Ratings based on 39 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Rebecca from london

lovely small hotel with good welcome.

Posted Mar 31, 2016 on Hotels
I had been awake and travelling for more than 24 hours when I arrived late at night. Once realising google maps wasn't quite accurate and it was a bit further along the road the reception staff greeted me nicely. He knew my name (on the booking I said I would arrive late) and was welcoming, he also spoke some English which is helpful. The room was exactly as in photos, very clean and cosy, the whole hotel was beautifully designed. I believe it used to be an embassy building so has a safe gate at the front. They were happy to store bags after you checkout so you can go site seeing (walkable distance) and helpful with maps and directions/bus routes. The breakfast was a bit minimalistic (eggs some toast a small plate of fruit and coffee tea and juice) probably the only downside.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent budget choice.

Posted Feb 17, 2016
Pros: See above.
Cons: See above.
Location: See above.
Reasonably close to the tourist precint - a 10 minute walk or a cheap three minute taxi ride. Rooms comfortable but a bit chilly. Miguel and the staff were very helpful. If you need a driver to get you to the sights, ask for Luis. As this is basically a three star option it lacks the facilities we usually have a higher star hotels. However, for three stars this is pretty good!!!
3 out of 5
by Rick from florida

high price, low amenities

Posted Aug 21, 2015 on Hotels
The problem was bad wi fi, tv not working, breakfast minimum and I paid more than any hotel in ecuador. Room dated but clean, management friendly.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A nice spot.

Posted Jul 27, 2015 on Hotels
Lovely converted mansion with a courtyard in a convenient neighborhood. Overall clean with hot water but spotty wifi. TV screen was small and didn't immediately work (the onsite technician needed to be alerted). Breakfast was delicious. Service was excellent. Next to the foreign consulates.
5 out of 5
by Marie from Los Angeles County, California

La Cartuja Top Notch!

Posted Jun 11, 2015 on Hotels
What a wonderfully convenient neighborhood, close to the big museum and Casa Cultura (a must-do, free admission and really top-notch), and the park with art shows on weekends, three blocks from in-town artesan's market, and close the some of the bigger, more touristy-hotels if you need a "fix" in one of their bars. La Cartuja staff outstanding- friendly, kind, completely helpful with everything requested. The rooms just right for the price, and a comfy living-room/library style public area, not to mention the garden. We were only there for three days, and busy all the time, but when we come back Cartuja would be our first choice as a base for a longer visit to the region!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent

Posted Apr 11, 2015
It is not an extravagant hotel but who needs luxury anyway. For the price it is excellent, so is the location and the staff. Highly recommended.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NEW YORK

SUPER SERVICE FOR THE PRICE

Posted Apr 10, 2015
These guys give you a hilton service plus with a 66 motel price jajaja Nice stay with no hesitate good location
3 out of 5
by Sarah from Sydney

Nice, quiet little hotel in a nice neighbourhood

Posted Mar 31, 2015 on Hotels
I stayed at La Cartuja before and after an Intrepid trip, in a 3 different rooms. Room 6 was a double room over looking the street. Big window and a comfy double bed, tv and lounge chair. Shower was good too. Room 8 was a twin room over looking the back garden - nice large windows. In both these rooms the wifi wasn't strong, so if you need to research or work, you'd need to go downstairs to the breakfast area. Room number 2 on the ground floor had the best wifi signal - again, comfortable beds, nice shower with ok pressure and warmth. TV didn't work in this room during my stay. Breakfast is scrambled eggs, toast, a few pieces of cut fruit, juice and tea & coffee. Filtered water is available at all times in the breakfast area. Staff were lovely, and mostly helpful. If my Spanish was better it would have been easier to communicate with some members of the staff. FYI - this area on the weekend is pretty quiet. There is a McDonalds and KFC nearby, and a Sweet & Coffee shop too. Many more food options on the weekdays/nights. Not a lot of brochures on tourist options, ask the staff for their help.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Anchorage, Alaska

Excellent value - great location with good price.

Posted Feb 2, 2015
Pros: Cozy atmosphere felt more like a guest house than a hotel, but had the amenities I was looking for.
Cons: It would have been nice to have a hair dryer in the room, and some coca tea on hand for guests with altitude sickness.
Location: Close to the action without being right in the middle of it. There's a nice park about 2 blocks away, and lots of restaurants about 3 blocks away.
I was very pleased that the staff spoke English, as I don't speak Spanish. They sent a driver to pick me up from the airport on my arrival and arranged for him to take me back to the airport for my departure. I was especially pleased to be able to check in right away (at 9am) instead of having to wait until later in the afternoon, which allowed me to sleep off my jet lag. Breakfasts were not fancy but delicious, plenty of hot water for a shower. One staff member gave me a map of Quito and some suggestions on things to do (and how to get there) and places to eat. My only complaint might be the street noise (including occasional sirens) I heard even though I had the room upstairs facing the courtyard. But for my 2-day stay, this was a great choice.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very friendly staff

Posted Feb 1, 2015 on Hotels
Friendly staff - plus spoke English well which was a bonus! Went out of their way to make sure I caught a reasonably priced, but safe cab to my next hotel. Then, when the cab driver was unsure of the location they phoned the next hotel to get exact directions. Very helpful. Room was basic, but the staff and the communal areas made up for it.