Ratings based on 42 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston, Massachusetts

Not a nice place to stay! Poor condition run down!

Posted May 29, 2017
Horrible conditions! Room infested with bugs! Can not put clothes in closet as there is a leak and all my good clothes became extremely wet! Paint on concrete walls is peeling and flaking off constantly! Sky light has leak and drips all the time soaking the carpet in the middle room! Had to turn room key in every day for staff to make bed but no one was available to give the key back when we arrived back on multiple days making us wait 1/2 hour after coming back to get our room key back! Addressed these isssues with staff who apparently never realayed to manager till last day who was never available! Extremely far from everything! Transportation is an issue because it is so far! Arrainged with hotel for transfer to airport for return trip. Flight was at 8:30am was told that the earliest they could pick us up was 6am airport is 1 hour away and it is an international flight. Almost missed fligh as driver did not show up until 6:40! Getting us to airport with almost no time to check bags and get through security had to run to make it onto flight! Included photos. The bugs in the photo are everywhere in the room! You find them in your clothes if you put them in the closet and in your towels and all over the floor! No staff available if you leave hotel before 7 no staff available if you return after 9 during the week. The view from the room is great but can't substitute for all the issues with rooms!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 28, 2016 on Hotels
We had a great overnight stay at El Crater. The buildings and rooms were modern and lovely. One issue was there was no signage for Registration so we had to drive around the property and inquire. We had a very good dinner there and the service at dinner and free breakfast was very efficient and friendly.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

old and dirty hotel in a bad conditions

Posted Sep 29, 2016
Pros: Location.
Location: Location is very good. Nice museums Templo del Sol and La Mitad del Mundo.
Nice location. That is all about El Crater hotel. Dirty, dusty, broken windows. We booked Deluxe room. They offer us room with cracked walls and ceiling. After we refuse to stay they gave us different room. We ourselves have washed windows, we asked to bring the vacuum cleaner and cleaned the room. The restaurant is very overpriced. We stayed 6 nights, for breakfast there only eggs. Ones waiter brought to us leftover food.We refused to eat. I asked where can I store my passport and money they offered me give them for storage.Safety box is not available in the hotel. After visiting this hotel we decided never again will come to Ecuador.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fritz Creek, Alaska

Worth The Drive

Posted Nov 4, 2015
The location of this hotel is fantastic. Everything about it was perfect, food, room, staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from cuenca, ecuador

El Crater

Posted Mar 31, 2015
Views from room wet gear, food was good and staff friendly and helpful
5 out of 5
by Luckmia from Turks and Caicos

Great Birthday Getaway in the Mountains

Posted Mar 26, 2015 on Hotels
This was a great birthday trip for me (March 14,2015... Very relaxing and peaceful. I arrived late at about 1am and believe me you have to have proof (Printed confirmation letter) that you are a guest of the hotel in order to enter that gate (Security) was uptight which I loved and embraced for I knew I was safe. The views from my room and living room the next morning were breathtaking- walked over for breakfast where I also had mountainous view while I enjoyed up to 6 different sliced fruits and delicious eggs and orange juice. The owner was very friendly and helpful with everything. I was given complimentary flowers for my birthday which were set up in my room with chocolate treats and a special dinner just for my birthday. I would definitely return and recommend here ... it gets a bit cold but there are heaters in the rooms which calms the atmosphere. I LOVED IT!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from long island ny

Room comfort great

Posted Mar 2, 2015
Pros: location was nice, wonderful views of the mountains and town
Cons: morning meals
Location: very few things only a nature walk down the mountains
good experience staff friendly ,need to improve in the same morning meals.
4 out of 5
by Timothy from Bristol, UK

Location! Location! Location!

Posted Jan 30, 2015 on Hotels
We booked a couple of nights at El Crater as part of a three-week holiday in the Ecuadorean Andes. While it is only five minutes' drive from the 'Middle of the World' equator site and 90 minutes from Mindo its principal attraction is the hotel's own location, perched on the edge of the Pululahua volcanic crater. The suites have amazing views both down into the intensively-farmed crater floor and back over to the Andes around Quito. When we stayed in January (their winter) we naturally accepted that there would be variability in the weather, even in the same day. When the weather is clear the views are spectacular. This can then turn dramatic as mist and cloud roll around the crater and the hotel, particularly in the afternoon/evening. On the service front the hotel is obviously small (12 rooms) and the staff limited. On our visit a young man called Christian checked us in, treated us to his national and local knowledge of Ecuador, helped with our bags, served us dinner, served us breakfast and checked us out again, all handled in a kindly manner. All our four meals were accepatably priced and prepared. If you get a nice day this will be one of the most spectacular hotel locations you'll ever stay at. Even if you can't stay the night, a visit for lunch on a clear day is highly recommended.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Buffalo NY

Very nice small quit hotel

Posted Jan 28, 2015
Pros: It is a small quit hotel where some of the staff speaks English and the view of the Pululahua volcano crater is awesome
Location: there are plenty of things to do and the center of town is only 20min ride and the hotel can arrange transportation
we had an enjoyable experience and would stay here again. the staff is very help full and friendly and will go way out of there way to help. Food at there local restaurant is excellent very reasonable priced. There are lots of things to do but a car would make travel to them allot easier
4 out of 5
by zahar

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 6, 2015 on Hotels