Ratings based on 197 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from D

Convenient location in Old Quito

Posted Mar 26, 2017
Hotel staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Hot water in shower was sometimes lacking.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 25, 2017
The rooms are not heated so there was little refuge from the cool rainy weather.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Poor management and custemer service

Posted Feb 21, 2017 on Hotels
I wouldn't stay there again because on the first day when I went to take a shower I didn't have hot water when I informed the receptionist they told me that they will check the gas and after that I had hot water. The same thing occurred on the second day and although the receptionist was so very apologetic and changed my room the manager refused to compensate me for this inconvenience. My breaking point occurred on the third day when there were a group of football fans sitting in the lounge area until 1:00 in the morning speaking and laughing so loudly I was unable to sleep. Although the receptionist informed them to leave they ignored the request and continued anyway. At that point I opened my room door and began screaming at them at 1:30 in the morning. This was even more reason to be compensated for at least a night but the manager was inflexible. I would certainly nevery give them my money again after such poor accommodations and poor customer service.
4 out of 5
by Brenda

Posted Jan 6, 2017 on Hotels
All of the staff at this hotel were great. They did all that they could to make my stay good. It was very clean and the breakfast was good. The front desk staff was great. The only negative issue that I had was the hot water. Every morning, I had a problem trying to shower. The water would not get hot and was freezing cold. The daytime desk clerk did his best to get me hot water. He truly was super in trying to fix it, but it is a major problem. The hotel needs to fix this. I would not stay there again because of that and would not recommend it to anyone else. It is the only reason, but it is pretty miserable to try to shower and wash your hair with freezing water.
3 out of 5
by Elisabeth

Taxi fraud hotel!

Posted Dec 24, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel is nicely decorated with paintings. The rooms are ok not good lighting and wifi vey poor. Breakfast was nice in the top floor ovelooking Quito. Desk service was ok. Main problem was taxi scam by desk people. Three times we went to the same place and were advised the fee was $20. First time we thought this was very expensive. Second time we asked for a metered taxi, but again we're told there was only a fixed rate for $20. Third time we insisted on metered taxi and the cost was $9.40! We also booked for an early taxi to airport: fixed price $30. On way back from airport a few days later we paid $18.80. In all cases of the "fixed fee" we saw money being exchanged between taxi driver and your desk staff. This is very serious abuse of trusting tourists in your hotel. We advised our concern to the desk staff and were ignored. Also wrote message and left in comments box in lobby; but two weeks later still no response!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Odessa, United States of America

Posted Nov 19, 2016
Pros: Staff was nice.
Someone banging on the exterior door at 5:30 am wasn't great. Then banging in the lobby at 7 am was also not fun. They gave me such a tiny WiFi piece of paper about as big as my fingernail that I lost it before I got to the room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 24, 2016
very nice and beautiful hotel in the perfect location. friendly and helpful staff.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fascinating building right in the old city

Posted Oct 17, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed two nights either side of a trip to the Galapagos and were able to store luggage. The first room was very good with a balcony overlooking a quiet street. The second had internal windows onto the lounge area and had little privacy during the day and evening, OK later at night. Felt reasonably safe to walk from the main square at night. Staff mostly helpful. Beautiful old building well restored and the breakfast room on the roof has a great view. The street is closed during the day on Sunday but taxis can back up a few yards from the road - we could have walked easily but this is not expected of foreigners
4 out of 5
by Kate from United States

Great location in Old Town Quito

Posted Aug 30, 2016 on Hotels
Great location to see old town Quito. The hotel does offer airport transfer, but it will be much cheaper to use taxis at the airport - should be about $25 from the airport. Hotel is walking distance from all of the major attractions in Quito - Plaza de Armas, Plaza de San Francisco, churches and museums. The hotel provides continental breakfast with a great view of the city. They will also organize day trip tours to Cotopaxi and Quilotoa. We were able to find the tours much cheaper through another agency. Overall, great stay, clean, comfortable room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 26, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: everything
Cons: update TV sets (based on one in the room I stayed)
Location: perfect location in historic center
very helpful staff. Excellent location. great character/charm