Ratings based on 526 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chapel Hill N.C.

Hotel near UNC

Posted Mar 16, 2017
Hotel condition and room were good. Parking was inconvenient and staff was not friendly and may be considered rude at times due to lack of responsiveness.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from C

Close to UNC Chapel Hill.

Posted Feb 12, 2017
Great experience. The parking attendant was approachable, funny, and personable. The front desk attendant was knowledgeable and precise and clear with instructions.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 12, 2017
Awesome time here. Staff was great. The rooms were decorated nice and the hotel is near many attractions. Definetly staying here again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 12, 2017
The hotel was fine. There were a few things that I found annoying...they were out of laundry bags (the entire hotel was out). Also, I asked for a wake up call at 715, and I got a call at 650.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Matthews, NC

Modern and Friendly

Posted Feb 11, 2017
The staff was very helpful and the breakfast was AMAZING. I have never stayed at an Aloft, but will definitely do so again. The location was 3 minutes from UNC Chapel Hill. Very impressed overall!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Greenville, NC

Great hotel! Close to shops, dining and UNC!

Posted Jan 28, 2017
My husband and I travel to Chapel Hill quite a bit both for work and to visit our son, and this hotel was a great find! The room was very stylish and modern, fantastic bartender and drinks in the hotel bar and the staff was super friendly. We will stay here again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 19, 2017
I can't complain about anything. Friendly staff, great facilities, restful room. I loved the soap and shampoo dispensers in shower.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NJ

visiting family over New Years'

Posted Jan 6, 2017
Pros: The staff were friendly and responsive. They tried to help in anyway they could.
Cons: I don't like the basic design of the hotel. I think it's uncomfortable and overpriced for what they offered. It needs to be refurbished and repainted.
The hotel was conveniently located for us and had a reasonably good reviews. We were very disappointed with the amenities. The ALoft design is young, vibrant and bare bones. If you are staying for several days the lack of closets, dressers, any drawers or cabinetry is problematic. The room was small and the heating and cooling system was not comfortable. The shower leaked all over the floor and we were told to tuck a towel at the base of the shower door.The room was not cleaned properly and it looked dirty. The paint/wallpaper/carpets have a good deal of wear and it looked shabby. The workout equipment was broken. The pool was heated the first day of our stay and then was cold. So overall, it needs a lot of work.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 27, 2016
Pros: Comfortable bed, very clean room, great exercise facility, pool table, great bar.
Cons: Bathroom configuration less clumsy; more light!
Pet friendly which was the most important, but we like the atmosphere. Bed was extremely comfortable and room was spotless. Bathroom configuration is a little clunky and cramped, and some actual closet space would be nice. Also, I understand cutting back on energy costs with the lighting, but could you still brighten it up a little? Still and all, we always love staying here when we are in town.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient and clean, a few minor complaints

Posted Dec 16, 2016 on Hotels
Other guests on the hall were coming and going a good bit between midnight and 1AM -- and it seems to be impossible to close the door without sounding as if you've slammed it. Room is clean and comfortable, but the lighting was a bit dim--studying for final exams!