Ratings based on 73 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Jordan

Very good hotel for those who cherish Arab culture

Posted May 13, 2017
Pros: The staff, the decoration, the breakfast, and the smile.
Cons: Improve the bathroom
Location: Near beach, near castle, near cultural bazaars and souqs
Great hotel. Small number of rooms so you get royal attention. Smooth in and out. Classical view. You feel you own the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington DC

Wonderful oasis in heart of medina

Posted Dec 23, 2016
The décor was tasteful and well thought-through, the room was comfortable and luxurious and the breakfast on the sunny terrace delicious. We had a last minute late arrival, and the staff was incredibly accommodating and helpful. We treated ourselves to the hammam and massage package, and it was worth every penny. Highly recommend Dar El Kebira as an oasis of peace and comfort for your next getaway in the heart of the Rabat medina!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 8, 2017 by Moulay ALAOUI, Hotel Management
Dear Elena, Thank you very much for your absolutely flattering comment and for taking the time to share your views on TripAdvisor! We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay among us and we are grateful for such a nice description of Dar El Kebira. Hoping to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon. Warmest regards,
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old Riad, needs upgrading

Posted Dec 7, 2016 on Hotels
The worst hotel and the most expensive on our three week trip to Morocco. We booked through Hotels.com and at check in, were given a room that was like a closet. No windows or any natural light coming in at all. The double bed was up a very unsafe small steps with a small closet sized bathroom downstairs. When we complained that the room was not acceptable, we were shown a better room off the main waiting area which was acceptable. Then when we got our bags from the dungeon, we were told that this room was not available. We were then shown a room in the back with a full size short bed, old velvet bedspread and makeshift bathroom. At this point, it was late in the evening and we did not have a choice to walk around the medina to find another hotel. Very uncomfortable night. At breakfast, we were 10 mins late and were told off by the staff serving up on the terrace. Yet there were people there having breakfast. We were served coffee and bread with jams. All done in a surly manner. This was the first time in Morocco to get a room that was very unpleasant and very surly service. Never again. The place is old and needs upgrading. The sofas in the waiting area have stains on them and the curtains are coming off the hooks.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 8, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay at Dar el Kebira. We sincerely regret that you have not fully enjoyed your stay in our Riad as expected. Please note that our Guests' Satisfaction is extremely important for us and our staff is dedicated to serve all our guests at the best level. Thanks again and look forward in having the chance to welcome you in the future. Best Regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Gorgeous hotel in the medina

Posted Nov 26, 2016
The boutique hotel is simply amazing. Beautifully decorated, located right in the medina with fresh fruits in the room, welcoming mint tea and dates with nuts, this hotel was our favorite! We felt treated like a royal family at breakfast served upstairs overlooking the old city. What a memorable first day in Morocco. Just one note, the taxi can't drive in the narrow streets of medina, so be prepared to roll your luggage for 5 min or so.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 8, 2017 by Moulay ALAOUI, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We want to thank you for taking the time to write a comment and share your experience with the TripAdvisor community, Here at Dar el kebira, we believe that having an experience in a Riad is much more that just a place to sleep and have breakfast. Dar el kebira is a place to rest from the hustle and bustle of the medina and to be feel welcome in a warm, relaxing a cosseted environment, where your dreams will be fulfilled.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Washington DC

Pros and Cons of the Riyad

Posted Nov 20, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: All staff (except residential office manager.) Location. Great breakfast. Strong internet.
Cons: Details: No slippers as stated. Tolietries replaced sporadically. No phone (who knew). Lack of communication and clarity of penalties and deadlin
Location: Center of medina but easy access to road to hail a taxi. Near beach and kasbah.
Recently stayed there a week. Cons: Beware of hotel reservations issues as they will charge you a full daily rate as penalties if you make any changes to your reservation. Even when giving plenty advance notice of reservation changes, they still fight with you that one member of the staff did not inform them of the changes and do not communicate with you that they received the changes, so it becomes their word against yours - all for an immediate buck with the assumption that you will not return. Office manager is unpleasant and unhelpful. However, new office support Noelle is excellent and is so much better than the residential office manager. No phones in room. Pros: Incredible support staff that go out of their way to help. Quiet and calm. Great location and beautiful interiors. Summary: Would stay there again IF I thought that there was 100 percent assurance that I had no changes to my reservation dates...that is a big "but" given travel uncertainties. Not good for business travelers.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Abingdon on Thames UK

A Hidden Gem

Posted Nov 13, 2016
Pros: The decor and ambience
Cons: Location
Location: Recommend Chella by taxi and Hassan Tower by foot.
This Riad is tucked away in the Medina in Rabat. Once you find your way around you realise that it's not too far off the beaten track. We stayed in a large suite which had beautiful original furnishings. Breakfast was served on the roof terrace and provided a delicious selection of fresh fruit, crepes, cheese, olives and bread rolls.Unlimited coffee and cooked eggs available on request. The restaurant for evening meals was based in the downstairs salon which was furnished with beautifully decorated bench style seating and cushions. The main shopping area which caters for every taste in food, carpets, trinkets and leatherware is about five minutes away in the narrow medina streets. There are very few restaurants within the Medina and no bars or western style cafes. You need to go outside the medina to the riverside to find any more restaurants. These are about 10 minutes away, on a busy riverside road. There are a couple of good fish restaurants next to the beach which is about 15 minutes walk. The riad staff were very attentive and polite - nothing was too much trouble. Rabat city is not a destination for beach lovers and although there are some excellent historical sights, the remainder of the place is somewhat bland. Would only recommend as a short break destination.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 9, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wonderful riad, highly recommend

Posted Sep 23, 2016 on Hotels
Can't say enough about this riad. It was a lovely place, and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The room was beautifully decorated and very comfortable. Like most riads, it was cozy but not so much for it to feel cramped. The staff was amazing and extremely helpful, providing us with the best recommendations for food and sites we shouldn't miss. The breakfast was plentiful and delicious. The location is perfect. You will love it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic experience.

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Excellently located in the heart of the Medina, this authentic Riyadh is a delight. The staff were ver friendly and the whole experience was fantastic.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 5, 2016 on Hotels