Ratings based on 75 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Beautiful hotel spa and golf getaway !

Posted Sep 10, 2016 on Hotels
Beautiful hotel but the golf course is okay (greens a little too bumpy) and course drainage after a rain was very poor. Design was pretty fun to play on the links course. Finally, the dinner was a bit over priced all around the only 3 restaurant options however the breakfast which was free, was beautifully laid out in a gorgeous room and it was excellent. The Spa was the highlight of the resort for certain and is included with your stay - be sure to utilize this!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 5, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest "Anonymous from Vancouver", We would like to thank you to have dedicated your precious time in reviewing our property and services after your stay. We are particularly proud in reading that your overall experience in our resort, golf included, was to your satisfaction. Our customer's comments are a very important input that help us to continuously improve the level of services we always strive for. Looking forward to welcoming you again at Donnafugata Golf Resort, I remain with Best regards Giulio Polegato, General Manager Donnafugata Golf Resort & Spa
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from fife, scotland

Good Golfing destination

Posted Apr 23, 2016
Pros: Staff and layout were excellent
Cons: The Bunkers on the golf courses were the worst I have ever played out of.
Location: Nice coastal fishing villages and beaches
Start to finish enjoyed the food and wine although the outdoor swimming pool was closed for most of the time
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

overpriced and overrated

Posted Nov 19, 2015
Pros: breakfast
Cons: the spa is cold and needs to be improved
Location: nothing except for the castle of donnafugata, which is not very interesting
on paper it could be perfect, but the details highlight many weaknesses, for a price which is higher than comparable other places. the grounds/buildings are pretty, but the place is huge, fragmented and hard to get from the hall, to the room and to the spa. the spa service is weak - for example there is no hot tub - and also you only get 1 free hour with your night's stay, after which you have to pay. the setting is pretty but it is far from any town, so you have to either do everything in the compound or drive several miles to the nearest (and minor) towns.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Will book again here

Posted Aug 18, 2015 on Hotels
Booked for airline crews and no complaints, they enjoyed the staff.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Mediocre ressort with a hefty price tag

Posted Jul 27, 2015 on Hotels
This ressort is in around 30 minutes away from the coast of Marina di Ragusa in the middle of nowhere. It is a golf-ressort, also suitable for families. The rooms are a little bit away from the reception, so they offer you a transfer in the golf cart - I found that most of the rooms were not easily accessible without stairs. The breakfast is only mediocre and so it the service. Also the pool could get a renovation soon. The rooms are in a very good shape. Overall but not worth the high price.
3 out of 5
by Deborah from Brisbane, Australia

Spoiling the golf mad husband...

Posted Jul 10, 2015 on Hotels
* The room and resort facilities were wonderful and in a beautiful golf course setting * Complimentary shuttle to the private beach accessed via the nature reserve was lovely * Great variety and tasty options for breakfast * The service however overall was poor - food service was very inattentive, slow and impersonal * We asked for a bucket of ice from reception in person and were sent away and told to go to a bar. After being then waived on from place to place a further 3 times we still did not get ice. I would expect that for the star rating and tariff that reception should have taken on the ownership & arranged for ice to be sent to our room instead of us traipsing around the resort to unsuccessfully find it. * The flies at the resort are out of control and spoiled outdoor dining and poolside relaxing * Was disappointed by the refusal of our request to extend checkout by just 1 hour to cover finishing time of my husband's last golf round
5 out of 5
by Louise from Davis, CA

Wonderful place for golf and spa vacation.

Posted Jun 25, 2015 on Hotels
Elegant, tranquil location with a great golf course and spa. Staff was particularly helpful. As we were leaving a valet spotted that we had a flat tire and repaired for us within 20 minutes and had to beforced to accept a tip.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ireland

Should be better....

Posted Jun 19, 2015
Pros: Good design and well executed interior design.
Cons: Service, service, service. As a 5 star be proactive, think of what the customer needs before they have to go and search/argue with you to get it...
Location: Not much unless you have a car... There beach is a lot further away than advertised.
Lovely hotel setting, and great design and interior. However, a hotel like this needs the finesse of service, which it lacks. A special exception to Alessandra, Paolo and Vincenzo - who tired hard and did what was needed. The house keeping team and golf team were good..... The rest need to figure out if "hospitality" is their forte. And here lies the hotels "Achilles heel" - it just hits a 2 out of 5 on service. For the money it's a disgrace. I would not stay here again, the price for golf was too high for the standard of the course, menu in the restaurants was limited and desserts menu appalling. Best food was at the breakfast which was good, but 5 star should be table service not buffet... Booking a car is essential, and pack wad of cash... They charge you for everything. In essence a 7 night b&b stay, if you eat and play golf there 4 times is the expensive than staying at a Kempenski in Turkey for example... And the service will frustrate you, the wifi will drive you nuts, and the limitation of 1 hour in the spa for guests will make you angry, that's before you get ripped off with the hotels airport transfer service ( hire a taxi, it's cheaper and safer!). All in all, the hotel "team" was represented well by 3 people, plus the hard work from the golf/housekeeping staff.... The rest were ABYSMAL.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Out of the way and inconvenient

Posted May 25, 2015
Nice enough if you absolutely have to play golf on vacation. Otherwise, the location is in the middle of nowhere and the services and accommodations are fine but nothing special.
4 out of 5
by Matt from DC

Posted Sep 4, 2014 on Hotels
This hotel is great, rooms are very comfortable, well decorated; the spa is amazing; the pool is nice. The only things that I didn't like are: - you have to book everything in advance. When we arrived all the activities were already fully booked: the spa was fully booked, so was the restaurant, even the beach was full!!! - the restaurants are not very good. Even the gastronomic restaurant is not that great.