Ratings based on 41 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from fife, scotland

Good Golfing destination

Posted Apr 23, 2016
Pros: Staff and layout were excellent
Cons: The Bunkers on the golf courses were the worst I have ever played out of.
Location: Nice coastal fishing villages and beaches
Start to finish enjoyed the food and wine although the outdoor swimming pool was closed for most of the time
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

overpriced and overrated

Posted Nov 19, 2015
Pros: breakfast
Cons: the spa is cold and needs to be improved
Location: nothing except for the castle of donnafugata, which is not very interesting
on paper it could be perfect, but the details highlight many weaknesses, for a price which is higher than comparable other places. the grounds/buildings are pretty, but the place is huge, fragmented and hard to get from the hall, to the room and to the spa. the spa service is weak - for example there is no hot tub - and also you only get 1 free hour with your night's stay, after which you have to pay. the setting is pretty but it is far from any town, so you have to either do everything in the compound or drive several miles to the nearest (and minor) towns.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ireland

Should be better....

Posted Jun 19, 2015
Pros: Good design and well executed interior design.
Cons: Service, service, service. As a 5 star be proactive, think of what the customer needs before they have to go and search/argue with you to get it...
Location: Not much unless you have a car... There beach is a lot further away than advertised.
Lovely hotel setting, and great design and interior. However, a hotel like this needs the finesse of service, which it lacks. A special exception to Alessandra, Paolo and Vincenzo - who tired hard and did what was needed. The house keeping team and golf team were good..... The rest need to figure out if "hospitality" is their forte. And here lies the hotels "Achilles heel" - it just hits a 2 out of 5 on service. For the money it's a disgrace. I would not stay here again, the price for golf was too high for the standard of the course, menu in the restaurants was limited and desserts menu appalling. Best food was at the breakfast which was good, but 5 star should be table service not buffet... Booking a car is essential, and pack wad of cash... They charge you for everything. In essence a 7 night b&b stay, if you eat and play golf there 4 times is the expensive than staying at a Kempenski in Turkey for example... And the service will frustrate you, the wifi will drive you nuts, and the limitation of 1 hour in the spa for guests will make you angry, that's before you get ripped off with the hotels airport transfer service ( hire a taxi, it's cheaper and safer!). All in all, the hotel "team" was represented well by 3 people, plus the hard work from the golf/housekeeping staff.... The rest were ABYSMAL.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Out of the way and inconvenient

Posted May 25, 2015
Nice enough if you absolutely have to play golf on vacation. Otherwise, the location is in the middle of nowhere and the services and accommodations are fine but nothing special.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Malta

Good hotel could be great

Posted Jul 25, 2014
Just got back from 4 nights at this resort and overall we had a very good time. The grounds and rooms are both nice so is the pool and spa. The food at the hotel is good but not great, would be good to be able to get a pizza onsite. Hotel needs some more attention to detail when it comes to staff being polite and things like not having enough umbrellas for the pool sunbeds. Small things that would help make it even better.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by bobr from uk

Six star

Posted Jun 13, 2014
Its fab! Incredible breakfast. Lots of room Attentive and happy staff
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nottingham, England

Beautiful hotel in rural setting

Posted Jun 8, 2014
Fantastic service, beautiful buildings, rooms, facilities. Child friendly although more adult feel to the hotel and no specific children's activities. Quite isolated so need a car to get around. New beach club opening in June, very frustrating as we missed it by 2 weeks. Food good, not excellent but good and very good value.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by frank from somerset

Wonderful spa facilities.

Posted Oct 9, 2013
Pros: It was very quiet and calm.
Cons: Directions to hotel must be improved. Illuminating main entrance would be a major improvement. An informal snack bar for a sandwich and coffee.
Location: The nearest beach, Marina de Ragusa is lovely. Ragusa, Modica are a significant drive away. Not ideally suited for touring.
Very poor signage and directions to hotel, most people seemed to arrive at reception, tired, hungry and distressed after a long drive (from Catania). Breakfast buffet good, but not brilliant. On site restaurants are limited and expensive. Beware speciality nights, generally not good value. On a positive note the rooms are sumptuous, we stayed in a standard room that was way beyond our expectations. The spa and staff are exceptional, and we left totally relaxed at the end of our week. They also play golf.......but we tried to ignore it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by CAS from Arizona

You Don't Have to Play Golf to enjoy!

Posted Jul 4, 2013
Pros: The property, pool and the location!
Location: We had a private tour of an 'herb' farm, which was fascinating and amazing! Then we ate in a town where they close to cars on Sunday 9pm-midnight!
We were in Sicily for our anniversary and our friends from Catania we going to spend the last few days with us when they told us about Donna Fugata and we were NOT disappointed. Its a golf resort and spa but you definitely don't have to stay there to play golf. The property is beautiful, the pool is lovely, the rooms are nice, the restaurant at night on the roof is fabulous and we had a great time! They have a spa but we were just too busy to use it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Laszlo from England, UK

Great place to relax or play.

Posted Jun 27, 2013
Pros: The setting and facilities
Cons: Slightly difficult to find. It is not in the village of Donnafugata but a few miles to the south.
Location: Rolling golf courses surround hotel with distant sea views
Lovely hotel and resort in beautiful setting. Restaurants and wine bar give choice of informal or formal dining. Staff very attentive and helpful