Ratings based on 34 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice ppl, clean hotel. Fantastic breakfast!!

Posted Oct 3, 2017
Pros: Clean & comfortable with an amazing fresh breakfast! Eggs cooked expertly!
Cons: Actually sending a shuttle when you say you are...& with the persons Name on a sign when they get off the plane!!!
Location: I had no time to explore...looks just like a neighborhood in one of the mt. areas of Quito.
I emailed & called the hotel to confirm that the shuttle I ordered would arrive at the airport! Especially because I was getting in close to midnight....& I do not speak Spanish....& w/o a phone that works in Ecuador! It became obvious the hotel did not order me one. I was left to fend for myself in a foreign County not speaking the language.....& found out the hotel was not 1/2 hr. away as told by (Expedian?) but one hour away. A taxi driver called the hotel & they sd yes it is ok to let him drive me there. Good thing I brought the Ecuadorian # for the hotel with me or who knows how long I might have been waiting for a shuttle from the hotel. Once I arrived the lady was very nice. I ask for wine & gave her a $5 bill she poured me one tall glass & took it to my room on a tray. Nice gesture...but expensive for one glass I thought. The nxt morning breakfast was amazing! & In a very sunny cute space with little round tables. I recommend these fine ladies...& their clean & cute hotel....just make sure you know how you will be getting to the hotel. Some of the taxi drivers looked a bit shady.
4 out of 5
by Antonio C. from Lima, Peru

Couple of days in Quito

Posted Jul 9, 2017 on Hotels
My stay was quiet and comfortable. Breakfast was ok to me. Good attention. One thing to improve is the quality of the WiFi.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Awfull

Posted Apr 11, 2016
Front desk staff not really nice. They want to control you. I was told that good people should be back early. It seems like they think they are making you favour instead than goving a service.
5 out of 5
by Sebastian from Sweden

Lovely little hotel!

Posted Oct 14, 2015 on Hotels
This is a wonderful little hotel in a safe neighborhood. The hostess is an extremely friendly and helpful lady who makes you feel at home. The breakfast is delicious! The rooms are clean and modern. Highly recommend staying here!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Long Beach, CA

Good Location. Walking Distance to Mariscal

Posted Oct 5, 2015
Pros: Very comfortable, quiet place.
Cons: My room didn't have a TV, not the reason you go on vacation, so it wasn't a big deal, but sometimes you want to be able to turn on the TV for a minute
Location: Quiet neighborhood, felt safe walking back even at night.
Small hostel in a quiet neighborhood. Mercedes is great! She will make sure your stay is comfortable and is great at giving you tips about Quito. The hostel is about a 10-15 minute walk to the Mariscal. It's in a safe neighborhood.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

nice place, but service can be improved

Posted Aug 8, 2015 on Hotels
I loved the place at first, and Mercedes (the owner's sister and the main person behind the desk) is super nice and helpful with decent English. The only thing that tainted my experience was when I returned with my father and we decided to share a room the first night she chrged us each the price of a full room! She never said anything about that when we arrived or we would have at least stayed in our own rooms. Also breakfast when I returned with my dad was VERY meager (one little bean taco and juice), which is not what I was served the first time I came. When I asked her to please have a bit more food the next day she said she's only obligated to give a basic breakfast - she wouldn't even get a few extra pieces of bread! That's not right for the price we paid. Overall, though, the place is nice, comfortable and clean.
5 out of 5
by Thomas from New Hampshire

Charming, friendly Stay

Posted Jan 30, 2015 on Hotels
The owners are extraordinary in providing friendly service, they treat you like family. I went on to Cuenca, and will be returning for a couole more days.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Safe location, friendly place to stay

Posted Nov 9, 2014
Cons: The water wasn't fully hot
Location: Seemed very safe, supermkt within walking distance
Very clean room, comfy bed, generally good WiFi, really friendly staff. TV has heaps of English channelswith movies.
4 out of 5
by Panos from London

Home away from home

Posted Nov 1, 2014 on Hotels
I had an absolutely lovely stay at Casa Valladolid. The area is a quiet residential neighbourhood but just 1 min walk away there is a mini market and a cute restaurant and 5 mins away you can find a huge supermarket, ATMs and a selection of good restaurants. The hotel itself is well decorated, very quiet so you get a good night's sleep but the strongest point is by far lovely Mercedes. She made the stay at this hotel feel like at home and I wish I had words to describe how grateful I am that she was there because it does really make a difference to have somebody who genuinely cares about their guests. She would go out of her way to help me with a few of my queries too. Apart from the outstanding Mercedes, the hotel is only 10-15 mins walk from La Mariscal or less than $2 by taxi. Also very close to one of the metrobuses of Quito.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Madison, WI

Great Hotel with wonderful staff

Posted Jul 6, 2014
Pros: I liked the cleanliness of the room/bathroom and the friendliness of Mercedes and Pilar.
I chose this hotel for my first two nights in Quito based on other reviews and I wasn't disappointed. The room was very comfortable and quiet, which is what I was heading for. The staff was super friendly and super helpful as well. The neighborhood felt safe.