocks from the square.) In the morning were served a complementary breakfast with fresh fruit, fresh bread, eggs (the way we wanted them), and tea and coffee. The hotel arranged our transfers to and from the hotel; we liked our driver so much that we hired him an additional day for a tour of the city. The hotel itself has an art gallery and a small museum. The breakfast area and sitting room balconies provide a great view of El Panecillo. We fell in love with this hotel! My all time favorite so far! Only issue was that traffic was a little loud in the morning due to school still being in session; there is a school across the street. I don't know that I'd recommend the hotel for those with really young children. The kids would love it, but I personally would worry about them breaking something. :)
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice Historic Spot

Posted Jun 9, 2016 on Hotels
This is an eclectic hotel in a great central location for walking through historic district. Interior decor incorporates much of the owners art and antique collection spread throughout interesting sitting rooms and hallways. Building is old, but room was quiet and comfortable with attentive staff. Would stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful Stay

Posted Mar 8, 2016
My wife and I stayed here for four nights and totally enjoyed the experience, The hotel was quite comfortable, centrally located but just outside the noise and commotion of the Old Town. It possessed an abundance of Quito charm filled with stellar art and antiques. The staff was extremely helpfully in suggestions on how to get the most out of our time in Quito. The breakfasts were fresh, well prepared and covered all the basics. Great place to stay!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from seattle, WA

Like sleeping in a beautiful museum

Posted Mar 8, 2016
Pros: Beautiful decor, great location, delicious breakfast
Cons: Noisy On the Junin side of the Casa
Location: Short walk to Plaza Grand, the Jesuit church, and Plaza San Francisco. Good restaurants in the neighborhood
This small (6 rm) hotel is part of a grand house, furnished with art and antiques. It was a beautiful space to visit and enjoy. Breakfast was served on a garden patio, a beautiful, light filled and relaxing place! Food was far better than average, with eggs made to order and great coffee, espresso, or cappuccino to boot. Service was generally attentive, by an earnest group of young people who spoke English fairly well and strived to make our stay enjoyable. Unfortunately, we were on the Junin side of the street, opposite a fairly noisy school, and within earshot of some major road construction. For early risers, this is probably not an issue. I would stay here again if I could get a room on the opposite side of the Casa. As our flight departed just after midnight, I appreciated being able to get another half day at a reasonable rate. The hotel is near Plaza Grand, so we could easily walk to some great restaurants and historic sites.