Ratings based on 655 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chester, UK

Beautiful setting for beach hotel

Posted Sep 1, 2017
The location of the hotel was perfect. We could access all beaches easily. The breakfasts were perfect selection and tea/coffee great. Jacuzzi and outdoor shower were perfect for cooling down and relaxing at the end of the day in our private suite. Staff were very helpful and quickly sorted out our hot water and safe problems. It was a shame about the renovations at the beach front-the work and materials could have been screened better and visible arcing from the welding was dangerous. Hopefully this area of the hotel will become even more welcoming when completed. I also think all boats should only be allowed to enter Railay from east side. This would reduce noise pollution and make west beach an even more beautiful attraction- it has the potential to be a wow place!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NYC

Paradise

Posted Aug 29, 2017
Pros: location is great with beaches on both ends
Cons: the smell from the seweage line appears to come back up. A problem across the country
Location: so much to say lol, you should give ppl perks to intice them to write this stuff
With your own private villa, it is perfect. Loved every aspect of it as you feel as if it is a home away from home.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

Very disapoiting hotel

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Pros: The location.
Cons: Cleaningness, politeness,
Location: Location is great.
The Railay Bay Resort and Spa was a disappointing experience. The Hotel is under refurbishment and this was not mentioned anywhere either on their website nor on the expedia site. You arrive at a makeshift reception where the staff tries to be friendly but in a very artificial way, most of the time not even understanding our questions. We stayed in a Deluxe Room but the only deluxe thing about it was the name. The bathroom was dirty, with fungus on the tiles, the taps covered in limescale and the bath towels not only had stains but also wholes. We always showered in flip-flops as the floor did not look clean and it would always flood. There are two pool areas in the hotel and they are both rather nice if it wasn't for the constant sound of drilling and construction of the new restaurant/reception area. Even if you tried to escape to the beach the construction sound was always present. Very unpleasant indeed. The construction site was in plain sight, they didn't even try to conceal it with some basic panels. It looks and mess. The breakfast was rather average and very often there were dead flies in the sauces. The location of the hotel is great but we were rather disappointing with everything else. It is said to be a 4-star hotel but I'm afraid not for European standards.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Salinas CA

All in the expectations

Posted Aug 7, 2017
We had the deluxe suites and our daughter had the room with the private hot tub, but it really is not a hot tub but a cold tub and not filled. Our room was very nicely decorated and clean. Love the outside showers with the monkies coming by in the afternoons. Literally if you take a shower in the afternoon they will be in the trees outside. Our daughters room could use some remodeling. The pool is right on the beach which is lovely and the second pool is hidden amongst the rooms and is quieter. One draw back is that your room key has to fit in a slot to turn on the electricity, which also means air conditioner. So when you leave the room gets very hot. There is a lot of remodeling going on so be aware of that, which when they are done will make the hotel better. The restaurant has seating Kling the beach which is wonderful, the food is good with plenty of selection. If you want beer or wine or a drink it is separate from the bill of your dinner and you have to pay cash for alcohol. We had breakfast included and it was good with plenty of choices, eggs, cereal, fresh fruit, bread of various sorts, cold cuts, etc. I would say it is more like three star resort not four (if measured by US standards). The true luxury resort is next door, Rayavadee, it is much more expensive but it truly is luxurious. Try to get a room on the west side since the east side is mangroves and not so pretty . This hotel has its charms and not bad for the price
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

Not worth the money

Posted Jul 29, 2017
Refurbishment going on next to the swimming pool and restaurant. Resort dated and although on the beach, not worth the money you pay for
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Malaysia

A good 4 star hotel right next to beach. Good food

Posted Jul 3, 2017
Pros: Laid back and relaxing. very friendly staff. Good food. Nice pool by the beach.
Cons: They should not be doing renovations when hotel is fully occupied - especially next to pool area.
Location: Great locations. Private bay and not easily accessible to outsiders. Beach is for all hotel guest in that bay..so great. Nice small lane for shops.
Very Good all the way from flight to pick up to hotel and stay. Great food, good staff, nice room and good 4 star hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

incredible views

Posted Jun 30, 2017
Pros-Incredible views, friendly staff eager to help, safe environment, easy to get around railay, spacious room, good food, clean! Cons- construction near pool(building a pool bar so we understand this unavoidable and will be nice to have when finished), no coffee shop, would be nice to have complimentary transport and help to get luggage to hotel,laundry service overpriced and bathroom could use some updating. Overall the hotel and stay was wonderful and we were not ready to leave!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 21, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A must stay

Posted Jun 16, 2017
Don't just come to railay beach for the day stay for three our four nights so cool night life is real Thai experience
4 out of 5
by Megan

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 9, 2017 on Hotels