Ratings based on 49 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel in Ragusa Ibla

Posted Jan 2, 2017
I wish to compliment this hotel for its clean, beautiful room. We had a room with a hillside view as well. Most importantly, the hospitality shown by the staff is impeccable, and the best we had in Sicily. They always went the extra mile, such as calling our room to inform us that the hotel breakfast is ending, and if we would like to come down to have it. One of my coat buttons fell out, and one of the staff, by the name of Janna, immediately extended her help in helping me sew back the buttons! I must especially compliment her great service. The service, is the icing on the cake for this otherwise beautifully located hotel, with its clean and modern interiors. Finally, if you are driving in Sicily, the San Giorgio provides free parking space, which is extremely important and a great source of convenience to know you won't have issues with finding a safe parking space overnight! Will highly recommend a stay in this hotel if anyone visits Ragusa.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brooklyn, NY

A modern gem with fantastic views

Posted Nov 5, 2016
Pros: Cleanliness and spaciousness.
Cons: Breakfast room/restaurant lacked some decor.
Beautiful, spacious room with great view. The bathroom was modern and huge, to die for! Staff was friendly. Came in November, so hotel very empty. Weather couldn't be better.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in Ragusa Ibla

Posted Oct 28, 2016
Great central location and good breakfast. All you need for a relaxing stay with plenty of roadside parking.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sidmouth, UK

Interesting hotel close to centre of Ragusa Ibla

Posted Aug 6, 2016
Pros: see above
Cons: nothing
Location: Easy access to the historic town centre with many interesting monuments in this world heritage site. Numerous options for eating and drinking.
We cannot recommend San Giorgio Palace too highly. We had two stays, one of one day and one of two. The hotel is quirky, built over six floors, but into a hillside. Level 5 gives you access to the upper reaches of the town. We had two separate, very different rooms, one on the ground floor, and one on the sixth. Both were clean, well-equipped and comfortable. Breakfast was excellent and plentiful, and the staff could not have been more helpful. We will certainly stay there again if we return to Ragusa.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Excellent for your stay in Ragusa.

Posted Jul 14, 2016
Pros: Very clean, Very well appointed, large rooms, good bed, great views, shower etc.
Cons: add tissues for morning ucck. Otherwise you have to use toilet paper. Better Signs for hotel.
Location: Location is excellent. Walk to center of old town in five minutes All streets well lighted at night. Great restaurants, Duomo and museum.
Wonderfful well located hotel in the old town (Ibla). Beautiful rooms, everything worked well. Good Breakfast. Our main albeit small concern was that they did not have tissues in the room. Inbound took a taxi from the train station to the Hotel (20 Euros) called from a bar. Outbound we hired a driver and car to show us Noto and Modico then he dropped us off in Siracusa (150 Euros - Chauffeurs Italy 39 347 6708 101 - talk with Miriam she was brought up in Canada and speaks excellent English) Tourist travel in this part of the world is very difficult. Mostly busses and private cars. Rail travel is very primitive and times from one place to another did not work for us. You need to speak a bit of Italian to get by here. Summers are hot 95+ degrees every day. Food is better than other parts of Italy. Go before it turns into a tourist mecca. This was our fourth visit to Sicily, second on this part of the island.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Really close to the town very convenient

Posted Dec 13, 2015
Very comfortable room with wonderful valley views, just ticks all the boxes
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel Restruant -- poor

Posted Nov 9, 2015
Pros: it seemed more upscale than most Hotels in Sicily -- room was nice -- wyfi worked and staff was very helpful
Cons: The restruant is way overrated but it was the close of their season and the hotel had very few gueat
Location: Eat at the beach -- lots of great place to eat -- like the old town -- cute place to hang out
We had a bad experience at dinner in the hotel's restruant -- their summer season end and they had a limited staff -- like one server who didnot understand our order, we wanted to share not have all the food at once and we ordered veal and he gave us beef. When we made a complaint he said we could stil orde the veal -- anyway the hotel is nice -- hard to find ad it is up a narrow road == like one car road that overlooks the city; Grounds are nice -- the poor was way too cold -- bkfast was good
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Nice enough hotel but they're hyping their reviews

Posted Oct 19, 2015
Pros: Pretty, well located, good breakfast (except you can't get any orange juice, even bottled, "until next month").
Be careful of their reviews. They push too hard to get guests to give them better than they deserve. Nice enough hotel with a good location. The Manager/desk clerk/bell hop/breakfast waiter is very nice and anxious to please. But twice during check in he pushed us to promise to review them and give them no less than 5 stars. In between he apologized for how tiny our room was going to be. Turns out what they call a "Superior" room is the smallest room in the hotel and it is really Tiny! (Superior to the broom closet, I suppose ;-) But it is priced so well it is still a very good value. Other rooms are reportedly good sized. Too few sockets, in very hard to reach locations. Would have preferred another pillow. Web site says has restaurant but doesn't say it serves only breakfast. Can't drive to lobby so have to haul your own luggage a long way up to get in. After he knew we weren't thrilled, he pushed us really hard not to post an honest review.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from west yorkshire

Lovely hotel good location for exploring Ragusa

Posted Oct 16, 2015
Pros: Staff and accomodation.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Very handy for Ragusa Ibla. Plenty of restaurants nearby.
This is the second time we have stayed at the San Giorgio hotel. Would definatly stay again. Hotel is lovely and the staff are lovely and really helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Hampshire, UK

Quiet hotel, well located, excellent service

Posted Oct 11, 2015
Pros: Service from staff was excellent, location ideal for Ragusa Ibla
Cons: More facilities - but I understand the hotel is undergoing expansion so these are on there way
Location: Close to centre of old town, Cathedral, restaurants, other sites. Pleasant public gardens in town to relax in
From the friendly helpful welcome on our arrival, through to the beautiful room, excellent breakfast and superb service from all the staff, we had a great stay. The hotel is clean and modern and located close to the sites and restaurants. Both the manager and his assistant did everything they could to make our stay pleasant and comfortable, assisting with parking, restaurant bookings, bus routes etc. A very pleasant stay and base for part of our Sicilian experience