Ratings based on 52 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location but toilet needs improvement

Posted Aug 14, 2017
Pros: Convenient location, easy access to public transport.
Cons: Toilet, toiletries, towels and shower head is old. Toilet floor floods.
Location: Next to most tourist spots. easy access to taxis and buses and local shops.
Great location if you want to be in the dead center of the old town..walking distance to the Grand Plaza where you pick up the "Quito City Tour Hop-On bus." Close to restaurants and tourist shops. Sreets are steep either uphill or downhill. Taxis are cheap and easy to find right in front of the hotel. Toilet does not have shower heads and proper toilet amenities. Shower floods the toillet floor in our room. They have rooms for families with 4 beds. If you want to experience an old Ecuador mansion and how people live during the old Spanish rule, this is the hotel for you, No elevators and bedrooms are on the 2nd floor of a courtyard style hotel. Breakfast very basic. Scrambled eggs, ham and cheese. Coffee also very basic. Staff are very helpful and do everything they can.
3 out of 5
by Ranita

Historic hotel

Posted Jan 5, 2017 on Hotels
This colonial hotel is only 2 blocks from Grand Plaza--lots happening and great local shopping and churches.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Good location, but noisy!

Posted Sep 26, 2016
I was one of very few guests, and yet I was still given a road side room. It was incredibly noisy on the Saturday night, and would not recommend this hotel if those rooms were your only option. Even when the street noise finally dies down, you can still here the constant "chirp chirp" from the crossing lights at the street corner. Outside of the noise, this hotel was fine, and what would be expected in this price range. Its location was great for getting to the old district and the Square. Just avoid the streetside rooms!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 8, 2016 by HCC, Hotel Management
Gracias por sus comentarios y sugerencias, si me indicaba que no estaba muy de acuerdo con esta habitación le hubiésemos ubicado en otra habitación.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lords Valley, PA

No! No! No!

Posted Mar 1, 2015
Aside from a perfect location this hotel was a huge disappointment in every way. From them trying to charge us more than double what was listed by Expedia on our booking, to the old stuff in the room and lobby, to the shower leaking under the tiles all over bathroom floor. Only stayed one night. Couldn't wait to get out of there.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Excellent location

Posted Feb 27, 2015
Pros: Helpful staff
Cons: Hot water in evenings as well
Location: walking distance of everything in historical district
Good old-fashioned budget hotel in historic district, good sized en suite rooms, free computer use. Hot water in mornings only. Very noisy in front rooms all night due to location. Take earplugs.
4 out of 5
by Robert from Gulf Breeze, FL

Convenient to historical area

Posted Feb 2, 2015 on Hotels
Hotel Catedral is located very close to the Plaza Independencia and convenient to all the sites in Centro Historico Quito. The hotel was secure and the free breakfast was substantial if not too creative. The staff was helpful and the water very hot! Rooms on street sign have noise from below; try to get one in the back toward courtyard. It was not a five star resort but for the price very nice. Our only problem was they wanted $60 per night whereas the Hotel.com rate we had been given (and printed out) was $34. We got into a little bit of a disagreement over this but eventually they accepted our confirmed rate. I would recommend it for budget travelers who want to be within walking distance of many churches, museums, etc.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 4, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by RENE

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 23, 2014 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Torben . from Mexico .

Excellent for the price .

Posted Aug 28, 2014 on Hotels
Excellent service , extremely helpful the people . breakfast not very interesting , but as with everything , for the price perfect . and a lovely hotel , vith lots of personality , and perfect location . very enjoyable .
4 out of 5
by Brits in South America from Ecuador

Great Location

Posted Aug 13, 2014 on Hotels
Very close to historic center. Very pleasant and helpful staff. Tired decoration. One of the beds was on a slope.