Ratings based on 20 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Boutique feel for a hotel in the heart of New Town

Posted Jan 15, 2017
Pros: Attentive staff, comfortable rooms, plenty of common space to relax
Location: Nice location in New Town. 5-10min walk to restaurants. Quick, cheap cab ride to tourist sites.
While the name may say "hostel", it really felt like a boutique hotel where entire staff welcomed you and helped us get taxis, plan for airport travel, stored our bag, made delicious simple breakfast. The room was small, but very comfortable and we slept very well. The common spaces, including a fireplace room, library, and dining area, were comfortable places to relax and catch up on emails and phone calls. Great value place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

pleasant quiet location near Mariscal

Posted Dec 20, 2016
Pros: Great staff. Nice early breakfast. Near restaurants. Friendly cute bunny
Great staff. Nice place in quiet location. Short walk to Mariscal and dozens of restaurants and a good market. Long walk to old town - but very pleasant. Inexpensive tax ride back home.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mississippi

Boutique style with great homely appeal.

Posted Dec 18, 2016
Second visit to this location. I had booked a different room via this site but on arrival discovered room #1 was available and asked if I may switch. This posed no problems and was handled in no time. The fire in the sitting area is so cozy and inviting. I have enjoyed both my visits and the staff and service has been top notch.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice place but has some issues

Posted Apr 9, 2016
The rooms were clean and comfortable and it is in a good location, however, the outside rooms have no exit access at night and we couldn't get to the foyer for our early morning transfer to the airport. There is also no number for reception in the rooms. The cost of a transfer to and from the airport is almost double the standard rate. Better to book a transfer through the airport.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cozy hotel near town

Posted Mar 10, 2016
Pros: Historical. Near town. friendly staff. Clean.
Cons: little bit pricey for ecuador.
Staff was very accommodating, working to ready my room for early check-in when I arrived. Held my bags while I went shopping. Gave me a map of the area and explained how to get to the mall.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mississippi

Boutique hotel close to bike shop

Posted Jan 25, 2016
We had completed a 7 day motorbike tour which began and ended in Quito. We chose this hotel as it was walking distance from bike shop. Our gear and boots were filthy. We asked if the boots could be cleaned and polished. This was done very promptly by Roberto. The shower was excellent. I loved the fresh flowers and roses throughout the hotel. The dinner service was quick and food delicious. I would not hesitate to stay here again. Kudos to the staff who are all very helpful and perform their duties with enthusiasm and a smile.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Basic but very friendly and nice atmosphere

Posted Nov 25, 2015
Excellent location for exploring city. Staff very helpful with directions and assisting with special requests. Good dining room and friendly resident rabbit. Good value.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

I'd stay there again!

Posted Mar 17, 2015
Location: Conveniently located, and away from the noise.
The owner and staff all went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. All were very friendly, helpful and could not have been nicer. The hostal is comfortable and cozy - including the fireplace. I'd definitely recommend this place, and would stay there again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from vilcabamba

Great location and Gloria makes the hotel great!

Posted Mar 16, 2015
Pros: Gloria at the front desk is so nice and helpful.She made my experience great!
Cons: Need complimentary breakfast...but really nothing
Location: Mariscal is walking distance.A great big park is also nearby and great restaurants are nearby
Loved the location.i felt very much at home and the staff at the hotel is wonderful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Posted Mar 2, 2015
Pros: Helpful staff-front office spoke Engilsh and offered suggestions for excursions, or sorting out problems (broken phones, airport pickups, etc)
Cons: Nothing
Location: Handy to Marsical Foch. Do some /all of the walks on the back of the map -staff will direct you to great areas too. Nothing was too difficult!
Very homely and handy to heaps of things. Easy walking (flat) for exploring local area. Easy to get taxis from and to (with most knowing location). Lovely, friendly pet rabbit too.