Ratings based on 9 Verified Reviews

5.0 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
5.0 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Baltimore, MD

Very Vintage & Great breakfast!

Posted Oct 7, 2017
Pros: Loved the clean room & customer service. Never had a B&B place make our beds - this place made out beds while we ate. They freshened our towels.
Cons: Nothing!
Location: Shrewsbury market, Many things to see & do in Lancaster. Amish tours, mini golf, orchards, Outlet stores. Also Hershey has an antique car museum.
My husband & I stayed here for our anniversary weekend. We loved the Greek quiche casserole, sticky buns, & Amish Baked Oatmeal, & fresh fruit in the morning. While we ate breakfast, they made our bed & freshened our towels. Nice railroad trail next to this house. This house is over 180 years old & has a vintage style to it. It has a hot tub in the multi-leveled/courtyard back yard. Nice landscaping. Nice park across the street. Great location to travel to Shrewsbury, Lancaster or Hershey. The owner, is very nice & shows hospitality. The owner wasn't there when we arrived, however she gave us the combination to the front door & the keys to our room were on the kitchen table. So the owner made it convenient. She supplied us with drinks in the fridge & home-made cookies when we arrived. This B&B is busy on the weekends, but not many people there during the week. However, it is a quiet stay, not a noisy commercial hotel. Great for couples & business people.
5 out of 5
by Daniel

Great Service-oriented B&B

Posted Jun 20, 2017 on Hotels
The Inn Keeper was amazing, with her friendliness, compassion, and her culinary breakfast skills. The hot tub is a delight as well as the spacious parlor and front porch. If you plan to visit this region for whatever reason, this is the place to stay.
5 out of 5
by Somayra

Amazing

Posted May 10, 2017 on Hotels
I had accidentally booked this room thinking it was located in Gettysburg, but I'm glad I did it. The room was really cute with its antique theme. We stayed in the Jackson Room. The bed was super comfortable and the room was clean and neat. The innkeeper, Pam, had left brownies on the table for us to have when we got in. She was very nice and attentive when making breakfast. I am a vegetarian and didn't expect much as far as breakfast but Pam definitely takes into consideration that there are vegetarians guests even though she didn't know that about me. She had recommendations and restaurant options on our welcome letter. I will definitely stay here again if I'm going to be in the area, even if I had drive to Gettysburg it was so worth it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maryland

This would be a History buff's dream stay!

Posted Aug 29, 2016 on Orbitz
Pam the Innkeeper made our stay very welcomed, she is a great cook! The breakfast was very filling, almost a brunch. The people in the area are really nice. My husband & I would definately go back again, next time I would get the Thomas room, gorgeous interior, this time we got the only room available.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from NJ

Great alternative to chain hotels

Posted May 30, 2015
We visit B&Bs often, and the Jackson House has just become one of our favorites. The converted 1800s hotel (and yes, apparently, brothel) is right on a bike/walk trail and one of the other couples staying there had biked up from Maryland. Although our room was only feet away from the main drag, it wasn't noisy. The tiered backyard garden is so relaxing. Breakfast was modest but delicious, rooms were cleaned daily, and our hostess Pam was very knowledgeable about the area. We did not have much time for sightseeing since we were in the area for a family event but did enjoy visiting a few local wineries and antique stores in Shrewsbury.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from New Hope, PA

Quaint and relaxing

Posted May 21, 2015
Pros: Inn Keepers and room motif - porch to sit out on and relax - good breakfasts.
Location: Steam into History train ride is only 15 minutes away in New Freedom and Gettysburg is only 45 minutes away. Nice scenic drive.
Slept well, great breakfast, good conversation with Inn Keeper and other guests. Historic hotel. Each room has a theme and appointed nicely.
5 out of 5
by Jayne C from Baltimore

Great location, great hospitality great place!

Posted May 13, 2015 on Hotels
Great place to rest on the NCR trail biking from Baltimore to PA.
5 out of 5
by Susie from AZ

Family Visit

Posted Jun 10, 2014 on Hotels
Very Relaxing!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Karen from PA

We loved the Jackson House Bed and Breakfast!

Posted Jul 7, 2013
Pros: It's charm.
Location: It was farther from Gettysburg than we expected but travel was slow due to dark evening and pouring down rain.
Charming! We arrived at 10:30 at night on a stormy hot evening and the air conditioning was on for us in our room. In the morning we peeked out the bathroom window to look down on beautiful gardens. The owners were very kind and the breakfast was delicious. We had to eat and leave early and wish we would have had more time to explore the rails trail across the street and chat with other guests.