Ratings based on 15 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Very comfortable stay just outside Siracusa

Posted Jun 7, 2016
Location: The hotel wasn't easy to find, but, once given proper instructions, it was very easy to get to from the motorway and into the centre of Siracusa.
This hotel has two lovely swimming pools, large gardens, and a playground for children. It is set in beautiful countryside. The staff are very attentive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Great hotel in central location

Posted Jun 12, 2015
Torre Don Virgillio is a beautifully restored stone Masseria from 600AD. This is as authentic as it gets! Centrally located between Modica, Ragusa, Scicli and the southern coast for short drives to each.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Leah from England

Awesome!

Posted Sep 10, 2013
Pros: The wine was one of our favorites! The staff was extremely friendly and very helpful. They made us feel very welcomed! Thank you again to all!
Cons: When you have perfection how can one improve? If all staff continue to accomodate to their guest, then this resort will have a long life!
Location: So very sorry but quick trip and didn't get to see too much of Modica. So very much history all around us!
Wish we could have stayed longer at this one! There for one night but they took care of us. We were up very early in the morning for our flight into Trapani, Sicily. We then drove to Agrigento for a quick visit of the Valley of Temples. We pressed on to Modica. We were to arrive at the hotel by 8:14 according to our sat nav. We took wrong exit and it was a while before we were back on track. After several calls to the front desk in order to find the hotel, the young man offered to come meet us and bring us in. We agreed. It was dark, we were tired, hungry and just wanted to go to bed! It was so very nice of him to do this for us. We thank him again and so very sorry we didn't get his name! Once there, he asked if we were hungry and wanted something to eat? Yes. About 10 pm we went over to the restaurant. This young man who waited on us was also very nice. We had a wonderful dinner and the food was excellent. The wine, even better! So good, we ordered another bottle and took it back to the room with us. Went to bed. Early next morning we awoke to shower but no shower. They did have a jacuzzi bath tub. We're shower people but the bath was nice for something different. Off to breakfast. Also very good. Especially loved the watermelon. We can't say enough about this place except we wish we had more time there to just chill. It was all revamped in 2007 and they did a wonderful job. Very clean, fresh but still had the old world charm! I hope we get to come back to Torre Don someday
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Johnny from London, UK

Very nice country hotel

Posted Apr 1, 2012
Location: As most places in Sicily the roads to the hotel are not great.The hotel itself is beautifully kept and looked after by the live in owner and his staff
Friendly mid size country hotel run by the friendliest people you will meet in Sicily.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Ottima struttura ben gestita e pulita...unico inconveniente aria condizionata centralizzata a fasce orarie che crea qualche disagio...
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from dk

Dejlige omgivelser, desværre uden atmosfære

Posted Jul 28, 2016
Vi havde glædet os til at bo på dette smukke sted. Omgivelserne er fantastiske og værelset fint, men desværre ingen charme eller atmosfære. Stilheden og de rolige omgivelser er skønne, men der mangler simpelthen personlighed. Maden var kedelig, tør, uinspirerende og serveret af personale uden noget arrangement. Der er ingen aktivitet i form af en lille bar om aftenen hvor man ku få en drink. Der er en poolbar men ikke et øje i den. Der står legeplads til børn, det bar 3 plasticting i en hvepserede. Hvis der havde være kræset lidt mere for den sicilienske charme og gode madkultur havde dette sted været fantastisk. Men i forhold til andre familieejet steder vi har boet på, er det her sted det mest anonyme. Ærgerligt for der er virkelig potentiale.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Roma

Masseria piena di fascino nelle campagne di Modica

Posted May 25, 2016
Pros: Il restauro accurato della masseria, le prime colazioni golose nel cortile interno soleggiato.
Cons: E' stato tutto molto confortevole, suggerirei solo qualche piano d'appoggio nel bagno e qualche gancio per i teli doccia.
Location: La masseria è immersa nella splendida campagna modicana, fatta di carrubi, olivi e muri a secco. Bella anche la piscina della struttura.
Abbiamo soggiornato per una settimana per vedere la provincia ragusana. E' stata una vacanza molto piacevole, ottima l'ospitalità di Torre Don Virgilio. Rimpiangiamo le prime colazioni di dolci fatti in casa e altre bontà.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

POSTO TRANQUILLO, PERFETTO PER RIPOSARE

Posted Jun 16, 2015
Pros: IL POSTO, LE ISTALLAZIONI ED IL PERSONALE
Cons: METTEREI QUALCHE APPENDI ASCIUGAMANO AL BAGNO E LE RETINE ALLE FINESTRE
Location: LA ZONA DE MODICA E' BELLISSIMA. VALE LA PENA!!!!
SOGGIORNO DI 3 NOTTI PER CONOSCERE LA ZONA DI MODICA!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from reggio calabria

Un viaggio nel cuore del Barocco Siciliano

Posted Jun 4, 2015
Pros: Struttura storica, comfort, colazione, servizi.
Location: L'hotel è situato nelle campagne di Modica (circa 8 chilometri) ma è ben collegato con la cittá, splendido esempio di Barocco Siciliano.
L'impatto che si ha nell'arrivare alla struttura è mozzafiato. Nel cuore degli altopiani Ragusani, contornati da chilometri di muretti a secco realizzati in pietra locale, improvvisamente si erge l'antica masseria che ospita il Torre Don Virgilio. La prima sensazione è quella di trovarsi persi in un racconto di matrice Pirallendiana. La struttura preservata con opere di restauro che ne hanno mantenuto l'antico fascino da subito offre quei comfort che risultano indispensabili per una moderna accoglienza turistica. La piscina, incastrata in un bellissimo prato all'inglese; le camere dotate di climatizzatore, frigobar e televisore, pur rispettando i canoni costruttivi dell'epoca quali soffitti in legno, muri di pietra a vista e pavimento in cotto. I bagni dotati di set ospitalitá ed asciugamani di ogni genere. La colazione é risultata ottima e molto varia, passando dal dolce al salato ed impreziosita da marmellate locali. Ottime le pulizie ed il trattamento ricevuto. Ci ritornerò sicuramente.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hannover

Kleines Landhotel

Posted May 27, 2015
Pros: Die Ruhe und Gelassenheit.
Location: Ausflüge in die Region und in die nächstliegenden Städte, insbesondere Noto, Sirakusa und Modica sowie Scicli.
Das "Torre" liegt abgeschieden ca. 9 km vor Modica. Es ist absolut ruhig dort, gute Luft, in der Umgebung Felder und sehr alte Olivenbäume. Der Komplex besteht aus ebenerdigen Appartements, die gut ausgestattet sind und täglich gereinigt werden. Sehr schöner Innenhof, in dem bei gutem Wetter das Frühstück eingenommen werden kann. Pool tiptop, schöne Rasenflächen mit altem Olivenbaumbestand. Internationales Publikum, alles sehr gesittet und angenehm. Rezeption spricht fließend englisch und ist sehr hilfsbereit. Manche Gäste hatten Schwierigkeiten, das Hotel zu finden, da offenbar nicht alles Navigationsgeräte darauf anspringen. Übrigens: Ein gut gemeinter Tipp: Navi ist zwingend, wenn man ein Auto mieten will.