Ratings based on 79 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
23% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

just a room

Posted Jan 1, 2013
Pros: friendly staff
Cons: lack of heat
Location: no place close to eat
low heat control no micro plate in microwave lack of hot breakfest no guest cups in room low hot water for shower
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Altoona, PA

Wasn't expecting much . . . and got a bit less than that.

Posted Feb 7, 2011
Lots of square footage for the dollar, as they had remodeled to combine two rooms into one suite. On the down side, that remodeling had apparently taken place during the Eisenhower administration, and it was done on the cheap. Although the rooms seem to have been cleaned, there was an overall grimy feel that comes from many years of use without a freshening up. The service was fine. The breakfast fare will tide you over until you get to your car. I found much better lodgings for almost the same price the next night, and I would not recommend this particular Inn to anyone. It was my first stay at an America's Best Value location, and it put me off on that brand's motley collection of hotels. The whole point of a national brand is the assurance it provides travelers of a certain level of quality. Fail.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

inexpensive, no frills, no problems

Posted Jun 8, 2010 on Hotels
I was visiting Durham for my brother's Duke graduation, and frankly there weren't too many hotels still available when I started pricing rooms, so I was worried that I'd wind up with less-than-stellar accommodations. Fortunately, this hotel was fine. It's certainly not the Ritz by any means, but for the price it's more than acceptable, and as someone who's stayed in a lot of budget hotels, I can safely say that I've seen a lot of way, way worse places. Shower worked fine and the quality of service from the staff was great- they were very helpful. I would recommend this place to someone who's looking for an inexpensive place to stay while in Durham.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from virginia beach

the hotel is old AND NEEDS MUCH REFURBISHING.

Posted Oct 6, 2009 on Hotels
I have stayed in this hotel over 28 years and had not visited lately because of the neighborhood and the calibre of occupants. this past week everything else wAS booked due to football games and we decided to give the old place a try. we won't return until the hotel is cleaned up and modernized. the innkeeper was very accomodating to get me a paper however those who wanted cereal had no bowls. thanks for many years of good hotel- it is getting old like i am.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Gastonia

An Unclean Dive

Posted Jun 10, 2009 on Hotels
I would not recommend this hotel to anyone...ever. The room smelled moldy and musty. The room was in much disrepair. I complained to the front desk worker and was offered another room. I turned it down saying "if you couldn't give me a satisfactory room to begin with, how can you give me one now?" I highly do NOT recommend this hotel.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

needs improvement

Posted Apr 8, 2009 on Hotels
the only thing good about this hotel is the location near the medical center
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

reasonable, close to Duke, but NOT IMPRESSED!

Posted Apr 1, 2009
The price was very reasonable, but the room smelt stale and the bathtub was disgusting. It did have amenities such as a microwave and refrigerator, but we didn't need them.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

great room for the money

Posted Dec 21, 2008 on Hotels
location is very convenient for going to Duke clinic. Check in and out is very fast. Breakfast is OK. Have no complain about anything in the room.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Not impressed.

Posted Dec 3, 2008
I requested a non smoking room and the room they gave me smelled like an ash tray. I had to purchase Feebreeze and spray room. When I got home, my entire clothes and suitcase smelled like cigarettes. No hand towels and only 2 bath towels were present in room. Had to go to front desk to get more. Shampoo bottle had been previously used and hair dryer was broken. Sheets, towels and blankets were threadbare and lamp shade was so encrusted with dust that if touched it would cause a cloud of dust. Shower nozzle would only let less than half of water to flow from it, causing the bathtub to fill up past my ankles. Next morning, heard complaints from other guests, one lady stayed up all night because after going to bed someone opened her door with a key card and came into room. She said that she was scared to death. There was lots of activity and noise during the night which made it very hard to sleep.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Charlotte

No frills but clean and convenient to Interstate 85

Posted Nov 12, 2008 on Hotels
This hotel is showing normal wear, and in some places is a bit shabby, but for the money, it is a good value. Front desk and maintenance personnel were attentive. The grounds and parking lot were clean and had picnic tables and a small pool. I would stay overnight here again because of its proximity to the interstate highway and the price.