Ratings based on 26 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
56% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 13, 2016 on Hotels
Good ; very clean de room and others areas
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from sd

Receptionist don't accept expedia reservation

Posted Dec 4, 2016
Hotel staff didn't accept Expedia reservation which was shown through Mobile App and Email. Instead the receptionist was rude and demanded paper reservation. She made use of the untimely hour we checked in to charge us 150% of the base rate we booked through Expedia . Horrible hotel but stayed just because it is close to Quitumbe Terminal. Avoid if you can arrange other options.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Tiny room for not a tiny price

Posted Oct 21, 2016
This was a last minute booking and though the staff were friendly and helpful the room was tiny and had windows opening on the communal staircase - you could hear every noise.
1 out of 5
by Peter from United States

Don't Do It-Rip Off

Posted Oct 1, 2015 on Hotels
There was no hot water and we were told to keep it on for 5 minutes and it would get there. We waited 20 minutes and never had any, so we decided to wait until we were at the next hotel since we got in late. We asked for a wake up knock since we had a flight and they knocked 22 minutes after they were supposed to. Thank goodness my cel phone woke me up.I would never stay there again.
5 out of 5
by george from west grove

Nice Hotel

Posted Mar 7, 2015 on Hotels
Very nice hotel near the Quitumbe bus terminal. This is the reason I stay here to catch an early morning bus south. Staff very helpful. I requested an airport pick-up. They were there waiting for me. Nice vehicle. Have stayed here three other times and will no doubt be there again. One item of concern: I am sure I had left something of value in my room upon leaving. They said they did not find it. I will leave it at that.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey, NJ

An excellent choice, located in a strategic place

Posted Feb 22, 2015
Pros: The warmth and friendliness of its staff
Cons: nothing all met my expectations
Location: is near to the bus station and a pleasant shopping center where are all franchises, is a neighborhood quiet
The property is located in a strategic location near the bus station in Quito, which allowed me to meet many attractions like the Cotopaxi Volcano, Otavalo, Quito and then take my bus right there to go to the city Banos. The staff is very attentive, I was given many indications maps sightseeing, visiting places efficiently and get the most out of my time, room was very clean and spotless bathroom, would recommend to a friend.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dingy hotel near the bus station

Posted Feb 3, 2015 on Hotels
We chose this hotel for the proximity to the bus station (we arrived late at night and left early the next morning for Banos). The hotel wasn't dirty, but it was dingy, dark, and unwelcoming. I'm glad we only stayed there for one evening.
1 out of 5
by honest john from California

Worst Hotel Experience Ever!

Posted Jan 31, 2014
Pros: Leaving
Cons: Everything, starting with staff.
Location: Noisy
This was absolutely the worst hotel experience ever. I have traveled all over the world and can honestly say this was a giant mistake. The staff charged us for things without authorization, thier shuttle service was $ 70 and then would not provide a ride back to the airport. The room stunk of urine and there was evidence of rodents on the property. Dogs howled and barked all night and the traffic noise was incessant. The manager or owner had a bed right behind the check in counter, right there in the lobby! They refused any reasonable request. The bell boy actually told the cab driver to try and over charge us. This was told to us by the cabbie who also told us the place has a terrible reputation locally as well. Stay away from this rip off joint. Do yourself a huge favor.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 11, 2016 by Gerencia Hotel Gran Quitumbe, Hotel Management
Kindest regards of those who make up the Hotel Gran Quitumbe The charge was made based on the reservation you made was a Twin Room which costs $ 45, your reservation was modality payment on arrival you had to pay for it at the hotel but unfortunately you thought by data the credit card provided at the time of booking the payment thereof had already been made but you failed to grasp the explanation given by the members of our reception. You are bothered by the shuttle from the airport to our hotel provided Hotel you, you make a call in which he was told the fee the same cost of $ 35 which is the same as a regular taxi I was treated very badly the person who gave him the same service obviously will refuse to serve again for the transfer from the hotel to the airport. With respect to other situations you had exclaimed very grotesque and threatening the staff would make a bad comment that our staff tried hard to give any explanation you throw your credit card and your payment was signed by you in Ecuador if person does not agree with paying just no signature and no way to make the payment thereof. We are confident That We provide an opportunity to serve you again and Have the opportunity to offer our warm and personalized service Have a very good life Atte Byron Suntaxi Hotel Gran Quitumbe
5 out of 5
by Dorothy MacMillan from UK

Ok for one night

Posted Jan 13, 2014 on Hotels
We stayed one night as it's close to bus station and we wanted an early start. Staff very friendly but room tiny and so was the bed......however for one night and for the money it was good value. It was very clean. Only one place to eat you could walk to but excellent and cheap food.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A little cramped, nice staff

Posted Dec 28, 2013 on Hotels
Our hotel room was quite nice and clean but really cramped! The bed was also a bit too small for two people and not very comfortable. The tap was only cold water; however, the shower was excellent. The staff were really friendly and nice, but didn't speak any English (except for 1guy). The neighborhood isn't the nicest, but the hotel is very conveniently close to a bus station.