Ratings based on 145 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Hotel room Facilities out of maintenance

Posted Aug 10, 2017
Pros: Friendly Hotel Staff
Shower Head not working well, Sliding door cant lock properly. Poor house Keeping, very sandy floor, bad smell in bath room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, great location

Posted Jun 15, 2017
Pros: The villa was great, and the bathroom was pretty breathtaking, although the shower was outside, so there was the risk of bugs and bites.
Cons: The restaurant wasn't great. The breakfast was ok but when we had dinner in the restaurant it was not great.
Location: Nice restaurants & bars on the front, massage, go to the beaches! Find the night market, bars & restaurants in the jungle!
We recently stayed at Sunrise tropical and it was a lovely hotel, the staff were friendly and helpful, and the villa was really comfortable, and quite romantic. No real beach to speak off in front of the resort, but you're right next to the pier, and some good restaurants and nightlife, really close by. The beaches on the other side of the peninsula are only 5 minutes walk and they're stunning!
5 out of 5
by Maria Natalia

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 18, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from england

Great location

Posted Apr 11, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing all was great.
Location: Close to beach, didn't not see much has was here for wedding.
We stayed here for 2 nights only and had a great time, wished we had booked for longer. Near beach lovely pool would stay here again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 8, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient, Quiet and Clean!

Posted Mar 31, 2017 on Hotels
Pretty hotel with great breakfast! Air Conditioning in rooms was amazing. Wifi was somewhat "spotty" but was available for free. Sunrise is located on Railay East, but we preferred the beach on Railay West (prettier, busier, more people); however, Sunrise was only a 4 minute walk from Railay West which was convenient. Sunrise is also only 5 minute walk from Phranang, which was incredible!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alberta, Canada

Great pool area

Posted Mar 15, 2017
We spent 10 days in one of the bungalows. The room and washroom was spotless, the beds are quite hard but regardless we enjoyed our stay. It's at the far end of East Railay so it was nice and quite and within walking distance to all the beaches in the area. There's no beach for swimming on this side of Railay but the pool area is fabulous at Sunrise. Beer is not on the menu but they do sell it in the restaurant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect Location

Posted Feb 23, 2017
Pros: The room decor, the ambience, the location, the staff, the restaurant food were all great.
Cons: The plumbing could be improved. The water in our shower didn't drain fast enough so you would shower in about 1 inch of water that had accumulated.
Location: Exploring the area by the hotel is great. We found caves and lots of great hiking. The restaurants & activities on the East side were plentiful.
We had a very pleasant experience at this resort. The location is perfect because it's right between both the West and East sides of the beach. You can reach each one easily. The East side is where most of the activity is but you are far enough that you don't get the noise or busyness. You are only a 5 minute walk to Railey Beach West where you have the nicer beach. However, I have to say that we preferred the location of the resort closer to Railey Beach East because there is more to explore. The room is very tastefully decorated and comfortable. The staff is friendly and helpful. We are not drinkers so the fact that no alcohol is sold on the premises was not a problem for us.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Overpriced but does the trick

Posted Feb 14, 2017
This hotel was a little disappointing for what we paid. It was clean. The AC was not working well. More like a fan. The beds were not comfortable at all. Not a great sleep. Didn't use the pool but it looked nice enough. Breakfast was Just ok
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chicago

Decent location, slightly dated grounds

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Pros: Proximity to Pra Nang beach was fantastic!
Cons: Update the missing tiles in the pool, redesign the outdoor bungalow showers so one can stand and not have to sit down while trying to shower!
Location: Pra Nang beach : )
The location on East Railay is nice, and is on the end with less mangroves (ie- less smelly, less bugs). However, the grounds are a bit dated- the pool has tiles missing, for example, and some of the weird ponds they have around the grounds are unfilled (mosquito breeding grounds anyhow- bad idea), and the sidewalks have these weird pieces of wood in them that are rotting, so it you have a rolling suitcase, good luck to you. The proximity of Pra Nang beach made up for this hotel's drawbacks, so I'd stay here again, but would just get a simple basic room, as the chalets were not worth the price. The stand alone bungalows are cute from the outside, but inside it's a hodge podge of crooked tile floors, with this weird outdoor shower that you can only bathe under while sitting on this stone ledge- standing under it is impossible, it is terribly designed. The breakfast was good, the staff is nice. We also got a direct boat and bus ride to the Krabi airport through the hotel (3x the price of the other outside vendors, but private and worth it!).