Ratings based on 18 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Generally good standard. Only very minor niggles: grit/dust from ceiling/walls tends to reappear each day, despite cleanliness of room (probably unavoidable); good choice of items for breakfast, but no fresh orange juice; a bit hard to find by car and parking is a little way away (part of the charm of Ragusa?)
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Turkey

very difficult to climbe to the rooms

Posted Mar 8, 2016
Pros: Maybe location
Cons: English speaking personal.
Beware of uneven stairs, in the bathroom you might easily hit your head . Breakfast is just ok. Locations is good parking is a problem. Staff did not speak english we needed to wait for 30 mins for reception. Confirmation was not there and they made us wait until the owner speaks to the reception guy.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lilongwe, Malawi

Charming little hotel on a charming little town

Posted Jul 30, 2015
The hotel is on Ragusa Ibla, the lower town, which has the Duomo and where tourists are more likely to linger. Upper Ragusa is accessible on foot. The hotel owners run a Michelin-starred restaurant in the vicinity, but the reception desk was kind enough to recommend two trattorias with more traditional fare. My room was fairly tiny, particularly the bathroom, the design of which required some ingenuity due to the very limited space available. Still, a very convenient option for a stop-over on this charming little town.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Tiny, friendly hotel

Posted Jun 24, 2015
Pros: Character
Location: In the World heritage area of Ragusa Ibla. There is a beach about ten miles away where the hotel has a private area.
When full this hotel has 22 guests, it must have nearly as many staff. It is built into the side of the hill, like most things in Ragussa Ibla and hence has a lot of stairs but it is worth climbing them to get to the characterful rooms. Breakfast, which is on offer for four hours in the morning, has a wide range of cheeses, cold meat, cakes fruit and yoghurt. Plus fruit juice tea/ coffee etc. We had a nightmare journey to Sicily, entirely the fault of Rome airport The hotel staff, who had booked us a taxi from the airport, kept in touch with us and the taxi driver so that when we finally arrived seven hours late, the taxi was still waiting and reception staff were available to greet us. What more could you ask for?
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from England

Some difficulties

Posted Apr 26, 2015
Pros: The room
Cons: Staff training
Small hotel in a good position. Acces to all bedrooms up VERY steep, diificult to manage stone staircase. Breakfast only adequate - no hot food. Some staff rather unfriendly and unnhelpful. Internet and hotel phones down for our 3 night stay.
1 out of 5
by Jim from Argyll, Scotland.

Not a 4star hotel really a glorified B&B

Posted Jun 24, 2014
Pros: The staff were helpful and courteous
Cons: It would require a total revamp and especially with regard to the standard of breakfast. Taken into account it's sister Michelin starred Restaurant.
Location: The centre of Ragusa is a pleasant easy walk along lovely narrow road emerging into the main square next to the Duomo.Ragusa is brilliant.
The Private Beach at Ragusa Marina is an Extra which you have to pay for, so in reality it has no facilities if you exclude the Bar/Breakfast Room. The standard of breakfast fare was extremely poor the same every morning with the choice of fruit reducing as the week progressed. The shower was so small u could hardly turn around and the quality of the bathroom facilities poor. Overall very poor value for the money and a hugh disappointment
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brunswick, ME, USA

Atmospheric Hotel

Posted Jun 23, 2014
This is a great base from which to explore wonderfully quaint Ragusa. It is a 10 minute stroll up and down hill to the Piazza del Duomo; just far enough to make you feel like you're living in the city. The breakfast is great, excellent pastries; I wish we would have a few more mornings to try them all. My only complaint is the shotty internet, which only really worked in the lobby.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Greenville MS

Nice hotel

Posted May 29, 2008
Only problem for us was locating the hotel. We did not appreciate that the hotel is in Ragusa Ibla on the Northeast side of Ragusa. I suggest a GPS system in your rental car to facilitate finding the hotel. The room was well appointed, clean and comfortable. We would stay there again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

The staff at this hotel are deplorable. Spend your money, elsewhere!

Posted Feb 4, 2008
The main problem with this hotel are the staff. Firstly when i asked the 'lady' at the front desk whether she could confirm what time a train would be leaving Ragusa from Pozallo I was told 'In Sicily, people travel by hire car or taxi'. I advised that i had been travelling through Sicily via train and bus and could she please get me the information I had requested (as she had access to the internet) to which i was advised 'there is no such train' and 'I dont have time and I can't help you'. I was forced to find an Internet cafe and obtain the information myself which is not what I expect at a 4 star hotel. The second incident involved the breakfast staff who were two uptight middle aged women who had obviously never come across a tattoo. Upon an icy morning greeting and them serving us a very mediocre cappucino the two ladies proceeded to stare at my partner's tattoo and criticise it. They either didnt know or didnt care that I understood what they were saying - it wasn't complimentary. The room we stayed in was not up to scratch -it sufferred from damp and needed a lick of paint. I cut our stay from two nights to one and wouldn't recommend this hotel to my worst enemy. Stay right away from this overpriced , unfriendly hotel. I regret wasting my money here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Love and Food

Posted Sep 26, 2007
If you like both your love and your food beautiful go to Ragusa, stay in this simple but luxurious hotel, and eat at their amazing restaurant. Walk the Piazza's and eat gelato, hand and hand with your lady love as you gaze upon unspoiled vistas and charming views. Sicily is the home of gelato - the eat it for breakfast stuffed into a sliced Brioche. Do this too - for life is meant to be lived